We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Raffles Hotel Singapore

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Raffles Hotel Singapore to your Saves list
Raffles Hotel Singapore
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Beach Road, Singapore 189673, Singapore   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
London
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Splendid”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Fourth time at Raffles, this time for a short visit, and it keeps surpassing itself. This time we got an upgrade to a suite in the main building, above the reception. It was 150 sq m, had two bathrooms, a pantry, a huge bedroom, a dressing room, a large living area, and a huge private terrace. All with five metre ceilings. Possibly the largest hotel room I have ever stayed in. Amazing.

Every other aspect of our short stay was perfect, from the in-room breakfast to flowers and champagne on arrival, dinner at the Long Bar steak house, a quick Sling and a walk in the grounds.

Perfect.

I have now got to the point that I travel via Singapore if I am in SE Asia, just so I can stay at Raffles.

Room Tip: All rooms are suites, and gorgeous. Palm Court maybe best value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,065 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,574
    326
    98
    41
    26
See reviews for
354
1,017
156
229
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Obviously had heard and read about Raffles and when we got to Singapore were keen to visit. The architecture is great and you really get to experience what life back in the colonial era was like. Spent time walking the grounds and finishing up ordering drinks in the Long Bar. Bar was busy on the afternoon we were there. To ensure we did the touristy thing, ordered a Singapore Sling for my partner and a Tiger beer for myself. I get the history and I get the reasons for going there but seriously A$55 for two drinks?? Bar service was also a little slow. Talking about our experience at our hotel bar that night was told that the Singapore Slings aren't even freshly made - big batch made up each morning to be served later. At our bar Singapore Slings cost A$6 and came with a lively bar discussion. I'd still return as it is a must-see when in Singapore. Just think it's become a little too commercial in their way of thinking.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

the building is well preserved. the famous high tea set is enjoyable. but in the restaurant so many tables to enjoy a high tea, may you feel a little noisy there. the venue itself is very convenient for foreigners.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Despite our very short stay the experience was memorable for all the right reasons. On arrival we were seated in the large reception area and offered complimentary 'Singapore Slings' we were dealt with quickly and efficiently by one of the best service people that I have met. Our bags were whisked away and we were guided to our room. All the staff that we interfaced with all went that extra mile to make sure that we were content and 'at home' in our new environment. The room was large clean and well appointed. The bed was like floating on a cloud. That evening when I was a little lost in one of the verandas two staff approached and asked if there was anything that we needed. I said yes that we were checking out earlier and would otherwise miss breakfast. Within five pleasant minutes an early breakfast of our choice was arranged, bag pick-up and transfer to the airport. The next morning it all happened as planned to the minute! 10/10

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Raffles Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We went here just for a cocktail one evening as when you are in Singapore you have to do this. The bar has a very lively feel to it and we loved throwing peanut shells on the floor (they encourage you to do this) The Singapore Sling was good although it's pricey. Would definitely recommend going here.

Stayed May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Eatingoutlots

Thank you for taking the time to write this review about your recent visit to Raffles Singapore and Long Bar. I am absolutely thrilled that you found Long Bar lively and that you enjoyed the time-old tradition of throwing your peanut shells on the floor.

I am also glad that you had the chance to sample the Singapore Sling in its birthplace and found it to have a good taste. I thank you for recommending the Long Bar and I hope to welcome you back to Raffles Singapore soon, perhaps for a stay with us.

Yours sincerely
Simon Hirst
General Manager
Raffles Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

As a writer, Raffles has been on my bucket list for some time. When the opportunity came to go there at last, I grabbed it. And it lived up to every expectation and more. The staff are genuinely welcoming and attentive without being annoying. The building and our room was spectacular. If those walls could speak...but the staff were more than happy to explain the hotel's history. Marvelous. Plus it is close to transport, shopping and restaurants if you can tear yourself away. I would go back there in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Try having breakfast in your room - the service is sensational, and the food fresh and delightfully...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Margret B

Thank you for choosing to stay at Raffles Singapore. It was a pleasure to read your compliments about the hotel, your suite, the food available as well as the excellent levels of hospitality that we always try to deliver. I will definitely share your kind words with the rest of my team here at Raffles. I look forward to welcoming you back to Raffles Singapore soon.

Yours sincerely
Simon Hirst
General Manager
Raffles Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Raffles more than lived up to our expectations. The staff were all helpful and responded to our requests without being intrusive. Our courtyard suite (although one of the cheaper rooms) was large and divided into separate areas and was furnished in keeping with the atmosphere of the hotel. Afternoon tea served on our balcony was one of the more special memories.

Room Tip: If you have a room overlooking a courtyard then consider whether you would rather be on the ground f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear BorisBolero

Thank you for your kind compliments. I am glad you found our staff to be very friendly and quick to assist. We, at Raffles, are constantly striving to deliver the highest levels of hospitality and I am glad you had that enjoyable experience through the service of our staff. It pleases me to read that you were able to try our renowned Afternoon Tea and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Yours sincerely
Simon Hirst
General Manager
Raffles Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Raffles Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffles Hotel Singapore

Address: 1 Beach Road, Singapore 189673, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#3 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#3 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#4 Family Hotel in Singapore
#6 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Raffles Hotel Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Raffles Hotel is one of Singapore's most graceful landmarks. More legend than hotel, this luxury Singapore hotel celebrates a tradition of unwavering service excellence spanning more than 125 years.Immortalized in the novels of Somerset Maugham and Rudyard Kipling, Raffles Hotel, Singapore’s colonial-styled architecture and lush tropical gardens exude an atmosphere of timeless elegance.Raffles Spa provides pampering relaxation while the boutiques of Raffles Hotel Arcade offer ample opportunities for retail therapy. Raffles Hotel Arcade houses a fine selection of elegant international brands including Tiffany and Co. and Louis Vuitton.Be it business or leisure, the charms of this luxurious Singapore hotel are enticing. 15 restaurants and bars beckon, including the Long Bar - home to the world renowned Singapore Sling; Tiffin Room, which continues the tradition of Afternoon Tea at Raffles and Bar & Billiard Room, well-known for its legend of "The Tiger under the Billiard Table."This luxurious Singapore hotel lies in the heart of the city, in close proximity to the banking and financial districts, Raffles City Convention Centre, Singapore International Convention and Exhibition Centre (SICEC), as well as leisure attractions including the casino at Marina Bay; the cultural sights of Arab Street and Chinatown and shopping at Raffles City shopping mall and Orchard Road shopping belt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Raffles Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singapore Raffles Hotel
Raffles Singapore
Raffles Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Raffles Hotel Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.