We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Room but Wifi NOT free” 4 of 5 stars
Review of M Hotel Singapore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added M Hotel Singapore to your Saves list
M Hotel Singapore
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   81 Anson Road, Singapore 079908, Singapore   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save 20%
Ranked #112 of 293 Hotels in Singapore
Cork, Ireland
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Lovely Room but Wifi NOT free”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Free wifi does not mean free in the M Hotel Singapore....Check what rates you have and all the small print*!

On the positive - The room is very nice, the location was great for my stay/work. Lots of great eateries around and also Chinatown in walking distance. Room has great amenities and is clean.

(*I didn't realize when I booked online that the information that came up about the hotel i.e. the write up, said that Wifi was free. That's one of the main reasons I booked the hotel (location was the other).
However when I checked in I was told by reception that my room rate was 'room only' and this did not include wifi. Didn't read that anywhere. All the other hotels I have stayed in with room only (many around the around the world) wifi was always included.Sure they offered me a discount if you buy for a week or so, but that was not the point. Don't advertise if you are not going to offer it. Was disappointed by this experience).

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room - there is a banquet hall and disco in the hotel so you might be the unfortunat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHotelSing, Hotel Management at M Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear zumayla,

Thank you for your review. We are heartened that you consider our well-furnished room, amenities and centralized location to be highly satisfactory.

However, we are concerned with your disappointment with the wifi arrangement; we regret to have caused confusion in any way. Allow us to clarify that our wifi comes with a charge - this is indicated on the booking page of our website, under room details.

We do however like to share that complimentary wifi is inclusive in our Club and Suite rooms, amongst other exclusive benefits. Hence, we love to welcome you back and perhaps stay in one of our cozy Club rooms to experience the well-appointed Club benefits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    327
    171
    45
    23
See reviews for
61
96
82
372
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

M Hotel is an ok business hotel and reasonably convenient to the Robinson Road / One Raffles Quay / Raffles Place business districts (short taxi or 10min walk). The area is very quiet on week ends.

The ordinary rooms are small and not great value.

I would recommend asking for an upgrade to the Club Level - where the rooms are more what you would expect for the price. As mentioned in other reviews there are some nice ocean views from one side of the hotel!

Breakfast is ok - with large choice.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHotelSing, Hotel Management at M Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear CF8,

Thank you for your good review. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed our well-appointed Club room and its complementary Club benefits. Indeed, the harbour view from our rooms is highly coveted and is beautifully juxtaposed to the neighbouring skyscrapers. With that, we look forward to welcoming you back again for another wondrous stay at the M Hotel Singapore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Our member of family mistakenly booked the hotel some days earlier than we planned to. We called M Hotel to rebook it to the day that we intend and since they do not have availability we changed it to the month after and they helped us to rebook it.

Check-in was quite slow and we were initially given rooms at three different levels, however they managed to find us 2 rooms on the same level and another one at a higher level. They also upgraded one of the rooms in the same level so it was very nice of them.

The first room (my room) was not the most spacious but OK. The decor was quite outdated and can benefit a lot from refurnishing. The upgraded room was spacious. Sadly the third room on the higher floor was quite small and even smaller than the room that I stayed in. The breakfast was provided (must be included in our rooms) and was nice and had quite a lot of varieties.

We stayed with our grandmother who was in a wheelchair. Upon arrival at the back of the lobby (very unsure which one was the main entrance, the one on the small lane or the big road?) and it was very wheelchair accessible from that side. However the taxi stand was actually on the other side of the lobby (big road entrance) and it was not wheelchair accessible at all (there was a small step from the lobby then a 4-5 stairs down to the pedestrian). That would mean that we had to push the wheelchair from the back entrance to the big road entrance (and it was not pedestrian friendly either, there was a big carpark and trucks would stop by on the road).

Concierge was helpful in booking us a table at Jumbo Seafood Restaurant.

