We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Olde world charm and modern convenience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Raffles Hotel Singapore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Raffles Hotel Singapore to your Saves list
Raffles Hotel Singapore
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Beach Road, Singapore 189673, Singapore   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Suite with Credit Offer
Ranked #3 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Olde world charm and modern convenience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Unfortunately only stayed for one night, but was allocated a lovely original suite in the main building. The room was huge, with high ceilings and a covered verandah outside. All mod-cons were there, although some of the lighting controls were a little idiosyncratic. Ditto the marble bathroom with its brass fittings - but that's part of the charm. You can go anywhere and stay in a homogenized ultra-deluxe modern 5-star room; at Raffles I did feel a real sense of history and character.
Breakfast was very good and lunch at the Raffles Grill absolutely excellent (although expensive).
Had the obligatory Sling at the Long Bar, as you do, but came away somewhat disappointed - afraid this has become more of a tourist trap than anything else; tables of groups of loud tourists in louder shirts come in, gawp, moan about the price of the Sling and move on, to be replaced by the next lot. Having said that. there are some quieter tables at the back, reserved for hotel guests - these are much better. And there are other bars within the grounds to go to if you want something more civilized.
Overall, a thoroughly enjoyable experience, and I would like to stay again, especially on a leisure trip when I had more time to experience the grounds and facilities

Room Tip: Get an original suite in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,341
    266
    79
    39
    24
See reviews for
283
858
134
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

What a great experience. Staying at Raffles is something I always wanted to do! From our butler to the pool, from the Long Bar and Monkey nuts to the whole Raffles experience. Being shown around by Leslie Danker the hotels famous historian is an experience not to be missed. Leslie has been at the hotel since it was first created from a bungalow opposite the sea. A very romantic recall of the hotels history and first beginnings! All together a very special experience!

Room Tip: the old original rooms have a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

The buildings and grounds are exquisite! Well worth a visit just to soak up the atmosphere. But I can't believe they charge $10 for a single tea bag and a cup of hot water that you have to order at the counter and carry to the table yourself. LOL I must admit, for the most expensive cup of tea I've ever had, I would have at least expected a tea pot and table service....

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear jinilil,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us.

I am glad that you appreciated our special architecture and enjoyed the old colonial charm of the hotel. I have taken note of your feedback on the dining experience at Ah Teng’s Bakery and would like to share that the tea we serve is from an artisanal French brand “Pascal Hamour” and the prices are reviewed regularly to ensure that they are competitive in relation to the restaurants of similar standing. The dining concept of the bakery is a casual and self-service restaurant, where pastries and savouries are displayed to invite patrons to dine-in or takeaway.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Simon Hirst
General Manager
Raffles Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pokolbin, Australia
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

everything was spotlessly Food was 1st class Service was without fault
only 2 quite distinct whinges
there was a constant terrible old mildew smell in our suite.. it was quite overwhelming at times
and the LITTLE extras that are usually provided were not up to scratch ...it appeared like there has been monentary restriction put on the quality of complimentary consumerables
We actually didnt remove and take with us any of the complimentary items as we would be able to buy them at our local grocery store

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear 6602kelso4046,

Greetings from Raffles Singapore.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking your time to provide us with your feedback.

I am glad that you have found our food to be first class and service faultless. As we pride ourselves on delivering a consistently high level of service and quality products, your experience with our suite was certainly not reflective of our usual standards. Please rest assured that is an isolated incident and we are monitoring closely the area of concern to be rectified immediately.

Your feedback is extremely important to us as it allows us to continually monitor our guest’s requirements and help us to improve our service and facilities.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Raffles Singapore soon.

Warm regards,
Simon Hirst
General Manager
Raffles Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

This hotel lives up to its reputation. We stayed for one night on our stop over from Singapore to Australia. The service, location and room were fantastic.

The hotel delivers everything you'd expect and then some. We were greeted upon arrival with a Singapore Sling - nice and refreshing when you are jet lagged and suffering from the humidity of the city! And, as we were on our honeymoon, we also were provided with a surprise bottle of champagne and the room maids decorated our bed with red roses.

