We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent! Clubroom = great value!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel

Save Saved
You added Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   392 Havelock Road, Singapore 169663, Singapore   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Millennium Saver 25
Ranked #88 of 292 hotels in Singapore
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent! Clubroom = great value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Excellent hotel on the Singapore River. Close to everything, though just outside the city center. Easy 10 min walk to Chinatown. Many nice restaurants and bars on walking distance alongside the Singapore River. I would recommend to pay the little extra for an Executive Club Room - great value!. This gives you:
- unlimited access to the Executive Club at the 29th (also convenient to meet with a business partner). Coffee, tea and soft drinks available all day without extra charge. And the view from this lounge is unforgettable!
- breakfast at the club - small but varied buffet - eggs to order - good coffee. Or decide to have breakfast at Brio Restaurant (1st floor) - very large buffet. Both without extra charge.
- complimentary high tea
- complimentary afternoon drinks (also alcoholic) from 6-8 PM with delicious hors d'oeuvres! And the General Manager comes to your table every evening for a quick chat and to inquire if you need anything else. Such great and attentive service!
- 2 complimentary pieces of laundry
- complimentary soft drinks and water from your in-room mini bar
The staff are really friendly and genuinely interested. They go out of their way to make your stay very comfortable. I really enjoyed my stay here! Thanks to Crystal, Regina, Kumar and all the other staff!

Room Tip: Do not doubt: take an Executive Club Room. It is definitely worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millennium C, Manager at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear semager,

Thank you for the wonderful feedback.

We are delighted to know that you had a memorable stay at the Executive Club room and were pleased with the service of our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,054 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    274
    457
    202
    80
    41
See reviews for
159
294
82
317
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We were group of six people and had choosen grand copthron but our experience was mixed. Overall hotel is good but service is quiet pathetic specially at breakfast Buffett I would go to the extent of saying its rude.
Would not return to this hotel on my next visit to Singapore.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millennium C, Manager at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Vikas78,

We have taken note of your feedback and we sincerely apologise for the lapses in the service delivery. Please be assured that this is not our usual service standard. Please write in to us so we can look into the matter and address your concerns accordingly. We hope to restore your faith in us and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I stayed at Grand Copthorne during a stopover to Bali during my honeymoon. A nice hotel with an amazing view of the Singapore river.. Although i stayed here during a personal visit, i really feel the place would be a great stay option for business travellers as well..

My Stay was close to Christmas so the hotel was all decked up and they had carol singing session in lobby in the evening which was pretty nice..

Although the rooms are a tad small but they are tidy and clean and nicely laid out so not much complains. The elevators operate with your room key and hence gives you the feeling of safety..

The staff is very helpfull.. My wife fell a little ill on the very first day of our stay and the hotel staff really helped us with some medical supplies and were extra attentive about her food for the duration of our stay

The food is also great with a HUGE breakfast spread..

A great place.. Thumbs up..

Room Tip: Try and get a room in the rear facing the river.. better views..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millennium C, Manager at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear thelostsoul,

Thank you for your wonderful review of your stay with us. We are most delighted to render our services to you and your wife. We hope she has recovered fully. We are also happy to know you liked the view from your room facing Singapore River.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel and creating many more beautiful memories for you and your wife.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We spent four nights in the hotel as part of our Singapore trip itenary. The rooms are small and the carpeting is shabby. We were shocked to see naked wires from electric socket hanging freely which had to be called n fixed. Housekeeping is a pain...there is no sense of guest urgency for the staff. They work at their own pace. Food is the saddest part our story..we ended up spending $150 for very sad option of dinner in the So Called award winning restaurant..we hated it..and hence after the first night never repeated our mistake of in house dining..Except for location there is nothing that can be recommended about this hotel

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandCopthorneSing, Hotel Management at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Sweety_Rath_CTLI,

We regret that your stay with us was not satisfactory and apologise for areas where we have fallen short. Rest assured steps will be implemented for improvements to enhance the overall guest experience. Please write in to us so we may address your concerns on a personal level as we wish to restore your confidence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Went here for 2 weeks business trip.

Pros: service was great with quick delivery of food, laundry, 24 hours internet. Local food buffet was great. Close proximity to city center by taxi, only took 10 mins to go to Marina bay.
Cons: not a very nice view, had problems with TV but they fixed it right away. Quite far from any MRT stations, so you need to get a taxi to go anywhere.

Room Tip: Choose a riverside view, you ll get the Marina bay sands view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandCopthorneSing, Hotel Management at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear djoex,

Thank you for your review effort, we are glad you found the Grand Copthorne experience to be a fruitful one.

Regarding your concern of the hotel’s accessibility, you would be pleased to know that Tiong Bahru and Outram Park MRT stations are a short bus ride away from the hotel bus stop.

Alternatively, we offer a complimentary shuttle bus service to Orchard Road & Chinatown for our in-house guests. Moreover there is an affordable river taxi service available for a scenic cruise down the Clarke Quay, Boat Quay and Marina Bay area.

