We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute class!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Raffles Hotel Singapore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Raffles Hotel Singapore to your Saves list
Raffles Hotel Singapore
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Beach Road, Singapore 189673, Singapore   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Suite with Credit Offer
Ranked #3 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Wallsend, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Absolute class!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

The world famous hotel we simply had to stay in! Everything about it is so classy. As soon as we arrived the staff made us feel like a million dollars. I am a working class man and they treat me as if i was a king! The rooms are luxurious and the room service guy was as polite & friendly as any i have seen. This trip to Singapore was a stopover enroute to Australia so we didnt see a lot of it but this was a treat for us and i shall never forget it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear brian j

Greetings from Raffles Singapore.

Thank you for your lovely review of Raffles. The staff will be delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay so much that you will never forget it. That is praise indeed. We hope that it won’t be too long before we see you back here again.

Warm regards,

Simon Hirst
General Manager
Raffles Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,344
    268
    79
    39
    24
See reviews for
285
860
134
194
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We totally immersed ourselves in The Raffles hotel atmosphere, and didn’t leave the hotel for the first 48 hours of our 5 day stay. Everything was perfect, from the greetings and welcome from all staff, (who addressed you by name each morning at breakfast), to the iconic building and history, we were in heaven.
We stayed here for 4 nights in a Palm Court Suite. Prior to booking I had a hard time working out what the difference was between the Courtyard Suites to the dearer Palm Court Suites was, as the website really didn’t tell you. It boiled down to location. Exactly the same rooms but the Palm Court Suites appeared to be better located, but to be honest the Courtyard Suites didn’t look like they were a bad choice if push came to shove and you were trying to save a few dollars……….
Our suite was spacious and had everything we wanted. Great air-conditioning, which I really appreciated. We were on the ground floor level, which was ideal, but the upper levels are more convenient if you want to get to the pool quickly and not worry about a flight of stairs. We did not find the need to make use of our butler though, although we did request that our bed was a little too hard, and a cover was placed over the mattress making it better.

Whilst here we booked a high tea in the Tiffin room, Sunday buffet at the Bar & Billiard Room, Spa appointments. Drank at the Martini Bar, The Writers Bar and ate at The Empire Café and camped out at the pool every day. See my individual reviews. There wasn’t a thing we could complain about.
Can I take a moment to shout out about the wonderful service that Logan gave us at the pool? He was there for our every whim. He made sure we had towels, drinks and food, and the occasional pleasant chat. We felt he genuinely cared about us each day, which can be rare in a hotel of this size. Thank you so much Logan.

We had such a wonderful stay at The Raffles Hotel that we will always have fond memories of our time in Singapore, and hope to return someday.

Room Tip: Palm court suites are in a better location to the Courtyard suites, but if you want to save a few hu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear czardas

Greetings from Raffles Singapore.

Thank you for taking the trouble to post your detailed and kind review, which is much appreciated. We are absolutely thrilled by your comments - and thrilled that you appreciated that unique ambiance and atmosphere that is Raffles Singapore.

And it was also lovely to read that you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel. I have passed on your kind words to Logan, who looks after all our guests so well and will be delighted by your generous feedback.

We hope to see you again in Singapore very soon.

Warm regards,

Simon Hirst
General Manager
Raffles Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

I cannot thank the staff enough, I was made to feel like I was the only person staying in the hotel, the service was impeccable. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay, if you don't understand about the cost of such a premium hotel then please book somewhere else, yes it was expensive, but the service and the staff more than made the cost worthwhile.
I would recommend this to anyone who was visiting Singapore, as it is a must do, plus the Singapore slings we amazing and thoroughly refreshing.
I hope I get a chance to stay here again very soon, as my 40th Birthday was made amazing by all the staff at Raffles and the hotel grounds and history.

Room Tip: Please be aware, the hotel is expensive, but just put that aside and immerse yourself in the whole R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Tim-Holmes73

Greetings from Raffles Singapore.

What a lovely review, thank you. I am so pleased that Raffles Singapore was able to play such a big part in your 40th birthday celebrations. It is always delightful to read that our guests have been touched by Raffles and its 125 year story – an element of the hotel that is truly unique and special and what gives the hotel its atmosphere. And it is always lovely to read that guests have been impressed by our team and that they felt well looked after.

Do please come back and visit us soon.

