We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world elegance” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Raffles Hotel Singapore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Raffles Hotel Singapore to your Saves list
Raffles Hotel Singapore
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Beach Road, Singapore 189673, Singapore   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Suite with Credit Offer
Ranked #3 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Old world elegance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

If old world elegance is for you, this is the place to be. Traditional in every way, expensive but then again, I may not be back in Singapore soon. The service is excellent and staff well trained. Publick areas are "public" and you will be asked if you are a guest at the hotel every time you set your foot inside. This is to protect your privacy. Singapore Sling is a must!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre J, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Greetings from Raffles Hotel Singapore!

I am glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us. We are grateful for your appreciation of our service and the Singapore Sling and look forward to welcoming you soon again.

Kind regards,

Pierre Jochem,
General Manager Raffles Hotel Singapore & Regional Vice President, Operations, Asia Pacific, Raffles Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,342
    266
    79
    39
    24
See reviews for
283
859
134
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This is an old traditional hotel and the service is very good. We were a little put off being asked everytime we returned if we were a guest at the hotel. We were on a package and we found it challenging to find out exactly what we had paid for and had to continually enquire and chase it up. We like to leave our own gratuity and didn't like having it added to the account whether we were happy with the service or not. It's an icon of Singapore but I wouldn't stay again. If you are on a package make sure you ask exactly what's included when you check in.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre J, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Greetings from Raffles Hotel Singapore!

Thank you for sharing your experience with us, I regret to learn about the challenges during your stay regarding the package you have booked. This is not the standard we we wish to adhere and I have shared this case with the team to be better informed about our suite packages and included services. Thank you for the constructive feedback which should help us to improve our service quality.

Kind regards,
Pierre Jochem,
General Manager Raffles Hotel Singapore & Regional Vice President, Operations, Asia Pacific, Raffles Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Well you've got to remember this is one of the most famous hotels in the world and you turn up with a load of expectations - and the hotel lives up to them all really. Lovely buildings, gardens and rooms, fantastic service without servility and a personal butler to sort out anything you need.
Yes it's expensive but I thought it was worth every cent. Make sure you walk around the public areas which are only open to guests they have a great feel and the galley of famous guests is worth a look. 4 shots of William and Kate this month but I expect they will be edited down over time. The Long Bar wasn't really very lively on Sunday night but certainly has style/ atmosphere. If you want to eat local food - dim sum lakhsa etc- walk up the street to local cafes and get better food for 1/10 of the price but the breakfast was brilliant and main restaurants looked good though I did not try all 14

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre J, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Greetings from Raffles Hotel Singapore!

Thank you for taking your time to post the kind comments about your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate the positive feedback about the hotel, the butler service and the breakfast and will share it with the team. Sincerely look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Pierre Jochem,
General Manager Raffles Hotel Singapore & Regional Vice President, Operations, Asia Pacific, Raffles Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales Australia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed at raffles for 3 nights in september and what an absolute pleasure it was. We arrived early after a long flight. Our palm court suite was not quite ready as it was early but no problem. We were seated in a lovely lounge area and given tea and coffee. We were then escorted to our suite, everything was explained to us, room amenities, hotel facilities etc. OH how grand this place is. The furnishings, the toiletries, the service. Everyone should experience "Raffles" at least once in their lifetime. The customer service and attention to detail are just amazing. We were sitting outside our suite one afternoon reading the papers when a staff member came up to us and asked if we would like tea or coffee whilst reading the paper - just out of the blue and of course we found out later this was complimentary. That was just a tiny example of the fabulous customer service we obtained. Yes it's expensive, especially alcohol but hey this is truly bucket list stuff and not to be missed. Loved it and will be back some day.....

Room Tip: Can certainly recommend palm court suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre J, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Greetings from Raffles Hotel Singapore!

Thank you for taking your time to post the kind comments about your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate the positive feedback which has been shared with the team.

Thank you for having stayed with us and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Pierre Jochem,
General Manager Raffles Hotel Singapore & Regional Vice President, Operations, Asia Pacific, Raffles Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I LOVE Raffles. It's totally wonderful in every way. I stayed in a Personality Suite and enjoyed every moment. Unless you book the Sarkie Room or the President Suite, everything else is almost identical so don't bother booking a bigger room, they REALLY are almost all the same. This place is properly old, so expect the shower, bath, electric fan and even the bed to feel like something from the past. The gym is tiny but I love it nonetheless. It's a wonderfully charming hotel and worth visiting whenever you stay in Singapore. The service is impeccable and the pool is absolutely my favourite (top 5 swims of all time). I'm told that I can find no fault in old properties of this nature, and perhaps that's true, but if presidents and royalty choose Raffles, so should we all! I love Raffles :)

Room Tip: Book the Sarkie Room if you're loaded, if not, it makes no difference book any suite, they'r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre J, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Greetings from Raffles Hotel Singapore!