We hope to be you preferred hotel and look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Check in was painless and quick. The room was a bit small but the view from the 30th floor more than compensated for the lack of room. Would have liked a bath not just a shower and I m sure if we d asked we would have been moved to a room with one. The room was cleaned well each day. Everything stocked back up in mini bar and bathroom. As we had paid for exec lounge access non alcoholic drinks in mini bar were free. Also the breakfast in the lounge and evening cocktails were complimentary. Given its 16 dollars for a glass of wine in bar on 1 st floor it's quite a good deal. Down side to the place is the pool. It's a bit dull and the jacuzzi was same temperature as pool so too cold and not very bubbly. The buffet breakfast is quite expensive but does have a good range -30 dollars. The hotel is situated on the riverfront and a boat can be caught outside in front of the river view hotel for 3 dollars into marina Bay Area. I noticed other people complained about the position of the hotel and the hotel responded by saying they offer a complimentary bus service to china town and orchard road. If I hadn't read this on trip advisor I would never have known as the hotel don't tell you when you check in. Overall I think it's a good hotel. Staff in exec lounge were lovely. I would try and get a good deal on a web site as prices do vary and can be high if you don't shop around. Someone else mentioned there was some building work going on but it didn't bother us . Occasionally heard a knock. Sleeping at night was bliss no noise at all from other residents or hotel staff so can't complain about that.

Room Tip: 30th floor was wonderful for the views and one could nip to the exec lounge down the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandCopthorneSing, Hotel Management at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Lynne_Ilkley,

Thank you for your good feedback, it is heartening to hear that you received the warm hospitality synonymous with the Grand Copthorne Waterfront and enjoyed the Executive Club experience.

We will convey your compliments to our service and housekeeping staff for a job well done and glad our Tripadvisor responses regarding the complimentary shuttle bus service added value to your stay.

We hope to be your preferred hotel and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Singapore's version of "Fawlty Towers".

We arrived here after a lovely four night stay in KL's Hotel Istana, where the staff were very friendly and accomodating. We stayed for four nights in late July and paid SGD300.00/night for a tiny standard room.

We arrived at 4.30pm to check in (check in time is 2pm) and waited 20 minutes in the reception queue. The rude and unapologetic check-in attendant advised us the room was not ready. With two small, tired children, we were very unhappy with this and asked to speak with the manager. By the time the manager made an appearance, 30 minutes had passed. We were offered three glasses of soft drinks for our party of four, and drank these whilst waiting for the room. When we were finally issued a room (and room number), we ordered a snack costing $14.00.

We went to to the room which was small and pokey, with barely enough room to walk around the bed. We took the toddlers to the pool, which was nice (although I have never seen such threadbare pool towels before). We were finally enjoying ourselves, when we were accosted by one of the waitstaff, who followed us to the pool to advise us that the check-in attendant had neglected to swipe our credit card (despite being given it) at check-in and requesting us to do this now. Evidently the risk of non-payment of $14.00 was worth invading the privacy and enjoyment of our family and could not wait a moment longer. Furthermore, even after we rectified their mistake by presenting our credit card AGAIN, we then had a problem making local phone calls from the room- we were informed by front reception that the reason for this was non-payment of deposit (sigh). Two more phone calls and this was finally resolved.

After such a negative start we found ourselves becoming frustrated with things that we would normally overlook, such as:

The TV remote control didn't work, meaning a call to maintenance to have it replaced. Then toilet the blocked, so another call to maintenance. The bath plug was broken and therefore the bath was unusable- after so many calls to reception/minatenance/housekeeping already, we were loathe to even bother trying to have the problem rectified. The bathroom overall was outdated with a combined bath/shower and mouldy shower curtain. The bath was small, so it was impossible to bathe without having the grotty shower curtain brushing up against you.

Housekeeping was pretty mediocre- chip crumbs on the floor were still there four days later, and toiletries and towels were inconsistently replaced. I made the mistake of looking under the bed, which looks like it hasn't been vacuumed since the hotel's last renovation.

This hotel is NOT equipped for for children, therefore I would not recommend to anyone with children <12 years old. Then again.. I wouldn't stay here again without my children either.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandCopthorneSing, Hotel Management at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear JessSperth,

We value your feedback and we apologise for the untoward experiences during your stay with us. Please rest assured of our efforts in ensuring that our valued guests received the highest hospitality standards with minimal disruptions to their stay. Kindly allow us to investigate and we will revert this with you personally. Please write to us as we wish to restore your confidence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Free Parking, F...
Show More
Copthorne King's Hotel Singapore
Luxury, Quiet...
Show More
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
#39 of 292 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 1,625 reviews
Shuttle Service...
Show More
Holiday Inn Singapore Atrium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Shuttle S...
Show More
Orchard Hotel Singapore
Orchard Hotel Singapore
#62 of 292 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 1,427 reviews
City Center, Fr...
Show More
Oasia Hotel Singapore by Far East Hospitality
Quiet, City Cen...
Show More
Singapore River
Furama RiverFront
Furama RiverFront
#95 of 292 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel

Address: 392 Havelock Road, Singapore 169663, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#64 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#64 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#76 Business Hotel in Singapore
#88 Top resorts Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand Copthorne Waterfront
Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.