We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but the hotel is not a five star accommodation” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel

Save Saved
You added Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   392 Havelock Road, Singapore 169663, Singapore   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 290 hotels in Singapore
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location but the hotel is not a five star accommodation”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We spent four nights in the hotel as part of our Singapore trip itenary. The rooms are small and the carpeting is shabby. We were shocked to see naked wires from electric socket hanging freely which had to be called n fixed. Housekeeping is a pain...there is no sense of guest urgency for the staff. They work at their own pace. Food is the saddest part our story..we ended up spending $150 for very sad option of dinner in the So Called award winning restaurant..we hated it..and hence after the first night never repeated our mistake of in house dining..Except for location there is nothing that can be recommended about this hotel

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandCopthorneSing, Hotel Management at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Sweety_Rath_CTLI,

We regret that your stay with us was not satisfactory and apologise for areas where we have fallen short. Rest assured steps will be implemented for improvements to enhance the overall guest experience. Please write in to us so we may address your concerns on a personal level as we wish to restore your confidence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

980 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    251
    430
    190
    74
    35
See reviews for
151
267
79
293
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Went here for 2 weeks business trip.

Pros: service was great with quick delivery of food, laundry, 24 hours internet. Local food buffet was great. Close proximity to city center by taxi, only took 10 mins to go to Marina bay.
Cons: not a very nice view, had problems with TV but they fixed it right away. Quite far from any MRT stations, so you need to get a taxi to go anywhere.

Room Tip: Choose a riverside view, you ll get the Marina bay sands view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandCopthorneSing, Hotel Management at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear djoex,

Thank you for your review effort, we are glad you found the Grand Copthorne experience to be a fruitful one.

Regarding your concern of the hotel’s accessibility, you would be pleased to know that Tiong Bahru and Outram Park MRT stations are a short bus ride away from the hotel bus stop.

Alternatively, we offer a complimentary shuttle bus service to Orchard Road & Chinatown for our in-house guests. Moreover there is an affordable river taxi service available for a scenic cruise down the Clarke Quay, Boat Quay and Marina Bay area.

We hope to be you preferred hotel and look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Check in was painless and quick. The room was a bit small but the view from the 30th floor more than compensated for the lack of room. Would have liked a bath not just a shower and I m sure if we d asked we would have been moved to a room with one. The room was cleaned well each day. Everything stocked back up in mini bar and bathroom. As we had paid for exec lounge access non alcoholic drinks in mini bar were free. Also the breakfast in the lounge and evening cocktails were complimentary. Given its 16 dollars for a glass of wine in bar on 1 st floor it's quite a good deal. Down side to the place is the pool. It's a bit dull and the jacuzzi was same temperature as pool so too cold and not very bubbly. The buffet breakfast is quite expensive but does have a good range -30 dollars. The hotel is situated on the riverfront and a boat can be caught outside in front of the river view hotel for 3 dollars into marina Bay Area. I noticed other people complained about the position of the hotel and the hotel responded by saying they offer a complimentary bus service to china town and orchard road. If I hadn't read this on trip advisor I would never have known as the hotel don't tell you when you check in. Overall I think it's a good hotel. Staff in exec lounge were lovely. I would try and get a good deal on a web site as prices do vary and can be high if you don't shop around. Someone else mentioned there was some building work going on but it didn't bother us . Occasionally heard a knock. Sleeping at night was bliss no noise at all from other residents or hotel staff so can't complain about that.

Room Tip: 30th floor was wonderful for the views and one could nip to the exec lounge down the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandCopthorneSing, Hotel Management at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Lynne_Ilkley,

Thank you for your good feedback, it is heartening to hear that you received the warm hospitality synonymous with the Grand Copthorne Waterfront and enjoyed the Executive Club experience.

We will convey your compliments to our service and housekeeping staff for a job well done and glad our Tripadvisor responses regarding the complimentary shuttle bus service added value to your stay.

We hope to be your preferred hotel and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Singapore's version of "Fawlty Towers".

We arrived here after a lovely four night stay in KL's Hotel Istana, where the staff were very friendly and accomodating. We stayed for four nights in late July and paid SGD300.00/night for a tiny standard room.

We arrived at 4.30pm to check in (check in time is 2pm) and waited 20 minutes in the reception queue. The rude and unapologetic check-in attendant advised us the room was not ready. With two small, tired children, we were very unhappy with this and asked to speak with the manager. By the time the manager made an appearance, 30 minutes had passed. We were offered three glasses of soft drinks for our party of four, and drank these whilst waiting for the room. When we were finally issued a room (and room number), we ordered a snack costing $14.00.

