We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything and more (even with kids!)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Raffles Hotel Singapore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Raffles Hotel Singapore to your Saves list
Raffles Hotel Singapore
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Beach Road, Singapore 189673, Singapore   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Suite with Credit Offer
Ranked #3 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Everything and more (even with kids!)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

A fantastic 3 day escape, great service with atmosphere and staff and a grand old hotel that genuinely accommodated two small kids. Rooms were well set up, nice old world charm that includes modern touches that are tucked away. As expected the hotel is in the heart of Singapore and an easy walk to many places to eat and shop. Activities included the botanic gardens, the zoo and "duck" tours - all of which the concierge assisted with.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre J, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Greetings from Raffles Hotel Singapore!

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I am glad you chose the Grande Dame for a stay with your children – they must have enjoyed the great variety of activities in Singapore. We look forward to your next visit and hope to show you even more of the child-friendly programs in town.

Kind regards,

Pierre Jochem
General Manager Raffles Hotel Singapore & Regional Vice President, Operations, Asia Pacific, Raffles Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,344
    268
    79
    39
    24
See reviews for
285
860
134
194
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed for one night breaking up flights. One in the courtyards you can almost forget you are in the middle of a busy city.

A great place to stay, and although it is expensive we thought it was money well spent.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre J, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Greetings from Raffles Hotel Singapore!

Thank you for your feedback, I am glad you enjoyed the one night stay with us and look forward to your next visit to enjoy our hotel a little bit longer.

Kind regards,

Pierre Jochem
General Manager Raffles Hotel Singapore & Regional Vice President, Operations, Asia Pacific, Raffles Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We kickstarted our honeymoon at the iconic Raffles Hotel in Singapore, and I must say that this hotel stay had exceeded my expectations.

First, I would start with the service that we've encountered at the hotel. Three days prior to check-in, the hotel staff had contacted me to follow-up on my online booking form and conscientiously taken note of the special request. Check-in was prompt and efficient, with a complimentary bottle of champagne waiting for us in the room. We received a complimentary late check-out as well, which was greatly appreciated as we didn't have to rush.

Overall, we've experienced a consistent high level of service from the staff. Greatly appreciate the warm and friendly check-in manager as well as the butler (superbly patient with all our requests and came by to our room at least 10 times).

Our courtyard suite was overlooking a private garden, so it was very quiet. Appreciated the separate living room and table for us to have our meals or to entertain guests, without intruding on the privacy of the master bedroom.To ensure the privacy of the guests, there was even a private gate entrance where only the hotel residents would have access to.

The bedroom and bathroom were huge (comparable to Peninsula Tokyo in terms of the size). Each time I see a clean and spacious bathroom in a hotel, it goes up a few notches in favorability already (the bathroom is equipped with a decent sized bath-tub and a separate shower stall, his/her sink). In the bathroom, there's an additional door to separate the wash basins with the shower facilities and toilet.

Location wise of the hotel - I would say that it is within walking distance to public transport (MRT) and a large shopping mall (Raffles City - where there are lots of eateries as well). It is also a short cab-ride away to Orchard Road (major shopping belt) or to the nearby attractions (Singapore Flyer, Esplanade Mall, Marina Bay Sands, museums).

Room Tip: Ask for the courtyard suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre J, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Greetings from Raffles Hotel Singapore!

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your honeymoon, we are honored to make such a memorable holiday comfortable. I am happy to read that it is the service that made your overall experience special. It is indeed our mission to serve our guests with a heartfelt service that is caring and sincere.

I wish you all the best for your marriage and look forward to having you again with us.

Kind regards,

Pierre Jochem
General Manager Raffles Hotel Singapore & Regional Vice President, Operations, Asia Pacific, Raffles Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I have stayed at the Raffles a few times over the last 10 years and it is unique! It is my favourite hotel in the world!
There have been small changes over the time, not always for the best, for example I miss the magnificent flower arrangement which graced the foyer and although the breakfast is not quite as good as previously I would still rate it as the best buffet breakfast I have had.
The courtyard suites are majestic, with separate dining room / sitting room which is wonderful to seat guests without having to view the bedroom.
The reception service was superb, my luggage was misplaced by an airline and the reception staff took a copy of the lost luggage receipt and every hour they informed me of the progress by phone until 23:00 then by a typed slip under the door until my luggage was located. The butler was always very helpful as was the sommelier.
If there is one small issue it would be the maintenance, as a few small issues were evident, such as a leaky tap into the cistern and the tile grout in the bathroom could do with replacing, but really these are only minor points.

Room Tip: Get a courtyard suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre J, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Greetings from Raffles Hotel Singapore!

