We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most amazing hotel we have been to” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Raffles Hotel Singapore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Raffles Hotel Singapore to your Saves list
Raffles Hotel Singapore
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Beach Road, Singapore 189673, Singapore   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Suite with Credit offer
Ranked #3 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Most amazing hotel we have been to”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

This hotel is just amazing. There are just no words to describe how beautiful it is. The attention to detail is amazing, the service could not get any better. Breakfast is the best we have ever had in a hotel. On top of this it's in a great location with a train station just over the road. I would not hesitate at all booking this hotel again next time we are in Singapore

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,328
    258
    80
    39
    22
See reviews for
279
846
132
193
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Zürich
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

As many reviewers stated before, the hotel is taking you on a journey to old colonial times. You can feel that history everywhere. If you like that then this is the place to stay in Singapore. We enjoyed our stay in a Courtyard suite and the service offered by the hotel personell and especially the butler.
However, I always would like to point out the following minor issues that do not match a hotel of this price level:
1. The TV and radio receoption of quite some channels were really poor.
2. The hotel information book and the place where it was placed were sticky and had to be cleaned by me.
3. During breakfast I had to ask three times for a second coffee while the Tiffany room and the waiters were not really busy (one of them even had time to play with her mobile rather than serving the guests).
4. When we checked out in the evening, it took 20 minutes until the luggage was carried down to the reception. Then we had to wait another 10 minutes for a taxi although we had asked for it immediately during check out.

Despite of these issues we would certainly come back to feel the old colonial style again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Tilo W,

Thank you for taking the time to review us and providing such detailed feedback.

I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and especially the colonial feel of the hotel with its 126-year history, and are honoured to be an iconic part of Singapore’s rich legacy.

I read with dismay at your less than perfect experience and have shared your feedback with the relevant departments concerned. As always, we take all feedback very seriously as we pride ourselves in offering an excellent and memorable service and I do apologise for having fallen short in these areas.

I am happy to learn that you will be returning again in the future and certainly look forward to welcoming you “home” to Raffles once again.

Warm regards,

Simon Hirst
General Manager
Raffles Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Singapore has probably the best crop of 5 star properties of any world city. Standards are very high.
This icon is clearly differentiated from the downright gimmicky, the endless high rises and the shopping centre extensions that abound. Its not just the history which is impressive or even the architecture which is stunning. No its the feeling of tranquillity that it exudes whilst all around is hustle and bustle.
Rooms are well sized and appointed, service generally top draw and the food right up there. It should be perfect but in a property like this the little things matter.
Firstly the plumbing. Yes I know its old but really there is no excuse when the lavatory seat detaches .Yes it was quickly fixed, I was not injured but my moments of reflexion were seriously disrupted. You could say I was inconvenienced!
Secondly the buffet breakfast. Impressive range ,stunning dining room, good service. However the kitchens effort at that favourite "baked beans" was enough to have Mr Heinz turning in his grave(57 times).Watery, colourless and lacking in flavour. The little things matter.
Thirdly and in my view the most concerning was the behaviour of the poolside barman. Like most hotels in the city the bill total is inflated by tax and service. No issues there it a simple system which guests and staff understand. On signing my poolside bill the individual asked for an extra tip. I was both surprised and disappointed. My feeling of tranquillity was momentarily shattered.
Properties like Raffles deserve their reputation and make no mistake this is a very good hotel but the little things do really matter.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H, Hotel Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear second row,

Greetings from Raffles Singapore!

Thank you very much for residing with us recently as well as for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor.

My colleagues and I are pleased to read that you enjoyed the facilities of the hotel as well as the serene and the calm surroundings of Raffles Singapore. We take pride to hear that you appreciated the high level of service and food quality in our restaurants.

The more we are disappointed that your overall experience was marred by the faulty toilet seat and the diluted baked beans portion during your breakfast. Both points have been addressed carefully to avoid re-occurrence for future guests.

Furthermore we have taken very detailed note about your experience at the pool bar and we would like to sincerely apologise for the transpired and the created perception of this isolated incident. We are following a clear set of core values and we are therefore taking your comment very seriously.

I have sent a personal message to your TripAdvisor’s mailbox, should there be anything I may assist you further at this moment, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Sincerely,

Christian Westbeld
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

We stayed at Raffles for 3 nights for our Wedding Anniversary, and it's the best Hotel that we have stayed in , the service was just excellent, all the staff we met, just couldn't do enough for us.

The room, was also Amazing, from the moment we go there, the staff made us feel like super stars.

Checking took about 5 minutes and was effort less, the Duty Manager made sure of that, and our Butler made sure that our luggage was sent to our room .


