We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but worth the experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Raffles Hotel Singapore

Save Saved
You added Raffles Hotel Singapore to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Raffles Hotel Singapore
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Beach Road, Singapore 189673, Singapore   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
25% Off All Room Types
Ranked #3 of 293 Hotels in Singapore
Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Expensive but worth the experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We had a short staycation at Raffles Hotel to celebrate our wedding anniversary. And we had a great time. The check-in process was smooth, welcome service was very efficient and we were welcomed in the room with Champagne - warm gestures like these made our visit very memorable. The room was in first class condition & same goes for all hotel facilities. The service staff was pleasent and happy to help with our requests. All in all, we had a great time. On the question of cost - yes, this is a very expensive hotel but the central location, the magnificent building and the attentive staff, makes for a great stay. I would consider staying at Raffles Hotel again, to celebrate another special occasion.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre J, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Greetings from Raffles Hotel Singapore!

Thank you for staying with us for your wedding anniversary. Let me congratulate to the happy occasion and thank you for your appreciation of our services.

Raffles Hotel Singapore is a popular venue for special occasions with people from Singapore and abroad alike. Be it a proposal, a wedding, an anniversary, vow renewal, birthday or retirement party, we are happy to create bespoke events and make these important moments unforgettable.

Myself and the entire team looks forward to seeing you again – whether it is a small or a big occasion.

Kind regards,

Pierre Jochem
General Manager Raffles Hotel Singapore & Regional Vice President, Operations, Asia Pacific, Raffles Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,227
    225
    74
    37
    17
See reviews for
253
771
125
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Okay, let's get the issue of how much it costs out of the way. Yes, it is expensive but consider this: it is a magnificent building and gardens and considerable upkeep is required; the service is impeccable as you would expect; the rooms and service areas are elegantly colonial and certainly contribute to the overall experience. So in a way you are helping to conserve a grand building and tradition by staying there. With no disrespect to other hotel chains, we don't feel that these factors are at play when we stay elsewhere.

Raffles is located near an MRT station and that makes it easy to get around.

Now, this was our first stay and as we said, it was as we expected. We stayed for 3 nights in the JRudyard Kipling room and it was quiet, spacious and cool. The bed was firm and we had good sleeps. The bathroom was spacious with a bath and shower - but the shower did spill water onto the floor (so points off for that). Fittings throughout the room, as with the hotel, were older or reproduced to mainatin aesthetic consistency. The wifi was stable and strong. The TV was fine although we didn't use it. The little drawing room was delightful.

We didn't dine in the main restaurants but had supper in the Long Bar and room service. Yes, it was expensive but this is common throughout Singapore. The food was excellent and the service was prompt and efficient. We had drinks in the Writer's Bar and this was enjoyable, sitting watching people. Breakfast was excellent with quality products and efficient service. C thinks that the coffee is still weak but that is a personal view.

We used the Spa for 2 massages and a facial - which were expensive and we'd probably choose otherwise next time. The pool was lovely.

Staying here can be a bit intimidating as it does have a standard to maintain and the sign "Residents Only" was taken seriously by a guard when C walked in alone one afternoon. C was asked if he could be "helped", which was a polite way of saying, "Are you sure you are staying here?" It wasn't offensive but it reminded us that they monitor their "residents". But then again, when people call you by your name at every opportunity, the personal attention is equally nice.

One "problem" is that the Raffles Hotel complex is a warren of passages and buildings and so it is easy to get lost. The fact you cannot access the Long Bar directly from the Hotel is also a nuisance.

Was it worth it? Yes. Would we stay here again? Yes.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre J, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Greetings from Raffles Hotel Singapore!

Thank you for your detailed review of the hotel facilities and the service. It is a pleasure to hear that your first stay was positive and that you would return again.

The Personality Suites are a beautiful choice to immerse yourself in the aura of one of the 12 famous people who have spent long time at the hotel and got sometimes their inspiration by the ambience.

I apologize if your partner was not recognized by the doorman, we ask for the name of people entering the lobby to ensure the privacy of our guests. I also understand that the numerous alleys & corridors can make people feel lost when they come for the first time. We are currently working on a map that we can hand out to guests to make the orientation easier.

I wish you a merry holiday season and look forward to the occasion of your next visit.

Kind regards,

Pierre Jochem
General Manager Raffles Hotel Singapore & Regional Vice President, Operations, Asia Pacific, Raffles Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed at the Raffles Singapore during our christmas holidays in Singapore. We were immediately impressed by the beauty and heritage of this exceptional property.

The Staff is extremely well trained. They managed to make us feel very welcome. Every demand was perfectly executed. But still you never got that artificial feeling you can get in top class hotels.

We saw Pierre every day all around the property during our stay. At first we thought he was a special trainee of some sort because he was participating in everything that was going on at the hotel. To our embarrassment we asked him whether he was a trainee at the hotel. After he replied in a very friendly way that he was in fact the manager, we apologized for our misconception. Perhaps Pierre could have introduced himself to us at the beginning of our stay, so we could have avoided this embarrassment for all of us altogether.

During our stay we also participated at the New Years Eve party. It was a truly memorable night! My only complaint was about the Music. Although the DJ was a very good indeed. At this level of luxury they could have hired a Jazz- or Big Band for the whole night to make everything more glamorous and classy. In my opinion nothing beats live music.

Im looking forward to be staying at the Raffles hotel Singapore again. Thank you!

Room Tip: The palm court suites offer more privacy than the courtyard suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre J, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Greetings from Raffles Hotel Singapore!

Thank you for staying with us during the past Festive Season and celebrating New Year’s Eve at the Grande Dame. I am pleased to read that the team could make you feel welcome & cared for and took note of your music preference during the Gala evening.

