We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option if you find a good rate!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Copthorne King's Hotel Singapore

Save Saved
You added Copthorne King's Hotel Singapore to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Copthorne King's Hotel Singapore
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   403 Havelock Road, Singapore 169632, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #161 of 291 hotels in Singapore
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good option if you find a good rate!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I used to go there may years ago an always found this hotel a good deal. Recently I went there and wasn't of the same impression.
The rooms are generally small, getting of course a bit "aged" and the rates are in my opinion far to high compared to what the hotel offers.
The is only one restaurant with buffet that I found very average. The breakfast is not bed however I was expecting something more for this kind of hotel (and its rate).

The location is good, about 15 min walk from Clarke Quay and less than 10 minutes driving from Orchad and Scott road.

Room Tip: Try to have a room in the renewed side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopthorneKingSing, Hotel Management at Copthorne King's Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Dadde74,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. While it is heartening to know that we made a good impression during your previous stay with us, we are concerned that your recent stay paled in comparison. Rest assure that in our continual assessment for improvisations, your comments will be taken into due consideration. With that we hope to welcome you back in the near future and experience the difference.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    183
    133
    60
    28
See reviews for
33
146
43
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
SCOTLAND
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for a couple of nights following a cruise. We upgraded to an Executive room and it was well worth the extra. We had use of the executive lounge where we had breakfast in lovely quiet surroundings. In the evening complementary canapes and cocktails were served for a couple of hours which was a nice touch. The staff in the Executive lounge were extremely friendly and helpful and served tea/coffee or soft drinks throughout the day.
The Hotel is in a good location with an hourly mini bus service to several popular destinations throuout the city.
The rooms were spotless clean and very comfortable.
Would definately use this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopthorneKingSing, Hotel Management at Copthorne King's Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear IZZYScotland,

Thank you so much for this great review. It gives us immense pleasure knowing you had a splendid stay experience at the Copthorne King’s Hotel. We are delighted to know our well-appointed Executive room was “well worth the extra” and that our thoughtful Club Lounge benefits and warm hospitality met your expectations. Your kind compliments are motivation to our unending efforts in ensuring our valued guests are well looked-after. We love to welcome you back soon for another wondrous stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for the first time and felt at home. Staff is competent, efficient and friendly. Room was tastefully furnished and decorated. The bathroom was good, liked the soap, shampoo, shower gel. Breakfast was great with a strong local flavour added without neglecting the traditional western choices. Overall a very good experience bordering on excellent...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopthorneKingSing, Hotel Management at Copthorne King's Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear JanRostkowski,

Thank you so much for your rosy review. It is gratifying to know that staying at the Copthorne King’s was like home away from home. We are heartened that the warm hospitality of our staff and the well-appointed room and amenities were highly satisfactory. We love to welcome you back again for another pleasurable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Close to Robertson Quay. Rooms were a decent size with bathtub. Not near an MRT but the mini bus will take you every hour or so to Orchard Road, China Town, Great World Centre and Clarke Quay MRT station. For the price you can probably stay a bit closer to all the great sights that Singapore has to offer but I was happy in with my stay. Robertson Quay has some restaurants and bars but be careful crossing the roads to get there and they tend to be a touristy prices. Service was great and staff welcoming. It will cost you between $SING5-10 to catch taxi's to Orchard road and main areas and the taxi drivers may drop you to the wrong hotel if you don't say the name of the hotel exactly. Hotel was clean and tidy but staff ignored the "Do not disturb" sign on the door.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Taxi drivers tend to not know where you are going if you are not exact with the pronunciation of some of the attractions - that's the same with most of the taxi drivers in Singapore. (try pronouncing Quay and KEY or KAY) if they don't understand one or the other. Make sure you give yourself more than a day stop over cause there really is a lot to see and do besides Orchard Road Shopping. See Chinatown, Little India, Sentosa, Universal studios, Geyland for local food and East Coast Park for a walk and some lunch or dinner.

Room Tip: corner rooms are bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopthorneKingSing, Hotel Management at Copthorne King's Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear 2di4,

Thank you for your insightful review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Copthorne King’s Hotel, in particular the warm hospitality, ideal locale and our well-maintained room. We love to welcome you back soon for another wonderful stay experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed in this hotel at end of a cruise.Good position close to Clarke Quay and China Town. Breakfast very good, hotel clean and tidy staff helpful.On the 3rd floor exellent pool,sauna and steambath area a quiet little haven in the middle of the city. Rooms comfortable and clean. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopthorneKingSing, Hotel Management at Copthorne King's Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Alec S,

Thank you for your fantastic review, it is with great pleasure to learn that your recent stay at the Copthorne King’s Hotel was a truly enjoyable experience. Your kind words are exceptionally gratifying to us, as we continually aim to provide the highest hospitality standard to our valued guests. We look forward to welcoming you back and being of service to you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Nice hotel, nice staff, great selection for breakfast, within walking distance of many restaurants. I would have given it a very good rating except for the fact that the fee for the internet and breakfast were quite high. Judging by other reviews I guess charging (or more correctly over-charging) for internet connection and breakfast seems to be the norm in Singapore. For a country that takes pride in having one of the highest broadband connection rates I cannot understand why a hotel would need to charge for internet connection.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopthorneKingSing, Hotel Management at Copthorne King's Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear 2muchtimeontheroad,

Thank you for sharing with us your invaluable feedback. We are delighted to hear that our well-furnished room, sumptuous breakfast, ideal location and warm hospitality were deeply appreciated by your good self.

However, we are also concerned with your disappointment with the wifi charges and we regret any inconveniences that may arise. May we suggest that you could perhaps consider booking a Club room for your next visit as complimentary wifi, breakfast and exclusive Club Lounge access are amongst many other Club room benefits. Having said that, we hope to welcome you back and relish the Club room experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The hotel was part of a cruise and stay package. We were very disturbed to find it has no disabled access rooms and also charges 25 Sdollars for Wi FI. No disabled access at the front either.They did however offer me a few minutes to check my emails on one of their computers. We were also very disappointed that the nearest MRT station was not within easy walking distance especially on a disability scooter. On the plus side it was just across the road from the river. The staff and manager to whom I complained gave excellent service and could not be faulted

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopthorneKingSing, Hotel Management at Copthorne King's Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Norman K,

Thank you for your review. We regret that some experiences during your stay were less ideal; we hope your stay was fruitful nonetheless. We trust the warm gesture of offering to check your email on our computers was satisfactory. We would also like to share that complimentary wifi is included in our Club rooms, amongst other exclusive Club benefits.

In addition to your concern of our hotel's accessibility, we are delighted to share that complimentary shuttle bus service to Clarke Quay MRT station, Orchard Road and Chinatown is available for the convenience of our guests. Please feel free to approach our friendly concierge for special arrangements, if any.

Rest assure that your feedback will be considered in our continuous assessment for improvement. With that, we hope to welcome you back and being of service to you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Copthorne King's Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne King's Hotel Singapore

Address: 403 Havelock Road, Singapore 169632, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#161 Top resorts Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne King's Hotel Singapore 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Twelve-story Hotel with attached 20-story circular Tower (1978). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Copthorne King's Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Kings Hotel Singapore
Singapore Copthorne Kings Hotel
Copthorne King's Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copthorne King's Hotel Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.