We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel

Save Saved
You added Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   392 Havelock Road, Singapore 169663, Singapore   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 290 hotels in Singapore
Orange County, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Amazing Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

A friend and I stayed at the Grand Copthorne in October. We were visiting an uncle, who was staying at the hotel for an extended business trip. He was staying in the Executive Residence suites within the hotel.

The hotel itself is gorgeous! Located, steps from the Singapore river, with walkways up and down the waterfront. There are tons of restaurants within a 5-10 min walk all along the river. There is also a river taxi stop less than 5 min away. We used this several times to get downtown!

The staff at this hotel are amazing! Coming and going from the hotel, we were always greeted and anything we needed was seen to right away.

One bonus we got for staying in the executive residences was access to the executive lounge on the 29th floor. This lounge provided light breakfast options every morning (and any egg dish you may want, upon request), a coffee bar at any time during the day, and happy hour each evening. The staff up there were super attentive and accommodating!

Overall, the stay here was excellent! If I ever find myself in Singapore again, Grand Copthorne Waterfront would be my only choice!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcom_Manager_GCW, Manager at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear allierskine

Thank you for the marvellous feedback on our hotel.

We are delighted by the fantastic review of our location, Executive Club Lounge and service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

981 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    251
    430
    190
    74
    36
See reviews for
151
268
79
293
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We have stayed in the Grand Copthorne twice in the last 2 weeks,during a holiday in the Far East. On both occasions we were overwhelmed by the attentiveness and friendliness off the staff, nothing was too much trouble. Our rooms were of the highest quality, clean, well appointed and of a good size. The location of the property is perfect, within walking distance of the three main centres of nightlife. The water taxi that goes from the quay outside is a fantastic way to see the city, but also a much more relaxed method of travel than the normal taxi. There is also a great waterfront bar on the quayside with live music and drinks prices significantly below hotel prices.
Two tips, book directly on the MC web site, best price and deals . If you can book a club room, great value.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcom_Manager_GCW, Manager at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear JillHo

Thank you for your fantastic feedback on our hotel.

We are delighted that you found our staff attentive and friendly and the rooms clean and well appointed.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Nice location, noise free, free hourly shuttle service to Orchard Road. Great to walk along the riverside full of restaurants till Clark's Quay. Rooms are small with little space to walk around. Bath rooms need makeover. Wi-Fi is chargeable. Tariff at the restaurants is on the higher side. Staff are cooperative and hospitable. Did not have chance to review the amenities. On the whole I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcom_Manager_GCW, Manager at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Chnsug

Thank you for your good review of our hotel.

We are happy that you liked the location and found our staff cooperative and hospitable.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights and I have to say this is a pretty good accomodation.
Located near the Singapore river, the place is relatively quieter compared to the shopping belt but with more venues to hang out at night (e.g. pubs). Although not situated within the shopping belt zone, you can always take the free shuttle bus to Ochard road.

The room is clean and the bed is comfortable. Hotel staff are really polite too.

The hotel has a decent gym and tennis court.

Room Tip: choose one facing the SIngapore river
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcom_Manager_GCW, Manager at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear N1t3

Thank you for your positive feedback on our hotel.

We are happy that you found the room clean and comfortable and our staff polite.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

If some was has got bored staying in hotels on regular visit to Singapore , one May try this hotel in River area. The rear door opens to the river front which. One can follow and reach Robertson quay and Clarke Quay ( though this one may be 3-4 km) walking. It's full of restaurants. One has to really gamble to choose which restaurant to try in the vicinity. We were there on Halloween Night and night was lively even around 2 am midnight. Hotel is well located. We had complimentary breakfast and we're not disappointed as the spread was excellent. We took upgraded room which was bigger though we paid about 100Sgd extra but bathroom thought clean and we'll maintained has an engineering/ plumbing flaw which strangely none have noticed till date and when informed to front office they were surprised. The room we stayed on 7 th floor water would flow out of shower area no matter what common sense you use. But that apart the hospitality was excellent check in and check out was smooth and staff ever helpful. The hotel has courteous staff and this was my first stay here and it matched all expectation. Value for money.

Room Tip: Choose top level and upgraded rooms as normal rooms should be small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcom_Manager_GCW, Manager at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear abhijitsengupta

Dear abhijitsengupta

Thank you for your positive review on our hotel.

We are glad that you liked the location and the buffet breakfast. We are also happy that you found our staff hospitable and courteous.

As for the bathroom, we are working on improving it.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Let's start with location, people stay its a bit far out, I think many of the places r walkable 30 minutes to china town, 30 mins to orchard road, 30 mins to museums taxi to little India, walk down the quay at night to lots of restaurants
Now the room ,very good , ask for the city side , great views, nice pool only me using it ! Gym etc all there . Room service was a bit slow .. But the rooms r clean and - Ali the concierge was very helpful and gave us discount tickets for various things
Breakfast us worth the $ and sets u up for the day all in all I would stay there again

Room Tip: Ask fir the city side
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcom_Manager_GCW, Manager at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Nicky H

Thank you for your positive feedback on our hotel. We are happy that you liked the location, gym and pool and enjoyed the picturesque views from your room. We have conveyed your favourable comments on our Concierge to our Front Office team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Hotel was nice but you weren't within walking distance of much. Views of the major demolition across the road. The room was small as was the bathroom. Kind sized bed wide but not long. Pool was a nice temperature and pleasant area.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the back (riverfront). It's much nicer than the demolition site althoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcom_Manager_GCW, Manager at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear kscott4

Thank you for your feedback on our hotel. We are glad that you liked our pool. Our hotel is within walking distance to Boat Quay, Clarke Quay and Robertson Quay and you can enjoy a scenic, leisurely walk by the river. We are also about ten minutes walk to Great World City Shopping Mall.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel

Also Known As:
Hotel Grand Copthorne Waterfront
Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel Singapore
Grand Copthorne Waterfront
Address: 392 Havelock Road, Singapore 169663, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#66 Business Hotel in Singapore
#80 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#80 Top resorts Hotel in Singapore
#85 Family Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.