Please do not worry about the misunderstanding when we met. Usually our trainees are younger people but indeed I also walk around the hotel a lot to follow the daily events. Unfortunately I do not have the possibility to meet every single guest in person but I am happy that I could make your acquaintance and look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Pierre Jochem
General Manager Raffles Hotel Singapore & Regional Vice President, Operations, Asia Pacific, Raffles Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stay there for one night as its a "wanting to try" thing and on transist to Australia. Cannot deny the great service and quality for everything. Guess its the experience but one night was a little too short to have a full experience.
Love the lanscape around everywhere and certainly the ambience. Try the Singapore Sling and had the nostalgic feel when drinking it. May consider to stay again if not for the high expenses required for staying here. Havng stayed at quite a few Hotels in Singapore, more likely than not we can have an excellent experience too but at half the price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre J, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Greetings from Raffles Hotel Singapore!

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your quick stopover to Australia. Indeed, a one-night stay is short to explore that numerous restaurants, facilities and historic corners of the hotel but I am glad that the first experience was positive.

I also noted your comments regarding the price: being a premium hotel with unique history and top-quality service, our prices are high. We have various suite packages and regular promotions that can make the experience pleasant and more interesting from a financial perspective.

I hope to have you back again at Raffles Hotel Singapore, maybe with one of the suite packages.

Kind regards,

Pierre Jochem
General Manager Raffles Hotel Singapore & Regional Vice President, Operations, Asia Pacific, Raffles Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Our five night stay at Raffles is one to remember...friendly, attentive, professional staff, beautiful surroundings, excellent food and central location....we couldn't have asked for any more.
A perfect hotel for our 25th wedding anniversary ...a truly memorable occasion. The champagne gift was a lovely gesture from staff.
A stay worth having in December when the hotel is decorated so beautifully both inside and out. A hotel worth every penny!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre J, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Greetings from Raffles Hotel Singapore!

Many thanks for booking our hotel for a longer stay and taking the time to give your opinion.

Congratulations to your 25th wedding anniversary, this is truly an occasion that deserves to be celebrated and I am happy that it’s the atmosphere & service of the Grande Dame that appealed to you. Indeed, the historic décor and the festive décor around Christmas time give a very special feel to the place.

Wishing you a wonderful festive season and I look forward to welcoming you again among our guests.

Kind regards,

Pierre Jochem
General Manager Raffles Hotel Singapore & Regional Vice President, Operations, Asia Pacific, Raffles Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

It's obviously incredibly expensive, but the Raffles remains the best hotel I have ever stayed in.

The combination of a nostalgic atmosphere with exceptional service is the reason I save my pennies to stay there whenever I visit Singapore, and I'll always have fond memories of the pianist in the lobby lounge playing Noel Coward's "I'll See You Again".

On both of my visits we stayed in the courtyard personality suites, with their antique furniture, creaky brass fittings and shuttered breakfast parlours.

Simply unforgettable.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre J, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Greetings from Raffles Hotel Singapore!

Thank you for returning to the Grande Dame for the 2nd time already. We strive to differentiate ourselves through exceptional service and aim to be the choice of hotel for our guests when visiting Singapore.

Thank you for your appreciation of the nostalgic feel and the pianist, we look forward to having you with us again.

Kind regards,

Pierre Jochem
General Manager Raffles Hotel Singapore & Regional Vice President, Operations, Asia Pacific, Raffles Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Although ridiculously expensive, a stay a Raffles is worth it. The food and service is top drawer. The manager is personally assisting me with an international car rental and the fellow beside me is arranging for his private jet. The rooms are large, quiet and appointed with every luxury. Some of the marble in the bathroom needs to be replaced but all else was excellent. We will be back

Room Tip: Our room was 1st floor, lovely court yard opening on to a spacious landing
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre J, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Greetings from Raffles Hotel Singapore!

Thank you for your review, I am pleased to read that we could make you feel pampered which is our top objective with every guest. Thank you for your appreciation of the service and the food in our restaurants and please be assured that we took note of your comments regarding the bathroom tiles.

I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Pierre Jochem
General Manager Raffles Hotel Singapore & Regional Vice President, Operations, Asia Pacific, Raffles Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Raffles Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffles Hotel Singapore

Address: 1 Beach Road, Singapore 189673, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#1 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#3 Family Hotel in Singapore
#3 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#4 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Raffles Hotel Singapore 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Raffles Hotel is one of Singapore's most graceful landmarks. More legend than hotel, this luxury Singapore hotel celebrates a tradition of unwavering service excellence spanning more than 125 years.Immortalized in the novels of Somerset Maugham and Rudyard Kipling, Raffles Hotel, Singapore’s colonial-styled architecture and lush tropical gardens exude an atmosphere of timeless elegance.Raffles Spa provides pampering relaxation while the boutiques of Raffles Hotel Arcade offer ample opportunities for retail therapy. Raffles Hotel Arcade houses a fine selection of elegant international brands including Tiffany and Co. and Louis Vuitton.Be it business or leisure, the charms of this luxurious Singapore hotel are enticing. 15 restaurants and bars beckon, including the Long Bar - home to the world renowned Singapore Sling; Tiffin Room, which continues the tradition of Afternoon Tea at Raffles and Bar & Billiard Room, well-known for its legend of "The Tiger under the Billiard Table."This luxurious Singapore hotel lies in the heart of the city, in close proximity to the banking and financial districts, Raffles City Convention Centre, Singapore International Convention and Exhibition Centre (SICEC), as well as leisure attractions including the casino at Marina Bay; the cultural sights of Arab Street and Chinatown and shopping at Raffles City shopping mall and Orchard Road shopping belt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Raffles Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singapore Raffles Hotel
Raffles Singapore
Raffles Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Raffles Hotel Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.