Warm regards,

Simon Hirst
General Manager
Raffles Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

If you are going to Singapore, do yourself a favour and experience Raffles. It is amazing. It is a hotel with a soul, from the Colonial splendour of the architecture and amazing history to the unparalled service. We stayed in a Courtyard Suite which was spacious, comfortable and full of charm. The breakfasts each morning in the Tiffin room were to die for! The food was amazing and the staff warm and accommodating. A special mention for Marvin, who was very attentive, always had a smile on his face and genuinely seemed to enjoy his job.

We decided to split our time in Singapore between Raffles and Marina Bay Sands. It was with much regret that I said goodbye to Raffles and headed off to MBS. Take my advice and opt for Raffles. I spent my time at MBS pining for the personal attention and charm of Raffles.

Raffles may be pricey, but I've already forgotten the cost of our stay and am dreaming and planning for our next visit. Thanks for a truly memorable stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Hilltopbaby

Greetings from Raffles Singapore.

Thank you for your delightful review of Raffles following your recent visit. We are all truly delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much and that you appreciated the unique architecture and particular atmosphere that makes Raffles so special. (Even those of us who work here sometimes have to pinch ourselves to remind us that it is real!) Your comments about the staff and Marvin in particular have been passed on – he is a great favourite and deserves the praise he gets.

We look forward to seeing you back in Singapore very soon.

Warm regards,

Simon Hirst
General Manager
Raffles Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Raffles hotel is the very best hotel we have ever stayed at. We went there for a special treat for our 43rd wedding anniversary and we were treated like royalty. Our butler Siti was great and very helpful. We were given a lovely bottle of champagne to celebrate our anniversary which was very nice. The breakfast in the tiffin room was fantastic and we didn't have to wait for anything. We were very well looked after by all the very friendly staff who couldn't do enough for you.
Our Court yard suite was so nice with a king size bed and a lovely bathroom and the most lovely smell every time you went into our suite. We love Singapore and will be back and hope to stay at Raffles again. It was the best time of our lives and would recommend Raffles to anyone that wants a Quality five star hotel . Thank you Raffles for making our stay with you a special one and we will be back.

Room Tip: We found the court yard suite very quiet and would choose that again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Dave B

Greetings from Raffles Singapore.

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your stay for your 43rd wedding anniversary. We are delighted that Raffles was able to play a part in your celebrations and that you felt you were treated like royalty and it was the best time of your lives - an accolade indeed! We have passed on your kind comments to Siti and the staff - – all our staff pride themselves on ensuring that all of our guests are well looked after and are delighted to see your feedback.

We look forward to seeing you again soon in Singapore.

Warm regards,

Simon Hirst
General Manager
Raffles Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I had to stay at Raffles to find out why it is rated consistently highly in the face of its eye-watering prices. I was impressed. I'd walked round the public areas and eaten at one of the bars on previous occasions, so I also wondered if the number of casual visitors would detract from the experience of staying at the hotel. Not at all. The courtyard suite we stayed in was completely separate from the public areas, and actually felt tranquil - quite remarkable in the middle of Singapore. The whole hotel has such an air of history and opulence without being at all stuffy or pretentious. The staff are smoothly efficient and friendly, and service is prompt. We arrived at 9.00am from an international flight, but our room was available immediately which was much appreciated. The personal butler took some getting used to - no tea making facilities in the room, so we had to ring for refreshments. The suite was lovely, with old-style but quality furnishings, and I had no issue with the standard of the bathroom at all. I think a more contemporary fitout would detract from the period feel, and would quickly date.

So, in summary, I'm a Raffles convert. My husband, who was sceptical about staying here, said as we were leaving, 'I think we'll be back'!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear maxie88

Greetings from Raffles Singapore.

Thank you for your delightful review of Raffles – I am so pleased that you are a convert and that you may be back soon! Many of our guests comment on how tranquil Raffles is – indeed we like to think of it as an oasis, so it is good to hear that you appreciated how remarkably calm the hotel and gardens are, despite being right in the heart of Singapore. I was also delighted to read your comments that you felt that we have a balance between history and opulence without being stuffy or pretentious. We do feel we are the keepers of the hotel’s 125 year history, but that we also have a responsibility to keep it fresh and ready for the next chapter.

We look forward to seeing you both back here before too long.

Warm regards,

Simon Hirst
General Manager
Raffles Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This was our first time staying at Raffles Hotel and every expectation was met and surpassed.

