We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel

Save Saved
You added Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   392 Havelock Road, Singapore 169663, Singapore   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 290 hotels in Singapore
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Pleasantly Surprised!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We chose to stay at the Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel due to an awesome hotel rate and the guarantee that we would be able to receive 5 star services. Our check-in was great, the receptionist was really friendly and efficient with getting us quickly settled in. They really try to accommodate all your requests, which was pleasantly surprising. Our room was very clean and the beds were very comfortable. The gym also had nice equipment, without it being overcrowded. We had breakfast at the hotel every morning, and the food was superb! We would definitely come back and stay here again.

Room Tip: Make sure to stay in the rooms with the waterfront views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millennium C, Manager at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Richard K,

Thank you for the wonderful review and the 5-star service rating of our hotel. Our staff will be delighted to hear of your kind compliments on our room, food and service quality. We appreciate that you took time off to share your thoughts with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

980 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    251
    430
    190
    74
    35
See reviews for
151
267
79
293
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed at the Grand Copthorne Waterfront for 5 nights with my wife and nine year old son.
The check in staff seems crisp but have a very non nonchalant , clinical attitude and lack any sort of warmth or friendliness. They should learn from any Indian / Thai 5 star hotels to understand a thing or two about warmth & hospitality.


Ok the pros are :-

1. Rooms have an excellent view of the river and some of the iconic buildings along the Marina bay area.
2. Really good air- conditioning.
3. Location and proximity to the clarke quay and other cafes.
4. Concierge are friendly and help in getting taxis.
5. Room service food was actually quite tasty.

Negative:

1. Extremely poor house keeping. We actually found an old shirt still in the cupboard. Lot of dust in hard to reach areas in the bar cabinets and shelves.

2. Bathroom actually has mildew and looks dated. I have never seen a smaller hotel room toilet in my life but then this is to be expected in Singapore city hotels.

3. The soap bar is not replenished, the empty plastic bottles are still not cleared at the end of the day.

4. The pillows and sheets have a strange odour to them.

5. TV remote is so bad one has to squeeze the life out of the buttons to get anything working and even after that you are presented with 3-4 channels.

6. Security access card that activates the lift is touch and go and boots you out at 12:00 pm on the day of check out.

7. Check in staff do not tell you about the free shuttle service to Orchard road or china town, You will need to figure that out yourself.

All in all, a bit dissapointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millennium C, Manager at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Onetree_29,

Thank you for taking your time to write this review. We are happy to learn that you like the hotel view, good location, good service of our Concierge and the room service food. We have noted your feedback, and apologise for the lapse in service of our Housekeeping Department., Please be assured that this is not our usual standard. We have already brought your comments to the attention of our Executive Housekeeper and we will do our best to rectify our shortcomings. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is, in a word, average. The staff is helpful, but don't have friendly personality. The room is tidy enough. The bathroom is a bit dingy and the marble decor makes it rather dark. The water pressure is rather weak. The Internet is expensive. The TV channels are limited.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millennium C, Manager at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Dregar,

Thank you for your review. We sincerely apologise for our lapse in service and for the shortcomings of the bathroom. Please be assured that this is not our usual standard.
We have already given your feedback to our Executive Housekeeper who is looking into improving the décor and the water pressure.

As for the Internet, we do offer complimentary Internet access for our guests. Kindly refer to our Official Website (www.grandcopthorne.com.sg) for details.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

No surprises, no horror stories, but no delights either - It's a standard international chain hotel, and you get just what you would expect from that; functional and a generally high standard of overall quality but charmless and soulless. Decent guest amenities (including pool, gym & tennis courts on the 6th floor), a clean & well serviced bedroom, a broad range of uninspiring options at the breakfast buffet, and reasonably well located in an area that's not too busy. Service in the restaurant a bit lacklustre, but elsewhere the staff were friendly and efficient. Nice walk along the Singapore river to a range of bars and restaurants, and within striking distance of Clark Quay and Chinatown. It's what lies outside the hotel that makes the stay in Singapore, not the hotel itself.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millennium C, Manager at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear AlanDDuncan,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We have noted your comments and please be assured that we will do our utmost to improve the service of our F&B team and the spread at the buffet.

Our hotel also provides complimentary rental of bicycles for our in-house guests. You may also get a copy of the location map (which indicates the cycling route) from the Concierge.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Nice view from the Hotel, it's a value for money hotel if room chosen properly. Approach is a bit of an issue since it's kind of corner and one needs to go round a bit, also better if once does not have to wait for cabbie for too long. Service is reasonable, all in all if on a family trip and getting a good discount then this one should not be missed.

Room Tip: higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millennium C, Manager at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear SaintDelhi,

Thank you for your kind review.

We are glad that you had a reasonably good experience at our hotel.
You will be pleased to know that we offer complimentary shuttle service to various locations for our guests’ convenience.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Excellent hotel on the Singapore River. Close to everything, though just outside the city center. Easy 10 min walk to Chinatown. Many nice restaurants and bars on walking distance alongside the Singapore River. I would recommend to pay the little extra for an Executive Club Room - great value!. This gives you:
- unlimited access to the Executive Club at the 29th (also convenient to meet with a business partner). Coffee, tea and soft drinks available all day without extra charge. And the view from this lounge is unforgettable!
- breakfast at the club - small but varied buffet - eggs to order - good coffee. Or decide to have breakfast at Brio Restaurant (1st floor) - very large buffet. Both without extra charge.
- complimentary high tea
- complimentary afternoon drinks (also alcoholic) from 6-8 PM with delicious hors d'oeuvres! And the General Manager comes to your table every evening for a quick chat and to inquire if you need anything else. Such great and attentive service!
- 2 complimentary pieces of laundry
- complimentary soft drinks and water from your in-room mini bar
The staff are really friendly and genuinely interested. They go out of their way to make your stay very comfortable. I really enjoyed my stay here! Thanks to Crystal, Regina, Kumar and all the other staff!

Room Tip: Do not doubt: take an Executive Club Room. It is definitely worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millennium C, Manager at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear semager,

Thank you for the wonderful feedback.

We are delighted to know that you had a memorable stay at the Executive Club room and were pleased with the service of our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We were group of six people and had choosen grand copthron but our experience was mixed. Overall hotel is good but service is quiet pathetic specially at breakfast Buffett I would go to the extent of saying its rude.
Would not return to this hotel on my next visit to Singapore.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millennium C, Manager at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Vikas78,

We have taken note of your feedback and we sincerely apologise for the lapses in the service delivery. Please be assured that this is not our usual service standard. Please write in to us so we can look into the matter and address your concerns accordingly. We hope to restore your faith in us and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel

Also Known As:
Hotel Grand Copthorne Waterfront
Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel Singapore
Grand Copthorne Waterfront
Address: 392 Havelock Road, Singapore 169663, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#66 Business Hotel in Singapore
#80 Top resorts Hotel in Singapore
#80 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#85 Family Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.