We can't wait to go back there .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

We stayed at Raffles for three nights on our way to Australia in August. We arrived after 12 hr flight to be greeted warmly and ushered straight to the bar area for a welcome drink whilst the reception staff went through the check in process. This made check in very relaxing, just what we needed!
We were then taken to our room where our butler showed us around and had our bags arrive. We stayed in a courtyard suite which was very spacious with a very comfortable bed. The hotel is very much designed to step you back into a bygone age so dont expect a room full of mod cons, not even a flat screen!! For me this works!
We had breakfast each morning and it really was something to look forward to each morning! Nothing was too much trouble for the servers and they were very attentive. Food selection was good and the ambiance was delightful.
Raffles is well located near many of the tourist attractions (walking distance).
The service here is unparallelled and worth the rather expensive price tag, definitely recommend!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
317 reviews 317 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

How can one visit Singapore and not stay at Raffles? While it is not one of those super glitzy hotels, the experience is everything one could hope for in recapturing the colonial atmosphere. What makes it special is the level of service and the attention to detail that makes it a really special. There is no cliche here, everyone seems genuinely committed to maximizing the experience of your visit. From the comfortable chair in the lobby during check-in, (no standing at the front desk here) to check-out, everything is handled with personal attention. The Palm Court suites are something special in terms of comfort, TV's could use an upgrade though. Of course the Singapore Sling at the Long Bar is a must, but don't overlook the Italian Restaurant in the courtyard, and the pool bar on the roof.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Skyhoosier,

Greetings from Raffles Singapore.

Thank you for you kind review. I am delighted that you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed the old colonial charm of your Palm Court Suite and the hotel, as well as the service and our colleagues' attention to details.

I am pleased to hear that you also enjoyed the Singapore Sling at the Long Bar and dinner at Raffles Courtyard as well as the pool bar.

I hope that you will return soon and look forward to meeting with you then.

Warm regards

Simon Hirst
General Manager
Raffles Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

After many visits to Singapore over the last 10 years and more than our fair share of Singapore Slings in the Long Bar, it was time for us to stay at this landmark hotel.

Raffles is not a Dubai-tastic, gleaming, white marble palace but a traditional, historical building with a colonial style and a certain ambience. It certainly achieves this and with no trace of stuffiness that some guests may expect.

Check-in was a chore with none of the niceties that you would expect at a hotel of this standard and reputation. Very disappointing. However, the butler service and welcome cocktail were nice touches.

Rooms were large, well appointed, with furniture that was in keeping with the hotel's colonial past. Bathrooms however, were sticky and could have done with an update - think more seaside B&B rather than world-class hotel.

Dined at Tiffin Room and Billiard Room: staff at both were exceptional and couldn't do enough to ensure we enjoyed our evening.

Overall, our visit was interesting but perhaps not the experience we were expecting. Would we stay again? Probably not.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear AntBooker,

Greetings from Raffles Singapore.

Thank you for the review of your recent stay with us, and we are delighted to hear that the staff at Tiffin Room and Bar & Billiard Room were exceptional and couldn't do enough to ensure you enjoyed your evening.

We do apologise for the less than satisfactory check-in experience and have addressed this with our team.

We also regret to hear that the bathrooms did not meet your expectations. Our bathrooms, which consist of a separate shower, bathtub and vanity area large enough for two persons, are fitted with marble and brass, to complement the colonial style and architecture of the suites and building.

I hope that you will return for another stay with us, and have the opportunity to experience the other facets of Raffles Singapore be it the lush gardens and courtyards, the gift shop or the myriad dining choices within the Raffles Hotel Arcade.

Warm regards,

Simon Hirst
General Manager
Raffles Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Raffles Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffles Hotel Singapore

Address: 1 Beach Road, Singapore 189673, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#2 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#3 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#3 Family Hotel in Singapore
#5 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Raffles Hotel Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Raffles Hotel is one of Singapore's most graceful landmarks. More legend than hotel, this luxury Singapore hotel celebrates a tradition of unwavering service excellence spanning more than 125 years.Immortalized in the novels of Somerset Maugham and Rudyard Kipling, Raffles Hotel, Singapore’s colonial-styled architecture and lush tropical gardens exude an atmosphere of timeless elegance.Raffles Spa provides pampering relaxation while the boutiques of Raffles Hotel Arcade offer ample opportunities for retail therapy. Raffles Hotel Arcade houses a fine selection of elegant international brands including Tiffany and Co. and Louis Vuitton.Be it business or leisure, the charms of this luxurious Singapore hotel are enticing. 15 restaurants and bars beckon, including the Long Bar - home to the world renowned Singapore Sling; Tiffin Room, which continues the tradition of Afternoon Tea at Raffles and Bar & Billiard Room, well-known for its legend of "The Tiger under the Billiard Table."This luxurious Singapore hotel lies in the heart of the city, in close proximity to the banking and financial districts, Raffles City Convention Centre, Singapore International Convention and Exhibition Centre (SICEC), as well as leisure attractions including the casino at Marina Bay; the cultural sights of Arab Street and Chinatown and shopping at Raffles City shopping mall and Orchard Road shopping belt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Raffles Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singapore Raffles Hotel
Raffles Singapore
Raffles Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Raffles Hotel Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.