We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You know what you're going to get... blandness.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel

Save Saved
You added Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   392 Havelock Road, Singapore 169663, Singapore   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 20% + Free Breakfast
Ranked #91 of 292 hotels in Singapore
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“You know what you're going to get... blandness.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

No surprises, no horror stories, but no delights either - It's a standard international chain hotel, and you get just what you would expect from that; functional and a generally high standard of overall quality but charmless and soulless. Decent guest amenities (including pool, gym & tennis courts on the 6th floor), a clean & well serviced bedroom, a broad range of uninspiring options at the breakfast buffet, and reasonably well located in an area that's not too busy. Service in the restaurant a bit lacklustre, but elsewhere the staff were friendly and efficient. Nice walk along the Singapore river to a range of bars and restaurants, and within striking distance of Clark Quay and Chinatown. It's what lies outside the hotel that makes the stay in Singapore, not the hotel itself.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millennium C, Manager at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear AlanDDuncan,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We have noted your comments and please be assured that we will do our utmost to improve the service of our F&B team and the spread at the buffet.

Our hotel also provides complimentary rental of bicycles for our in-house guests. You may also get a copy of the location map (which indicates the cycling route) from the Concierge.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,065 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    276
    464
    205
    79
    41
See reviews for
165
298
82
322
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Delhi
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Nice view from the Hotel, it's a value for money hotel if room chosen properly. Approach is a bit of an issue since it's kind of corner and one needs to go round a bit, also better if once does not have to wait for cabbie for too long. Service is reasonable, all in all if on a family trip and getting a good discount then this one should not be missed.

Room Tip: higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millennium C, Manager at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear SaintDelhi,

Thank you for your kind review.

We are glad that you had a reasonably good experience at our hotel.
You will be pleased to know that we offer complimentary shuttle service to various locations for our guests’ convenience.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Excellent hotel on the Singapore River. Close to everything, though just outside the city center. Easy 10 min walk to Chinatown. Many nice restaurants and bars on walking distance alongside the Singapore River. I would recommend to pay the little extra for an Executive Club Room - great value!. This gives you:
- unlimited access to the Executive Club at the 29th (also convenient to meet with a business partner). Coffee, tea and soft drinks available all day without extra charge. And the view from this lounge is unforgettable!
- breakfast at the club - small but varied buffet - eggs to order - good coffee. Or decide to have breakfast at Brio Restaurant (1st floor) - very large buffet. Both without extra charge.
- complimentary high tea
- complimentary afternoon drinks (also alcoholic) from 6-8 PM with delicious hors d'oeuvres! And the General Manager comes to your table every evening for a quick chat and to inquire if you need anything else. Such great and attentive service!
- 2 complimentary pieces of laundry
- complimentary soft drinks and water from your in-room mini bar
The staff are really friendly and genuinely interested. They go out of their way to make your stay very comfortable. I really enjoyed my stay here! Thanks to Crystal, Regina, Kumar and all the other staff!

Room Tip: Do not doubt: take an Executive Club Room. It is definitely worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millennium C, Manager at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear semager,

Thank you for the wonderful feedback.

We are delighted to know that you had a memorable stay at the Executive Club room and were pleased with the service of our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We were group of six people and had choosen grand copthron but our experience was mixed. Overall hotel is good but service is quiet pathetic specially at breakfast Buffett I would go to the extent of saying its rude.
Would not return to this hotel on my next visit to Singapore.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millennium C, Manager at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Vikas78,

We have taken note of your feedback and we sincerely apologise for the lapses in the service delivery. Please be assured that this is not our usual service standard. Please write in to us so we can look into the matter and address your concerns accordingly. We hope to restore your faith in us and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I stayed at Grand Copthorne during a stopover to Bali during my honeymoon. A nice hotel with an amazing view of the Singapore river.. Although i stayed here during a personal visit, i really feel the place would be a great stay option for business travellers as well..

My Stay was close to Christmas so the hotel was all decked up and they had carol singing session in lobby in the evening which was pretty nice..

Although the rooms are a tad small but they are tidy and clean and nicely laid out so not much complains. The elevators operate with your room key and hence gives you the feeling of safety..

The staff is very helpfull.. My wife fell a little ill on the very first day of our stay and the hotel staff really helped us with some medical supplies and were extra attentive about her food for the duration of our stay

The food is also great with a HUGE breakfast spread..

A great place.. Thumbs up..

Room Tip: Try and get a room in the rear facing the river.. better views..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millennium C, Manager at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear thelostsoul,

Thank you for your wonderful review of your stay with us. We are most delighted to render our services to you and your wife. We hope she has recovered fully. We are also happy to know you liked the view from your room facing Singapore River.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel and creating many more beautiful memories for you and your wife.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We spent four nights in the hotel as part of our Singapore trip itenary. The rooms are small and the carpeting is shabby. We were shocked to see naked wires from electric socket hanging freely which had to be called n fixed. Housekeeping is a pain...there is no sense of guest urgency for the staff. They work at their own pace. Food is the saddest part our story..we ended up spending $150 for very sad option of dinner in the So Called award winning restaurant..we hated it..and hence after the first night never repeated our mistake of in house dining..Except for location there is nothing that can be recommended about this hotel

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandCopthorneSing, Hotel Management at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Sweety_Rath_CTLI,

We regret that your stay with us was not satisfactory and apologise for areas where we have fallen short. Rest assured steps will be implemented for improvements to enhance the overall guest experience. Please write in to us so we may address your concerns on a personal level as we wish to restore your confidence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Went here for 2 weeks business trip.

Pros: service was great with quick delivery of food, laundry, 24 hours internet. Local food buffet was great. Close proximity to city center by taxi, only took 10 mins to go to Marina bay.
Cons: not a very nice view, had problems with TV but they fixed it right away. Quite far from any MRT stations, so you need to get a taxi to go anywhere.

Room Tip: Choose a riverside view, you ll get the Marina bay sands view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandCopthorneSing, Hotel Management at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear djoex,

Thank you for your review effort, we are glad you found the Grand Copthorne experience to be a fruitful one.

Regarding your concern of the hotel’s accessibility, you would be pleased to know that Tiong Bahru and Outram Park MRT stations are a short bus ride away from the hotel bus stop.

Alternatively, we offer a complimentary shuttle bus service to Orchard Road & Chinatown for our in-house guests. Moreover there is an affordable river taxi service available for a scenic cruise down the Clarke Quay, Boat Quay and Marina Bay area.

We hope to be you preferred hotel and look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel

Address: 392 Havelock Road, Singapore 169663, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#67 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#68 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#76 Business Hotel in Singapore
#91 On the Beach Hotel in Singapore
#91 Top resorts Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Otel and Venere so you can book your Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand Copthorne Waterfront
Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.