I selected Raffles on the basis of TripAdviser reviews and of course because this hotel is so essentially linked to the history of Singapore. Our three day stay was just perfect from the moment we checked in until we had to say a sad farewell on our departure. It was amazing how much we were made to feel welcomed in the hotel from all the staff and with its colonial charm it really did make for a memorable experience.

We stayed in a Courtyard Suite and it was excellent. Very spacious room, quiet, cool, comfortable king size bed and a very well appointed bathroom. OK, so the room did not have the latest model TV but, c'mon seriously, if you are holidaying in Singapore and you have time to be sitting in front of the "idiot box" then maybe you should think about your priorities. Surely the Raffles "experience" is all about staying in such a famous hotel and exploring the beautifully maintained grounds, all three floors of little balconies and anterooms, the pool area, the bars and dining rooms, etc ... and that's just the hotel! Then there are the adjacent bars, shopping areas and sights and sounds of wonderful Singapore to explore. To be honest we didn't feel the need to look at TV once and with very good internet facilities in the hotel you don't need to anyway.

We had breakfast each morning in the Tiffin Room, drinks in the Writers Bar and the Long Bar, dinner in the Tiffin Room (Northern Indian fare - excellent) and everything was perfect.

By way of contrast, after we left Raffles we went travelling further afield but then returned to Singapore and stayed one night at Marina Bay Sands to experience another top class hotel - I suppose at the other end of the spectrum. Whilst we really enjoyed that experience and it is trully an amazing hotel with excellent facilities and "that" infinity pool, if I had my choice of hotels in Singapore I would always stay at Raffles. Why?, because of the undeniable history and grandeur of the hotel, but more importantly because we really were made to feel at home there in a very personal way.

PS. We especially commend Marvin who looked after us for breakfast in the Tiffin Room each morning. He was very professional, friendly and attentive, and he demonstrated a real flair and enjoyment in looking after us. Thank you "marvellous" Marvin!

Raffles Hotel is it for us.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Nick S

Greetings from Raffles Singapore.

Thank you for your lovely review of Raffles following your recent three day stay. I am delighted to read that the whole experience was perfect – and that your only sadness was having to leave. Your kind words about the staff have been passed on: it really matters to them that every guest is made to feel really welcome and relaxed.

We are very fortunate to have such an extraordinary heritage building, with large gardens, that are full of atmosphere and stories gathered over the last 125 years – truly irreplaceable. But , as you say, it is the individual staff members that make the experience really memorable. So it is great to hear about Marvin in the Tiffin Room looking after you so well – it is people like him that personify the Raffles spirit – and what we like to call “emotional luxury” – which goes a step beyond mere physical luxury.

We do hope to see you back again very soon.

Warm regards,

Simon Hirst
General Manager
Raffles Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Raffles Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffles Hotel Singapore

Address: 1 Beach Road, Singapore 189673, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#3 Family Hotel in Singapore
#3 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#4 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#5 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Raffles Hotel Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Raffles Hotel is one of Singapore's most graceful landmarks. More legend than hotel, this luxury Singapore hotel celebrates a tradition of unwavering service excellence spanning more than 125 years.Immortalized in the novels of Somerset Maugham and Rudyard Kipling, Raffles Hotel, Singapore’s colonial-styled architecture and lush tropical gardens exude an atmosphere of timeless elegance.Raffles Spa provides pampering relaxation while the boutiques of Raffles Hotel Arcade offer ample opportunities for retail therapy. Raffles Hotel Arcade houses a fine selection of elegant international brands including Tiffany and Co. and Louis Vuitton.Be it business or leisure, the charms of this luxurious Singapore hotel are enticing. 15 restaurants and bars beckon, including the Long Bar - home to the world renowned Singapore Sling; Tiffin Room, which continues the tradition of Afternoon Tea at Raffles and Bar & Billiard Room, well-known for its legend of "The Tiger under the Billiard Table."This luxurious Singapore hotel lies in the heart of the city, in close proximity to the banking and financial districts, Raffles City Convention Centre, Singapore International Convention and Exhibition Centre (SICEC), as well as leisure attractions including the casino at Marina Bay; the cultural sights of Arab Street and Chinatown and shopping at Raffles City shopping mall and Orchard Road shopping belt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Raffles Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singapore Raffles Hotel
Raffles Singapore
Raffles Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Raffles Hotel Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.