We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT TIME !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   392 Havelock Road, Singapore 169663, Singapore   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 25% + Free Breakfast
Ranked #97 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“GREAT TIME !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed at copthorne for a week , in November on first leg of our holiday . Hotel ,is very good , right on river , very quiet perfect place to relax with a coffee ! Some reviews have said its to far away from everything ... What better way to walk of breakfast than with a stroll along river !! It's not far to the hustle & bustle of Singapores attractions .. Would I go back ? Yes I would ! .. Food was good , a fair variety , service was good, always helpful, the occasional child running around , enjoyed week there ,just a bit more sunshine next time please !!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandCopthorneSing, Hotel Management at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Tanzanitelady,

Thank you for your excellent feedback. We are thrilled that you enjoyed a lovely stay with us at the Grand Copthorne Waterfront. We are glad you found our waterfront locale to be ideal.

Indeed, nothing quite beats taking a peaceful stroll down the scenic Singapore River whilst taking in the sights and sounds of the waterfront, breaking away from the hectic city pace.

We love for you to come back and enjoy another delightful stay experience and wish there will be more sunshine then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    510
    234
    80
    44
See reviews for
180
339
87
349
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I had stayed here last year for a few weeks and found the staff here extremely friendly and helpful.. They would go out of their way to assist you. It was besides the river and there was a boat stop in case you wanted a traditional historical boat ride. The rooms are comfortable and most importantly, they have a few Indian cooks who cook authentic Indian food... :-)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandCopthorneSing, Hotel Management at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear DeepakChennai07,

It is pure joy to hear that you had a brilliant stay at the Grand Copthorne Waterfront. As we constantly aim to deliver the highest hospitality standards to all our valuable guests, we are exhilarated to receive your five-star rating on Tripadvisor!

Your kind words are testament in recognizing our efforts. In addition, we are glad you found the authentic Indian cuisine prepared to your taste. We look forward to welcoming you back and being of service to you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

Its location is a bit far from downtown, but if you travel by car, it will be ok. the nearest MRT St is Outram Park, and you have to change to bus to get to this hotel. The bus stop just at the front of the hotel. They also provide free shuttle bus for a certain location in singapore(most route in the morning only)

I don't like the lights in the room, the room is quite big but it doesn't have lights installed at the ceiling, only use standing lamps and table lamp next to the beds. It's quite dim if you want to read or work at night.
The shower is also not strong even it's already set to maximum.
Well, the neighborhood is quite calm and not crowded.
Their service is quite good, fast response and friendly. The breakfast in the restaurant is quite boring, same menu for everyday and not many variety.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandCopthorneSing, Hotel Management at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Alice C,

Thank you for your invaluable feedback. We are glad you liked the warm and efficient service delivery during your recent stay with us. Indeed our hotel is only a short bus ride away from the nearest MRT stations: Tiong Bahru, Outram Park and Clarke Quay; which makes for easy accessibility around numerous attractions.

As we are constantly taking in feedback from our valued guests to enhance their stay experience, your comments regarding the room amenities and breakfast have been taken note of. We will assess for areas of improvisations where appropriate.

With that, we look forward to welcoming you back for another pleasant stay at the Grand Copthorne Waterfront.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Third time to stay here for 1 night while transiting. If you've read my previous reviews about this place, you'll see I love it; the rooms are large and well appointed and the beds are so comfy. The staff are nice and professional and check in is fast, location wise its not so central but either a short walk to restaurants or taxi away..the free shuttle bus to the main areas around Singapore is really handy. This time round we booked a superior room (special deal) which included the buffet breakfast and what we had assumed access to Club benefits. At check in, we were advised the description on our booking was incorrect and that we will not have the club benefits, although it was clearly written in the room description (we booked through a third party website) now, don't get me wrong we were not so upset with the hotel or the third party side, but it seemed quite obvious there was some error on someones behalf (not ours) and we had payed the price for it. Although they did not honour the booking, they upgraded our room to a deluxe and provided free wifi (which was to be included anyway) The desk staff were not overly rude to me, but they were quite firm on their decision. I wasn't so upset about it, however I would have expected a 5 star hotel to honour such description, at least for a returning customer... we were there for 1 night only.. to be honest we were only interested in a few drinks in the Club room anyway however the experience left a bit of a sour taste and although I really do enjoy and love this hotel next time I'm likely to consider another hotel. Having said that, I'd still recommend this hotel to friends and family. I'm still rating this hotel as excellent, but as I said, I felt a little let down!

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandCopthorneSing, Hotel Management at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear camak,

Thank you for your excellent review and your five-star rating. However we regret that the error in the booking description of the third-party website caused some frustration and inconvenience to an otherwise exceptional stay.

We hope this lapse did not mar the overall good impression you have of the Grand Copthorne Waterfront and hoped that you were satisfied with the arrangement of the complimentary upgrade and free wifi as our staff did the best in their capacity to alleviate the situation.