We went to to the room which was small and pokey, with barely enough room to walk around the bed. We took the toddlers to the pool, which was nice (although I have never seen such threadbare pool towels before). We were finally enjoying ourselves, when we were accosted by one of the waitstaff, who followed us to the pool to advise us that the check-in attendant had neglected to swipe our credit card (despite being given it) at check-in and requesting us to do this now. Evidently the risk of non-payment of $14.00 was worth invading the privacy and enjoyment of our family and could not wait a moment longer. Furthermore, even after we rectified their mistake by presenting our credit card AGAIN, we then had a problem making local phone calls from the room- we were informed by front reception that the reason for this was non-payment of deposit (sigh). Two more phone calls and this was finally resolved.

After such a negative start we found ourselves becoming frustrated with things that we would normally overlook, such as:

The TV remote control didn't work, meaning a call to maintenance to have it replaced. Then toilet the blocked, so another call to maintenance. The bath plug was broken and therefore the bath was unusable- after so many calls to reception/minatenance/housekeeping already, we were loathe to even bother trying to have the problem rectified. The bathroom overall was outdated with a combined bath/shower and mouldy shower curtain. The bath was small, so it was impossible to bathe without having the grotty shower curtain brushing up against you.

Housekeeping was pretty mediocre- chip crumbs on the floor were still there four days later, and toiletries and towels were inconsistently replaced. I made the mistake of looking under the bed, which looks like it hasn't been vacuumed since the hotel's last renovation.

This hotel is NOT equipped for for children, therefore I would not recommend to anyone with children <12 years old. Then again.. I wouldn't stay here again without my children either.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandCopthorneSing, Hotel Management at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear JessSperth,

We value your feedback and we apologise for the untoward experiences during your stay with us. Please rest assured of our efforts in ensuring that our valued guests received the highest hospitality standards with minimal disruptions to their stay. Kindly allow us to investigate and we will revert this with you personally. Please write to us as we wish to restore your confidence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We checked in about 1:30 pm and young man at Reception counter was friendly and helpful. He asked if we would mind a smoking room (with river view) as that was available. He said room had been cleaned and he would arrange for an air ioniser to be placed in it. We agreed and room indeed did not smell of smoke.
There was a problem with the remote control so we called "Touch" and someone came up promptly with a replacement.
Then we saw a letter on the desk about renovations in the hotel. We could hear drilling but the noise was not loud and stopped at 6 pm. (There was no mention of renovation on the hotel website.)
The next day we went out at 9 am and when we returned at 2 pm, the room was not cleaned. We called and Housekeeping sent someone immediately.
Then the noise started - loud hammering and drilling. We called the Manager who offered us a change of room but none was better. He did offer us access to the Executive Lounge.
The hotel room was lovely and service was good. However, if you intend to relax in your room between noon and 6 pm, good luck!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandCopthorneSing, Hotel Management at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Wanyi T,

We are glad our service staff and hotel rooms met with your expectations. However, we regret the ongoing refurbishment to improve our facilities caused disruptions to an otherwise pleasant stay.

We seek your kind understanding that we have measures in place to minimise noise pollution to the lowest and apologise for any inconvenience caused.

We hope this did not mar your overall good impression of the Grand Copthorne Waterfront.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stayed here for three days , room was Ok , clean with all facilities, great shower , Staff were extremely helpful, friendly & polite. We opted to have breakfast & were pleased with the choice of food served ( Buffet ) restaurant/bar excellent with plenty of tables outside overlooking the waterfront.
Only thing to say - considering the size of the hotel we thought WiFi would be free which it was not, & expensive for a days log on

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandCopthorneSing, Hotel Management at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Bettyboo640,

We are glad you had a splendid time while staying with us and that our service staff, rooms and breakfast quality exceeded your expectations. We will convey your feedback to our staff for a commendable job well done.

Additionally, do look out for special promotions periodically on our brand website and take advantage of room rates bundled with free WiFi. Alternatively, complimentary WiFi is inclusive in our Club and Suite rooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back and being of service to you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Room: old style, however still up-to-date. Size is ok if you are alone on business trip.
Restaurant: the one the lobby is that excellent. @la carte menu looked good, however the food didn't have the expected quality.
Staff: friendly and efficient
Price: look for the special fare a couple of days before your trip. I paid ~200SGD! So it is value for money.

Room Tip: Look for the Riverfront if you want to see some water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandCopthorneSing, Hotel Management at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Marc M,

Thank you for your review, we are glad you had a fruitful business stay with us and looking forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel

Also Known As:
Hotel Grand Copthorne Waterfront
Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel Singapore
Grand Copthorne Waterfront
Address: 392 Havelock Road, Singapore 169663, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#66 Business Hotel in Singapore
#80 Top resorts Hotel in Singapore
#80 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#85 Family Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.