We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really is as good as its reputation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Raffles Hotel Singapore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Raffles Hotel Singapore to your Saves list
Raffles Hotel Singapore
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Beach Road, Singapore 189673, Singapore   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
Aldershot
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Really is as good as its reputation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stayed for one night in a courtyard suite. The rooms are so different from other hotels being colonial and yet modern at the same time. It is a small hotel in comparison to many modern 5 star hotels but this allows them to do the extra touches. When we checked n they asked us where we were going next. We said Kuala Lumpur, and when our luggage was brought to the room, so was a street map of singapore and another of Kuala Lumpur!

In the long bar, you can show your key and they will find you a table, and by the time the waiter comes, he will have looked up your name, and will remember it the next day as well.

The whole experience is so personal, and the pool area is just a hidden gem where you can sit and have a drink in almost private settings

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas_M1887, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Greetings from Raffles Singapore. I am delighted that you had a wonderful time during your stay with us and you found that Raffles Singapore lives up to its reputation after 125 years. It is always a joy to read that guests have enjoyed every aspect of their time from being greeted at the door to relaxing by the pool or having a cocktail in the Long Bar and. Our staff prides themselves on addressing each of our guests by name and I am thrilled that this has been acknowledged.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Meier
Vice President Operations
Raffles Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,060 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,571
    325
    97
    41
    26
See reviews for
353
1,014
156
229
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

My family and I stayed at The Raffles Hotel to celebrate father's day. The staff services were impeccable paying close attention to every detail and very friendly with my son.

The hotel welcomed us with a beautiful letter and there was a lovely Kodomo Toiletry pack for my son to use. As my son is a very curious boy he immediately found above the mini bar some M&Ms and gummies both packed in a nicely little jar. He was very happy and excited with all his treasures! How delightful!

Room service was great, our butler for that day came in to introduce herself, she was brilliant and very friendly too! Our room was a very big courtyard suite. The beds and pillows were very comfortable. It was a joy to sleep in!

Oh and let's not forget that the Singapore Sling is not to be missed, it is a must!

The breakfast was at the Tiffin Room restaurant and the food was super yummy. The buffet selection was huge with also a menu choice.

The outside area around The Raffles Hotel is a must walk. There are many garden courtyards, each surrounded by arcaded walkways, and many of the walkways are lined with shops.

I would highly recommend The Raffles Hotel to anyone traveling to Singapore with children. They are very child friendly. The hotel is in a well-located area, and very comfortable, close to nearby attractions and other amenities. It was worth staying at The Raffles Hotel and we had a wonderful Father's Day experience there! The Raffles Hotel is indeed a very charming and elegant hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas_M1887, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Greetings from Raffles Singapore. Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your family’s recent stay at Raffles Singapore. We are thrilled that you chose to celebrate Father’s Day with us, and that the welcome amenities, room service and your butler all added positively to the experience.

I am so pleased you found Raffles to be the perfect hotel for a family stay. We take great pride in the fact that we have been welcoming generations of families over the years, Grandparents introducing their children, and their children introducing the next generation. So it was especially good to hear about your happy Father’s Day.

From all of us at the Raffles family, we hope that your family will return before too long.

Kind regards,

Thomas Meier
Vice President Operations
Raffles Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I have always dreamed of staying here and the experience was first class all the way. Thank you for an amazing holiday, Staff were brilliant, rooms were magnificent and the atmosphere was just superb.

Room Tip: Book for High Tea when you book your room. It can be difficult to get in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas_M1887, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Greetings from Raffles Singapore. Thank you so much for your wonderful review of your recent stay with us. We are thrilled that Raffles Singapore lived up to expectations and that you found the staff to be brilliant. I have passed on your kind comments. After 125 years, expectations are very high and we work very hard to meet them - so your feedback is much appreciated.

We hope to welcome you back before too long.

Kind regards,

Thomas Meier
Vice President Operations
Raffles Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Raffle in Singapore is one of my favorite hotel .
Stunning hotel with fantastic service and impeccable Singapore Sling served at Long Bar!
My suite was cool and comfortable!
The only good choice in Singapore!
Outstanding!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas_M1887, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Greetings from Raffles Singapore. Thank you so much for posting such a favourable review on TripAdvisor, and for saying that Raffles Singapore is one of your favourite hotels and the only good choice in Singapore – we are delighted. I am glad you found the service to be fantastic and excellent, every member of our staff strives hard to be exceptional and to look after their guests no matter what they need.

We are thrilled that you would recommend a stay at Raffles and we hope to welcome back before too long.

