We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good luxury hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Singapore

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Singapore to your Saves list
Fairmont Singapore
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   80 Bras Basah Rd, Singapore 189560, Singapore   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SEASONAL SAVER - 20%
Ranked #16 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Good luxury hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We stayed for a one night stopover. Easy taxi ride from Changi, great location next to Raffles Hotel above the shopping centre and next to MRT rail. Staff all very attentive and helpful, room really large and comfortable with a full width picture window providing stunning views over the marina area, excellent. Décor very modern and functional, felt ideal for business trip or short stay.

Room Tip: Request a room as high as possible facing south overlooking the marina for best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSingapore, Quality Manager at Fairmont Singapore, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear GastrodontUK,

It brings me great joy to read about your enjoyable stay with us and would like to reassure you that we will remain steadfast in our pursuit towards ensuring exceptional service standards.

Thank you for the many compliments and we can’t wait to welcome you back again!

Warm regards,
Yash Bhanage
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,646
    831
    196
    61
    35
See reviews for
583
900
201
757
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (605)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

It's been 4 months (and 2 vacations ago) since I stayed at the Fairmont Singapore. And I still miss it and think about the wonderful room we had.

We stayed here for 1 week in Nov 2013. We checked in at 1am in the middle of the night. Even at that hour, the staff was extremely courteous and helpful. We asked for a crib for my 1yr old son and it was delivered promptly after we got into our room. My son enjoyed the tall white crib with fresh linens. He also loved the view from our room on the 17th floor facing the pool. You could also see the streets and a view of the bay including the Merlion. He loved watching the cars driving around town and boats in the bay. Although we were facing the Marina Bay Sands, we couldn't see it because the another tower of the hotel was blocking our view. But we enjoyed the view regardless.

There was construction in the lobby late at night and on some floors below us during business hours. But the sound was so faint, it never bothered us at all. I had a white noise maker for my son's afternoon naps so not sure if the construction noise would have bothered him. But I did hear faint drilling on many afternoons during his nap.

The room was well appointed with a luxuriously comfortable bed. Remote controlled curtains covering the floor to ceiling windows across the span of our room. There was also a desk and a seating area which was handy for snack time with my son. The bathroom was spacious, modern and clean. And both the tub and separate shower were big enough for 2 people... which was handy with my son. The cleaning staff is also very friendly and helpful. On most days, when they noticed that we had a baby, they would leave extra bottled water for the baby.

The hotel pool is wonderful. My son and I went there every morning and there were usually people swimming laps in the deep pool. One of the pools had a shallow area that was perfect for kids. The pool area served breakfast that looked great but was a bit pricey so we opted to eat at restaurants outside the hotel in Raffles City Mall and surrounding area. There's just so many choices just a few steps away.

The location is excellent. From the lobby of the hotel, you can walk into Raffles City Mall or take an escalator down to the MRT. Almost everyday, I visited the Raffles City Mall lower floor where there were many great food options including bakeries and a market where we could get milk, fruit, and other snacks for the baby. Having such easy access to the Mall came in handy for pushing the jet-lagged baby on long walks in the stroller INSIDE in an air conditioned building. Everything in Raffles City Mall is a bit pricey. But it was very convenient to have it right below the hotel. We did find a food court on the top floor of the Mall with cheaper eats. Outside, it's a short walk to the Merlion and Clark Quay, but we weren't used to the high heat and humidity of Singapore so it wasn't a fun walk. Luckily, you can take the MRT to Orchard Rd and most destinations without having to step outside. And from the underground shopping/walk-way, you can walk to Suntec City Mall which is not as high-end but had many interesting food options also.

TIP for parents: Escalators are every where, but elevators are difficult to find around Singapore. This makes it complicated when your baby is in a stroller. Even walking from the hotel to the Merlion was difficult in a stroller because some of the streets cross-ways require going up/down escalators or stairs. So ask around for short-cuts and underground walk ways which might be an easier path. After a few days, I found underground walk ways from the hotel which were not on any more (even google maps). And when in doubt, it's just easier to take a taxi. The staff at the front of the hotel make it very easy to grab a taxi, even with a baby stroller in hand.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSingapore, Quality Manager at Fairmont Singapore, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear QLQ,

Your review was such a good read!

It is such a delight to hear about your recent stay and I really appreciate the many compliments you’ve mentioned about our hotel. I wish you ensure you that we will continue our pursuit for excellence in service and fulfill our service promise. Your compliments will definitely encourage us to continue seeking ways to enhance our guests’ experience to ensure a more memorable stay!

Thank you for taking the time to share the details of your stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Warm regards,
Yash Bhanage
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bo'ness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We stayed here for a week in mid February , our last stop on a 4 week trip. We had done quite a lot of research on hotels in Singapore and elected to book an Executive Club Room which gave us an Nespresso Coffee machine, access to Club Lounge with ‘free’ drinks and snacks 5pm to 8pm and ‘free’ Wi-Fi.

We left some luggage at the hotel, arranged by email just a few hours before hand. It was great to be waved off to the airport by the Concierge with a ‘looking forward to having you stay with us shortly’. A few days later and check-in at the Club Lounge (rather than the main foyer) was smooth and quick, with our previously stored luggage delivered to our room along with the rest of our belongings.

Initial room allocated had a city view rather than the Harbour one which we had hoped for. As soon as I asked for a change, this was done easily, and indeed our luggage all moved whilst we supped champagne in the Lounge. A tip here – if you’re not happy with a room – ask nicely and our experience is that the hotel will deal with your request well.