So overall, it was just an OK hotel, I'd give it a 4 star because they upgraded my room, breakfast was nice and location was close to the Tanjong Pagar MRT station (5 minutes walk).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHotelSing, Hotel Management at M Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Michelle A,

Thank you for your great review. We are pleased that you found the M Hotel hospitality to be highly satisfactory and enjoyed the hearty breakfast and well-appointed room. Without a doubt, the ideal location and close proximity to the Tanjong Pagar MRT station and a bus stop just across our hotel put us in good stead with ease of accessibility to major touristy attractions via public transport.

Please do not hesitate to request for assistance from our Concierge should you need help with getting your grandmother a taxi. Our friendly Concierge desk would gladly assist in any way they can. Thereby, we hope to be your choice hotel for future visits and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I have stayed here earlier and the rooms are nothing to write home about. But it is very close to my office, hence the location suits me.

I reached just after noon but had to wait as they said my room was not ready. My travel agent had informed I would reach only about 3.

So I went for lunch and came back after 45 mins and the room was still not ready. I got “upgraded” in a superior deluxe room with no benefits. Room was average size and no great view. So, didn’t feel upgraded at all. Rooms look old and reek of fatigue - in dire need of a re-do.

Breakfast is regular fare and nothing great. But enjoyed lunch at the Japanese restaurant. Recommend that for a quick lunch.

Staff was efficient but I have seen friendly and efficient staff in other places. Here they seemed to be just doing their job – not expected this in the hospitality industry.
For the price they charge, I would definitely expect a better deal.

The only thing going for them is the location. I would look for other options in the area the next time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHotelSing, Hotel Management at M Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear lone-dreamr,

Thank you for making us your choice hotel, we hope your stay had been fruitful. We have taken note of your areas of concern and we will review and seek improvements accordingly. We appreciate your feedback which allows us to continually better ourselves in striving towards excellence. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I flew into Singapore for an interview and would be there for about 38 hours. I emailed them and said pls could I check in early and be able to re-iron my shirt.

Wasn't able to when I got there, and they emailed me to say it was unlikely. However remarkably when I paid to upgrade my room there was availability... strange that ;-)

I asked the concierge for some local (nearby) restaurants. He suggested McDonalds.... not impressed.

The room was spacious, the bed comfy and pillows great. All important things for a room.

However the Evian bottles of water that looked complimentary were not.

They were also £8.50 for 1 bottle!!! DISGUSTING. Should have been free given the cost of the room.

There are 2 bottles of water that are complimentary and they are tucked away...

It is about a 5/10 minute stroll from the MRT.

Room service menu is a bit weak also.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHotelSing, Hotel Management at M Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear bigpoppapump82,

We are glad you liked our spacious room, comfortable bedding and the ease of convenience of the M Hotel Singapore. As much as we would love to fulfill every room request, we regret that your request of early check-in could not be realized due to high occupancy rate and unavailability of the particular room type you booked for, at that point of time. Nonetheless, we trust your stay had been a fruitful one and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klang, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Reading the hotel's website can be a bit misleading. It isn't a luxurious hotel nor it is more convenientlly located as compared to other hotels. For a business traveller with office / customers / suppliers in the Tanjung Pagar Financial District, this is a convenient location but for a tourist this might not make sense. There are many other hotels in more convenient locations.

However having said that,good tourist/business hotels (3 or 4 star) in Singapore tend to be very pricey and below expectations especially when compared to its other South East Asian neighbours.

The good thing about this hotel is that when compared to similarly-priced hotels in more commercially and touristically convenient locations, M Hotel fares well. While it loses out on location and convenience, M Hotel stands out in terms of facilities, modern decor and newer fittings. The rooms are spacious by Singaporean standards. I was pleasantly surpised by its 24 hours gym. The gym is small but of acceptable quality.

The check-in service was quick and effcient though I would use the word "friendly" to describe my experience. It was professional and efficient.

For me the worst aspect of the hotel was its restaurant. Due to time factor, a colleague and I had to take our lunch at the hotel's cafe. Both of us had stomach discomfort after that even though we had different food. This points problem in food handling.