Kind regards,

Thomas Meier
Vice President Operations
Raffles Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Stunning hotel with excellent service. The hotel itself is very beautiful and all the staff are very friendly and know how to make everyone feel special. The gym, pool etc aren't the best but the rest of the hotel makes up for it. A great experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas_M1887, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Greetings from Raffles Singapore. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Raffles Singapore, and you found the service to be excellent, and the hotel beautiful. We are very lucky to have a 125 year old iconic hotel, that we are very proud to be the guardians of. I have passed on your kind comments to the staff, good feedback is always much appreciated.

I hope we see you back at Raffles Singapore, hopefully in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Thomas Meier
Vice President Operations
Raffles Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lismore, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Raffles was first class from go to whoa. I had read some negative reviews, so was a little apprehensive that the big spend might not be worth it. This was old style hospitality at it's best. Stunning rooms ( they don't have flat screen TVs, but I was not at Raffles to watch the TV), and impeccable service. I loved that we had a parlour, as well as a huge room with two queen beds, and a bathroom as big as some hotel rooms I've seen. Eating in the Tiffin room made me feel like I had fallen into a novel. If you want to do ONE beyond the ordinary thing in your travelling life, pick this! Do not book Raffles if you are after shiny, new, state of the art. Do book it if you are after an experience you will never forget.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas_M1887, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Greetings from Raffles Singapore. I am delighted that your loved your recent stay at Raffles. After 125 years we certainly have a lot to live up to, and we work very hard to honour that tradition, and make sure that every guest leaves with good memories- in fact we like to call this “emotional luxury” - as an addition to the traditional luxury of good service and wonderful physical surroundings.

We are thrilled that you appreciated Raffles for what it is – an icon that is still as relevant today as it was when it first opened in 1887 – and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Meier
Vice President Operations
Raffles Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

A peaceful, exquisite piece of architecture in the centre of bustling Singapore. From it's sweeping gravel entrance with the tall, friendly doorman to your own suite this is like walking through a history book. The timeless elegance and open spaces with contrasting marble and dark wood transports you through an era of elegance and a sense of being at the centre of some of historys most famous moments in the East. A visit to the Long Bar is a must and a Singapore Sling (or two!) an experience not to be missed. The decor and buzz of this bar a complete contrast to the peaceful corridors and grandeur of the rest of the hotel. My most memorable experience here? Reading the Pillow Menu! No detail too small for your comfort. Our suite was cool, comfortable and in contrast to the City roundabout it - an oasis of calm and quiet. Perfect.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas_M1887, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Greetings from Raffles Singapore. Thank you for your delightful review. From your words, it seems that you certainly understood all that Raffles stands for and how unique the building, the gardens, the spaces and the furniture in the hotel are, and how lucky we are to be able to experience them after 125 years. I was especially gratified to hear you describe Raffles as an oasis, as that is part of our philosophy and the feeling that staff try to provide every day.

Kind regards,

Thomas Meier
Vice President Operations
Raffles Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Raffles Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffles Hotel Singapore

Address: 1 Beach Road, Singapore 189673, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#3 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#4 Family Hotel in Singapore
#4 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#5 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Raffles Hotel Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Raffles Hotel is one of Singapore's most graceful landmarks. More legend than hotel, this luxury Singapore hotel celebrates a tradition of unwavering service excellence spanning more than 125 years.Immortalized in the novels of Somerset Maugham and Rudyard Kipling, Raffles Hotel, Singapore’s colonial-styled architecture and lush tropical gardens exude an atmosphere of timeless elegance.Raffles Spa provides pampering relaxation while the boutiques of Raffles Hotel Arcade offer ample opportunities for retail therapy. Raffles Hotel Arcade houses a fine selection of elegant international brands including Tiffany and Co. and Louis Vuitton.Be it business or leisure, the charms of this luxurious Singapore hotel are enticing. 15 restaurants and bars beckon, including the Long Bar - home to the world renowned Singapore Sling; Tiffin Room, which continues the tradition of Afternoon Tea at Raffles and Bar & Billiard Room, well-known for its legend of "The Tiger under the Billiard Table."This luxurious Singapore hotel lies in the heart of the city, in close proximity to the banking and financial districts, Raffles City Convention Centre, Singapore International Convention and Exhibition Centre (SICEC), as well as leisure attractions including the casino at Marina Bay; the cultural sights of Arab Street and Chinatown and shopping at Raffles City shopping mall and Orchard Road shopping belt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Raffles Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singapore Raffles Hotel
Raffles Singapore
Raffles Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Raffles Hotel Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.