We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Copthorne King's Hotel Singapore

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Copthorne King's Hotel Singapore to your Saves list
Copthorne King's Hotel Singapore
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   403 Havelock Road, Singapore 169632, Singapore (The Quays)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #162 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
Ahmedabad, India
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I was stayed in this hotel last year in march,may 2011.
hotel staff was good, they have gift shop near to reception, where you can purchase many a things.
breakfast was nice with variety of items to choose.
i like most was Chinese food on first or second level and continental food.
rooms are nice and big enough

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopthorneKingSing, Hotel Management at Copthorne King's Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear dubai92,

Thank you for your excellent feedback. It is truly delightful to know that we have made your stay at the Copthorne King’s Hotel a pleasant and memorable one. We are pleased that you liked our hearty buffet breakfast as well as the fine Chinese cuisine by award-winning Tien Court restaurant. We hope to be your preferred hotel for your future visits to Singapore and look forward to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    222
    174
    66
    31
See reviews for
53
181
56
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
General Santos City, Philippines
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

After 4 years since my last visit, the hotel looks well maintained and clean. Breakfasts was fair; not too many choices but tasty food.

It was disappointing that the hotel does not provide free wifi access in any part of the hotel, not even in the lobby. Would have made a difference in my business trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopthorneKingSing, Hotel Management at Copthorne King's Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Chakotay425,

Thank you for making the Copthorne King’s Hotel your choice accommodation during your recent visit. It is gratifying to know that we created an enriching hospitality experience and we trust your stay had been eventful. In addition, we would like to recommend that you stay in one of our well-furnished Club rooms with complimentary wifi, breakfast and Club Lounge access and benefits. With that, we look forward to being of service to you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalmar, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This hotel is within 15min walking distance of a nice restaurant area at Clarke Quay. Good lobby and service-minded desk. The breakfast is good, lots to choose from. Our room was very small and a little bit run down, but quiet. Tried the pool-area, but we didn't stay long there - it was pretty basic but with nice changing rooms. The hotel has a very small gym, an area of improvement for sure...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopthorneKingSing, Hotel Management at Copthorne King's Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear BringYourOwn,

It is to our utmost delight in knowing that you found our ideal location, hearty breakfast and the service-oriented hospitality to have exceeded your expectations. Your compliments are especially rewarding in recognition of our continuous endeavours in striving for excellence and maintaining a high level of guest satisfaction. With that, we look forward to your continuous patronage and look forward to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed at the Copthorne King's for some two weeks which also spanned the staging of the Singapore F1 Grand Prix. I am surprised that other reviewers have anything good to say about this hotel. Our room was a superior double with balcony which was priced at circa SGD300++ per night in spite of the poor decor, the small bathroom and the disappointing aspect overlooking the pool area and some rather shabby tower blocks nearby.

The hotel is poorly located relative to commensurately priced hotels nearer to the CBD, sitting as it does on a busy main road, and not especially close to any MRT stations or shopping malls. We were not told of the shuttle service mentioned here by another reviewer, despite having asked for directions to Great World City and other central locations. The bed linen was stained and worn, and the air conditioning unit largely ineffective. The mini bar was locked with no directions as to how or why the key should be obtained. We only ate once in the hotel and the standard of food was equally disappointing. The room was cleaned in only cursary fashion with clothes and other belongings left untidied.

The doormen were lazy and unattentive, even when witnessing my girlfriend struggling with her luggage from a taxi. Incredibly, the housekeeping staff helped themselves to any loose change on a daily basis - when we queried this with the duty manager we were told that this is customary practice in Singapore and we should be aware that if change is left on the pillow (which it wasn't) then the staff will assume it is a gratuity. A pile of loose change miraculously appeared in one of the drawers some days after our original complaint. On another occasion I was charged SGD3.52 for a bucket of ice to be delivered to the room. Although another manager did apologise for some of the aforementioned experiences upon check out, I would certainly not return to this hotel as either a business or a leisure traveller. Avoid, avoid, avoid!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopthorneKingSing, Hotel Management at Copthorne King's Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Damasha,