Many thanks for your loyalty to stay with us for a decade over and over again. I appreciate your comments about the flower arrangement and the breakfast as well as the general maintenance of the hotel. We try to maintain the quality and old charm of the hotel with smaller renovations and change in decoration and restaurant offer to keep it fresh and new.

We are happy to have you among our returning clients and look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Pierre Jochem
General Manager Raffles Hotel Singapore & Regional Vice President, Operations, Asia Pacific, Raffles Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizaspik
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed two nights at Raffles in Singapore for our wedding anniversary. It was amazing, we got a free upgrae to a Courtyard Suite which was beautiful and huge. Such high ceilings, everything so authentic, love it. Would go back time and time again. Totally worth the money.

Room Tip: Courtyard Suite was huge with seperate dining and seating area
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre J, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Greetings from Raffles Hotel Singapore!

Thank you for choosing our hotel to celebrate you wedding anniversary, I am pleased to hear that the team could make you feel pampered and that you were satisfied with the Courtyard Suite.

I look forward to welcoming you again - be it for a special occasion or a simple stopover.

Wishing you a merry festive season and a healthy and happy New Year!

Kind regards,

Pierre Jochem
General Manager Raffles Hotel Singapore & Regional Vice President, Operations, Asia Pacific, Raffles Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

Quite simply - the best hotel I have ever stayed at. Everything is just a delight! William and Kate have stayed here recently and I am sure they could not have been treated any better. We felt like royalty too. Fabulous.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre J, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Greetings from Raffles Hotel Singapore!

Thank you for your kind review, I am happy to hear that you felt like royalty. Yes, we have guests from all over the world, some of them famous and noble but we treat everybody with the same respect and care so as to make them feel home away from home.

Thank you for staying with us, we hope to see you soon again.

Kind regards,
Pierre Jochem
General Manager Raffles Hotel Singapore & Regional Vice President, Operations, Asia Pacific, Raffles Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We had a short staycation at Raffles Hotel to celebrate our wedding anniversary. And we had a great time. The check-in process was smooth, welcome service was very efficient and we were welcomed in the room with Champagne - warm gestures like these made our visit very memorable. The room was in first class condition & same goes for all hotel facilities. The service staff was pleasent and happy to help with our requests. All in all, we had a great time. On the question of cost - yes, this is a very expensive hotel but the central location, the magnificent building and the attentive staff, makes for a great stay. I would consider staying at Raffles Hotel again, to celebrate another special occasion.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre J, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Greetings from Raffles Hotel Singapore!

Thank you for staying with us for your wedding anniversary. Let me congratulate to the happy occasion and thank you for your appreciation of our services.

Raffles Hotel Singapore is a popular venue for special occasions with people from Singapore and abroad alike. Be it a proposal, a wedding, an anniversary, vow renewal, birthday or retirement party, we are happy to create bespoke events and make these important moments unforgettable.

Myself and the entire team looks forward to seeing you again – whether it is a small or a big occasion.

Kind regards,

Pierre Jochem
General Manager Raffles Hotel Singapore & Regional Vice President, Operations, Asia Pacific, Raffles Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Raffles Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffles Hotel Singapore

Address: 1 Beach Road, Singapore 189673, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#3 Family Hotel in Singapore
#3 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#4 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#5 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Raffles Hotel Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Raffles Hotel is one of Singapore's most graceful landmarks. More legend than hotel, this luxury Singapore hotel celebrates a tradition of unwavering service excellence spanning more than 125 years.Immortalized in the novels of Somerset Maugham and Rudyard Kipling, Raffles Hotel, Singapore’s colonial-styled architecture and lush tropical gardens exude an atmosphere of timeless elegance.Raffles Spa provides pampering relaxation while the boutiques of Raffles Hotel Arcade offer ample opportunities for retail therapy. Raffles Hotel Arcade houses a fine selection of elegant international brands including Tiffany and Co. and Louis Vuitton.Be it business or leisure, the charms of this luxurious Singapore hotel are enticing. 15 restaurants and bars beckon, including the Long Bar - home to the world renowned Singapore Sling; Tiffin Room, which continues the tradition of Afternoon Tea at Raffles and Bar & Billiard Room, well-known for its legend of "The Tiger under the Billiard Table."This luxurious Singapore hotel lies in the heart of the city, in close proximity to the banking and financial districts, Raffles City Convention Centre, Singapore International Convention and Exhibition Centre (SICEC), as well as leisure attractions including the casino at Marina Bay; the cultural sights of Arab Street and Chinatown and shopping at Raffles City shopping mall and Orchard Road shopping belt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Raffles Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singapore Raffles Hotel
Raffles Singapore
Raffles Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Raffles Hotel Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.