We hope to remain as your choice hotel for future visits to Singapore and we look forward to every opportunity to making your stay a magnificent one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

After visiting some high-end hotels in Singapore, this one was a delusion. Starting from the position, it is of course on the river but far away from everything, basically you'll have to stick to riverside restaurants or take a taxi. If you'd like to travel with MRT, then, same problem: far away. The staff tries its best to be pleasant but the result isn't there: make sure you get your requests well understood before checking out for the weekend or you won't find a room when you'll return. Also, always turn on "do not disturb" whenever you need to be left alone in your room else you'll get a lot of insisting visits to get your daily chocolate sweet and to know if everything is going well for you... In the morning get ready to queue in the breakfast room in order to be offered a seat where you don't want: this is mandatory. Should you want to rest for a moment, the swimming pool is nice and tiny, better than nothing! The few rooms I saw are quite small, few of them with a tub, and they would need some serious refurbishing (mainly the bathrooms). Beds are wide with a warm quilt and you'll understand why when you'll try to raise room temperature above 20°C, well, you can't: the only solution to reach a warm 22°C is to leave air conditioning off for a week. Last but not least, inside the hotel you'll feel part of a big family as you will share neighbouring rooms night life (and in Singapore there is so much), same for the corridor. Very interesting lazy lifts (5 for 30 storey) keeping you waiting for a while or passing your floor without explanation. Rooms are mostly either river view or sad view.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandCopthorneSing, Hotel Management at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Moz74370,

Thank you for your feedback. We hope your overall stay experience was a good one and regret that you found certain experiences to be less ideal.

We seek your kind understanding that due to high occupancy rates, the breakfast crowd can get overwhelming during peak breakfast hours, resulting in a queue. Rest assure that our staff will try their best to accommodate seats to their best capability and we do however regret that the allocated seat may not be your ideal one.

We wished that you could inform our staff on the temperature setting so that our technician can assist to better manage the temperature control for your room to ensure a more comfortable stay.

Additionally, with regard to your concern of the noise level from neighbouring rooms, may we suggest that perhaps you could request for a corner room for a more peaceful and restful stay.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future to experience the true hospitality of the Grand Copthorne Waterfront.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

1 night stay to coincide with a wedding attendance. Had an excellent offer (or so I thought) off an online promotion at <$200 with breakfast.

The Good
Quick and easy check-in
Plenty of parking available
Close to Clarke Quay and Great World City

The Bad
Small room with poor sound ventilation. Room faces the main street and fast cars make for disturbed sleep. Noises from other rooms are very obvious.
Poor maintenance of room. No A/C until we noticed that the room was stuffy until 5 hours into stay. Wardrobe cannot be closed properly hence lights in the wardrobe was switched on throughout the night.
Small toilet and shower area.
Swimming pool on 6th floor very small.
Breakfast choices limited. Long queue just ti get into eating area.

Never going to book another stay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandCopthorneSing, Hotel Management at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear epong,

We are glad you liked the locale of our hotel and found the check-in to be a breeze. However, we are concerned about certain experiences that mar your overall stay experience.

We wished that you had informed our staff regarding the faulty air conditioning and wardrobe so that due repair will be accorded without delay for a more comfortable stay. Our staff could also arrange for a change of room should the need arise.

Whilst we endeavour to maintain high standards of accommodation, we regret that these incidents occurred during your stay. Rest assure that every care is underway to ensure that the highest standards are maintained.

We hope to restore your faith in us and look forward to the opportunity to have you back and experience the true hospitality of the Grand Copthorne Waterfront.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

My 2nd time to stay in this hotel. Overall experience is good. Free wifi, gym & pool, clean rooms & comfy beds, wide range of breakfast selections, staff are helpful. View of singapore river. The function rooms within the hotel makes it great venue for conferences though Location is not the best, far from MTR stations, but taxis are readily available.
Shopping Tip: The great world city mall is just walking distance. It's a good place to go for some local food at the basement, with a supermarket and a very good music shop - That CD Shop with a wide selection where HD remastered, collector's series and some hard to find can be spotted there. Mother's Works on 2nd level is a great place to find stuff for babies and kids.

Room Tip: ask for a river view side
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandCopthorneSing, Hotel Management at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear youricat,

Thank you for your insightful review and for making us the hotel of your choice again. It is pleasing to hear that the overall experience was a good one and that you enjoyed the service and amenities during your recent stay with us.

We would like to share that Tiong Bahru and Outram Park MRT stations are well-served via public buses at the hotel bus stop. In addition, hourly shuttle bus services are available for the convenience of our valued guests. Not to mention, the scenic Singapore River is just a stone’s throw away!

We look forward to having you back and experiencing another fruitful stay at the Grand Copthorne Waterfront.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel

Address: 392 Havelock Road, Singapore 169663, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#71 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#73 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#77 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 550
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand Copthorne Waterfront
Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.