We regret that your stay experience was not ideal and apologize for the lapse in service delivery. Please rest assure that we will take note of your concerns and review them in accordance for improvements where appropriate. We hope to have the opportunity to restore your faith in us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

just returned after 11nights at this hotel, can't fault it, comfortable bed, more pillows on request, asked for more coat hangers and housekeeping were at the door within minutes. Clean, friendly staff and in good position for china town, buses and short walk to Clark's Quay. Would recommend for a mid range hotel. Have stayed in neighbouring hotels that are rated higher but prefer this one.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millennium C, Hotel Management at Copthorne King's Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear tinsey16,

Thank you for your good feedback. We are glad that you found the stay at Copthorne King’s Hotel to be a wonderful and rewarding experience. Indeed our housekeepers are known for their efficacy and attentiveness towards our guests in ensuring a comfortable stay. We look forward to welcoming you back and providing you with the utmost hospitality standards discerning of the Copthorne King’s Hotel Singapore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
541 reviews 541 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
303 helpful votes 303 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for four nights during a recent trip to Singapore.
Advantages:
- complimentary shuttle to Outram MRT, Great World City and other locations
- friendly service (front desk, restaurant, doorman)
- late checkout was allowed
- 10 to 15 minute walk to many restaurants
- nearby bus stops, short wait for taxis
- not as expensive as some other hotels
Disadvantages:
-poor housekeeping (ex: dirty glasses put back without washing)
- mattress was extremely hard, although complimentary mattress toppers were available.
- fitness center barely had any equipment and what was available was not well maintained. Of the nine hotels I have stayed at in Singapore, including another Copthorne property, this was the most disappointing gym.
- breakfast buffet was overpriced for what is offered
- 15 minute walk to MRT, which I don't consider a disadvantage, but I understand may not be preferable to everyone. There is a free shuttle to the MRT in the morning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millennium C, Hotel Management at Copthorne King's Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Kat0425,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed the thoughtful amenities, good service delivery and excellent location of the Copthorne King’s Hotel. We hope your stay had been a fruitful experience. In our continuous efforts for improvements and ensuring a consistently high hospitality standard, we have taken note on your less ideal feedback and endeavour to make improvisations where appropriate. With that, we look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 1 night, when our homeward flight was cancelled due to mechanical failure.
A senior staff member Vincent, came to meet us at the airport-bearing in mind we were a group of unwilling guests, he did a really good job.
Despite the fact that we were around 50 last minute, unexpected guests, who arrived en masse at 2.30 am, the staff did an excellent job checking everyone in.
The room was clean + well equipped. The bathroom had lovely toiletries + extra items eg tootbrushes + paste, disposable razors + shaving cream, which were useful.The balcony was decked with flowers + we had a good view across to the river.
As we couldn't be booked on to another flight, until 23.15, we were allowed full use of the room + hotel facilities until the coach arrived at 20.30.
The staff were very helpful. The buffet food was tasty + very Oriental. My son + daughter-in-law, who live in Singapore, were allowed to join us in the dinig room, after ordering from the bar menu, which was added bonus for us.
Considering we din't actually want to be there, we had an enjoyable stop over at this hotel.It was made even better as we got it all for free thanks to Lufthansa!!! The only negative thing for me, was that the mattress was harder than I prefer, but everyone has different preferences I suppose. Full marks to the staff for their efficiency.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millennium C, Hotel Management at Copthorne King's Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Stella H,

Thank you for your excellent feedback. It is heartening to hear that we delivered a highly satisfactory stay experience for you and your fellow travellers. It has always been our priority to ensure that our guests are well-looked after and it is our mission to provide guests a home away from home while staying at the Copthorne King’s Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back and being of service to you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Copthorne King's Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne King's Hotel Singapore

Address: 403 Havelock Road, Singapore 169632, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > The Quays
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#89 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne King's Hotel Singapore 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Twelve-story Hotel with attached 20-story circular Tower (1978). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Copthorne King's Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Kings Hotel Singapore
Singapore Copthorne Kings Hotel
Copthorne King's Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copthorne King's Hotel Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.