In the morning, after 7am,often one needs to line up to take the buffer breakfast as it can get quite crowded during working days.

My suggestion to hotel guests is to avoid eating in the hotel, not just for the quality issue but the price is steep too. In fact this area has tons of good and cheap eatery within walking distance. For Western visitors who prefer western food, there is a McD right next to the hotel.

In summary, if you have a budget of SGD 200 to 300 /night, then do consider this hotel even though the location is not ideal. It has spacious rooms, modern decor and new fitttings. However skip the restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHotelSing, Hotel Management at M Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear R_Sudhagar,

Thank you for your review and recommendation. We are glad you liked our spacious room, amenities and well-equipped gym. It is heartening to know that you fared us well in terms of value.

It is unfortunate that you experienced a stomach discomfort after dining at our café. Please rest assure that our food quality and handling procedures is never compromised as we follow stringent food hygiene practices in accordance with the Health Sciences Authority guideline.

We trust your stay had been eventful nonetheless and we look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights only in late September. We booked this on a friend's recommendation despite the fact that we were able to get cheaper deals at alternative places.

The hotel is about 300m away from the station, and is generally quite conveniently located, however there is not much else around as it is a business district and so on sunday everything seemed closed and deserted.

The hotel is a business hotel, and not much more.

The postives were that there was complimentary water, the room was clean and the hotel was close to where we needed to be ( for a wedding shuttle pick up), however....

On check-in, "Andy" the staff member who checked us in was brisk and unfriendly. We had booked the "Sentosa getaway" package which included breakfast and he tried to tell us otherwise.. it would be good if the staff were aware of what their own packages included... Internet access is also not free, which I can accept in your own room maybe not ( although at the price we paid compared... it seemed ridiculous as most other hotels would include this), there was not even access in the lobby...

The room itself though was large, was very basic and nothing reflecting the price which we paid.
The bed did not even have a headboard, and only two pillows ( though I can forgive the lack of cushions and trimmings on the bed).

The bathroom was okay, however the bath itself was quite small and would be a tight squeeze for any larger than petite. The shower was designed poorly as there was a gap between the flooring and the shower door it meant that water constantly flooded the bathroom floor.

At breakfast, the food range is quite basic and one day they served onion rings and chicken nuggets...! This appears to be left overs from last nights dinner or something!
One day we arrived for breakfast at 10am, breakfast is noted until 10.30am.. however the whole time we were there it felt like we were being rushed off our feet. I thought breakfast until 10.30am meant that you are able to arrive for breakfast at 10.30am latest...as this is the case with anywhere else I have stayed I have never felt like I am being rushed to woof down my food!

The staff began to tidy away things and reset tables whilst there were still guests eating breakfast.. it all seemed a little out of order, and made me feel quite uncomfortable.

Overall I would not recommend this hotel, you will get far more service and quality for your money elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHotelSing, Hotel Management at M Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Vickaly,

We regret that some of your experiences during your recent stay were less than ideal. In our commitment to ensure a consistently high standard of hospitality, we have taken note of your concerns and endeavour to make necessary improvements where appropriate.

In particular we would like to address your concern with the choice of onion rings and chicken nuggets being served during breakfast. Please rest assure that we will not serve any leftover food as we strictly adhere to rigorous food hygiene regulations, conforming to the Health Sciences Authority guidelines. We regret that the choices of food items led to such conclusion and we will review our breakfast menu in accordance.

In addition, we would like to add that the buffet breakfast timing from 6.30am to 10.30am refers to the start and end time of the buffet. Our efficient staff will endeavour to clear tables as soon as diners start to leave so as to maintain the overall hygiene level and aesthetics sense of the Café. We regret that this caused you some frustration into thinking that you were being rushed into finishing your food.

We hope your stay had been fruitful nonetheless and we wish for every opportunity to restore your faith in us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to M Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about M Hotel Singapore

Address: 81 Anson Road, Singapore 079908, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#78 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#79 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — M Hotel Singapore 4*
Number of rooms: 412
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your M Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singapore m Hotel
M Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage M Hotel Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.