This is definitely one of the best hotels in the world.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Such a shame that a beautiful and historic place isn't quite what it used to be. The so called butlers are still good but the iconic doorman remains as arrogant as rumoured, his moderate competence is definitely not worth a tip. Still a wonderful place but beware what you are expecting or the cost.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear galren_nz,

Thank you for reviewing us on Tripadvisor.

I am happy to hear that you found the butlers’ service good but greatly regret to hear of your less than favourable experience with the doorman, which should not have been the case and I do apologise. I have taken on board your comments and have shared this with the team to ensure that no matter how busy the colleagues may be, the level of service should never be compromised.

I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Raffles again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Simon Hirst
General Manager
Raffles Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

What a great hotel in so many ways! The location is superb, and it has a classy feel from the moment you are dropped off at the front steps. The room was also amazing - a four poster bed, a bathroom with a chandelier, a suite room which was comfortable and comfortable. I would recommend wholeheartedly staying there

Two areas for improvement though
The butler was lazy. Didn't bother telling me that i could have a coffee service free even though i was on a room only basis. Probably so that he wouldn't have to bring it. i only found out when i was checking out that i could have it, which was all too late and left a sour taste in my mouth. This left me feeling like he didn't care.

Raffles has an opportunity to sell the best Singapore Sling in the world.... it doesn't even try. it is an expensive (S$37 each) pre-mix, served in a bar full of stale peanuts, aimed at maximising revenue, without a second thought about customer experience. What a missed opportunity.

Having said that... I would definitely stay again - but this time i'm wise about the butler service,and I'd go elsewhere for a cheaper and superior cocktail.

Room Tip: Courtyard facing rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear ianmcnally,

Greetings from Raffles Singapore.

I am sorry that we have taken more time than usual to reply.

I was so pleased to see that you found the Raffles Singapore beautiful with a great setting, however I was very sorry to learn that your Butler failed to share all the services on offer, which is most unusual to hear. It is very rare that this happens and we have addressed this with the team.

I take on board your comments about the Singapore Sling and would like to assure you that we conduct stringent quality checks to ensure that the finished quality is genuine and the mix correct.

As we strive to improve our service quality and facilities, your feedback is extremely important to us as it allows us to continually monitor our guests’ requirements.

In spite of some disappointing aspects, I do appreciate your feedback that it had otherwise been an excellent experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back for a stay soon to experience the other facets of Raffles Singapore.

Warm regards,

Simon Hirst
General Manager
Raffles Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Raffles Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffles Hotel Singapore

Address: 1 Beach Road, Singapore 189673, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#3 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#3 Family Hotel in Singapore
#4 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#5 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Raffles Hotel Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Raffles Hotel is one of Singapore's most graceful landmarks. More legend than hotel, this luxury Singapore hotel celebrates a tradition of unwavering service excellence spanning more than 125 years.Immortalized in the novels of Somerset Maugham and Rudyard Kipling, Raffles Hotel, Singapore’s colonial-styled architecture and lush tropical gardens exude an atmosphere of timeless elegance.Raffles Spa provides pampering relaxation while the boutiques of Raffles Hotel Arcade offer ample opportunities for retail therapy. Raffles Hotel Arcade houses a fine selection of elegant international brands including Tiffany and Co. and Louis Vuitton.Be it business or leisure, the charms of this luxurious Singapore hotel are enticing. 15 restaurants and bars beckon, including the Long Bar - home to the world renowned Singapore Sling; Tiffin Room, which continues the tradition of Afternoon Tea at Raffles and Bar & Billiard Room, well-known for its legend of "The Tiger under the Billiard Table."This luxurious Singapore hotel lies in the heart of the city, in close proximity to the banking and financial districts, Raffles City Convention Centre, Singapore International Convention and Exhibition Centre (SICEC), as well as leisure attractions including the casino at Marina Bay; the cultural sights of Arab Street and Chinatown and shopping at Raffles City shopping mall and Orchard Road shopping belt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Raffles Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singapore Raffles Hotel
Raffles Singapore
Raffles Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Raffles Hotel Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.