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your comments. We appreciate the positive feedback which shall go a long way to motivate the team to continue to deliver a high level of service.

Be it Royals or not, we always look forward to providing exceptional stays to our guests and hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you again..

Kind regards,

Pierre Jochem,
General Manager Raffles Hotel Singapore & Regional Vice President, Operations, Asia Pacific, Raffles Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Raffles lived up to all of my expectations. The service is impeccable, the food is classy and tasty, the rooms are stylish and well equipped. Obviously not for those who are on a budget, but certainly worth the money for those who can afford it. When in Singapore, stay at Raffles - if for nothing else, the experience and the chance see some of the old colonial style charm.

However: while the hotel staff is incredibly helpful and attentive, the open-for-public area, such as the Long Bar where everyone has a mandatory and expensive Singapore Sling, staff is just doing the bare minimum.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre J, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Greetings from Raffles Hotel Singapore!

Thank you for your valuable comments, we are grateful for your appreciation of the suites and the services provided by the team.

I am concerned to read your feedback relating to the Long bar and have conveyed your remark to the department head concerned.

Thank you for having chosen Raffles Hotel Singapore for your stay, I woul dbe delighted to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

Pierre Jochem,
General Manager Raffles Hotel Singapore & Regional Vice President, Operations, Asia Pacific, Raffles Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We spent two nights here in October 2012, for my wife's birthday. The hotel was exactly as we expected; old colonial charm, great customer service and impressive rooms.

The service was excellent, and in particular I should single out our butler, Abdullah. He was attentive and friendly without being overbearing. The room was great, very large with old fixtures and fittings. I suspect that the television was older than me, but this just adds to the ambience and appeal of the place. We particularly enjoyed sitting outside our room for afternoon tea, although would have preferred being on the second floor as the amount of shrubbery made it a little dark.

My only complaint is that the cooked breakfast we had was a little poor (slimy eggs, cold toast). Except for this, we didn't eat in the hotel.

We will be back to Singapore again, and could be tempted to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre J, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Greetings from Raffles Hotel Singapore!

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind comments about your recent stay at our hotel.

I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed by the breakfast and have shared your opinion with the Food & Beverage team.

It is a pleasure to hear that you nejoyed the rest of the stay, including the design of your suite and service from your personal butler.

Should you visit Singapore again, we would be very happy to have you at Raffles Hotel Singapore.

Kind regards,

Pierre Jochem,
General Manager Raffles Hotel Singapore & Regional Vice President, Operations, Asia Pacific, Raffles Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Raffles Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffles Hotel Singapore

Address: 1 Beach Road, Singapore 189673, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#3 Family Hotel in Singapore
#3 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#4 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#5 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Raffles Hotel Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Raffles Hotel is one of Singapore's most graceful landmarks. More legend than hotel, this luxury Singapore hotel celebrates a tradition of unwavering service excellence spanning more than 125 years.Immortalized in the novels of Somerset Maugham and Rudyard Kipling, Raffles Hotel, Singapore’s colonial-styled architecture and lush tropical gardens exude an atmosphere of timeless elegance.Raffles Spa provides pampering relaxation while the boutiques of Raffles Hotel Arcade offer ample opportunities for retail therapy. Raffles Hotel Arcade houses a fine selection of elegant international brands including Tiffany and Co. and Louis Vuitton.Be it business or leisure, the charms of this luxurious Singapore hotel are enticing. 15 restaurants and bars beckon, including the Long Bar - home to the world renowned Singapore Sling; Tiffin Room, which continues the tradition of Afternoon Tea at Raffles and Bar & Billiard Room, well-known for its legend of "The Tiger under the Billiard Table."This luxurious Singapore hotel lies in the heart of the city, in close proximity to the banking and financial districts, Raffles City Convention Centre, Singapore International Convention and Exhibition Centre (SICEC), as well as leisure attractions including the casino at Marina Bay; the cultural sights of Arab Street and Chinatown and shopping at Raffles City shopping mall and Orchard Road shopping belt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Raffles Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singapore Raffles Hotel
Raffles Singapore
Raffles Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Raffles Hotel Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.