We really liked our room, great view, small balcony, fab bathroom and a most comfy bed. And able to have a good coffee before we headed to one of 3 options for breakfast ! With such a central location and right next to a Mall and the MRT, it was easy to get round Singapore though some time lying by the pool was also very enjoyable and peaceful !

We used the Lounge most evenings – it had a great selection of drinks which were served to you as well as hot and cold snacks which could easily suffice for an evening meal if you wished.

The Farimont is ‘twinned’ with both Raffles (which we didn’t visit) and Swissmotel. We loved the Equinox Lounge on the 70th Floor of the Swissmotel and being a guest at the Farimont helped us always get window seats! It was quite stunning to watch the sunset of the city, particularly whilst sipping ‘happy hour’ cocktails.

I would thoroughly recommend the hotel, we are sure we got great value for money, and would choose to go back there if/when we return to Singapore.

Room Tip: Harbour views are lovely, and the higher the better. You will get what you pay for so do your resea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSingapore, Quality Manager at Fairmont Singapore, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Jane,

It is such a delight to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and I sincerely thank you for choosing to stay with us! Your compliments such as the service and staff will only spur us to continue seeking ways to enhance our guests’ experience and continue our pursuit for excellence in service.

Thank you for choosing Fairmont Singapore and I would like to reassure you that we will uphold our mission to turn moments into memories for our guests. Looking forward to welcoming you back when you return to Singapore!

Warm regards,
Yash Bhanage
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Whether you take the SMRT or taxi from the airport... the location is the best thing about this place.

Directly beneath the hotel is City Hall SMRT making it a breeze to get to any of the major attractions in Singapore without even having to step outside. Being centrally located means you often do not even need to take the SMRT as most areas are within a short strolls distance. Also located under the hotel is a shopping mall and various eateries.

The rooms are clean, and with all the mod cons you would normally expect in a 5 star establishment such as remote controlled curtains, nespresso, decent room-service etc.

The room service menu is fairly extensive and great when you have been on your feet all day and just want a great meal delivered

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSingapore, Quality Manager at Fairmont Singapore, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear MikeyTheExplorer,

It’s a great pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay and I sincerely thank you for choosing Fairmont Singapore! I wish to reassure you that we will continue to seek ways to improve and fulfill our mission of turning moments into memories for our guests.

Thank you for your valuable feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Warm regards,
Yash Bhanage
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Excellent hotel, with best service ever had in hotel. Very neat and clean very co-operative staff. Pool is fantastic on 8th floor. And great view from rooms of marina bay stands. I would advise this hotel to everyone. Life time experience.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSingapore, Manager at Fairmont Singapore, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Ishan85,

We are glad that you had a memorable stay with us. Your compliments will only spur us to continue seeking ways to enhance our guests' experience.

Thank you for choosing Fairmont Singapore and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Warm regards,
Carlos Monterde
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

On our way back from Singapore we stayed here for one night. As with the majority of far east hotels the accommodation was superb.
Luxury fixtures & the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever stayed in. The room was large with a desk & seating area as well as 2 balconies.We'd upgraded to an executive club room & were thrilled with the exceptional view over the city at all times of the day.
The staff were mostly friendly.
Being in the Bras Basah area there are plenty of things to see and do in the local vicinity. Taxis are readily available from just outside reception.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSingapore, Manager at Fairmont Singapore, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear VeritableVenturer,

It is a great pleasure to hear about your enjoyable stay and I sincerely thank you for choosing Fairmont Singapore.

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback, and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Warm regards,
Carlos Monterde
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Upon check in I told the hotel that my wife and myself wanted "a very long lazy quiet Saturday morning ". Sleeping until noon was our priority, nothing else. They allocated room 2407 to us. We noticed that the 23rd floor was under renovation. The reception told us again there would be NO noise/renovations on Saturdays and Sundays. The room has a terrible view - the office building in front of you looks straight into our room. We closed the curtains went to sleep and were brutally wakened up at 9:15am - drilling & drilling. Our floor was the next to be renovated and teams were unscrewing furniture, drilling and moving stuff all over the place. No sleep, no rest, only lots of noise. The breakfast compensation came late, incomplete and in four phases. The (Filipino) duty manager promised to get back to me but never did.
It is clear they don't care about their customers. The high occupancy rates in Singapore requires them to renovate at full speed regardless of the comfort of their guests. All in order not to loose revenue.

Room Tip: I don't believe there are any good rooms until renovations are over. I suggest to check and get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSingapore, Manager at Fairmont Singapore, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Rybremnazoe,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback and I sincerely apologise for the stay experience that you had with us.

We have spoken to you personally and would definitely share your feedback with the relevant teams. Please be reassured that the team is highly committed in delivering exceptional service standards.

We hope to have the pleasure of serving you once again in the future.

Warm regards,
Carlos Monterde
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Singapore

Address: 80 Bras Basah Rd, Singapore 189560, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#9 Family Hotel in Singapore
#11 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#14 Business Hotel in Singapore
#15 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Singapore 4.5*
Number of rooms: 769
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Singapore hotel is ideally situated at the crossroads of Singapore's business, cultural, entertainment and shopping districts. It offers 769 luxurious guestrooms and suites, a collection of 16 distinctive restaurants and bars and 70,000 square feet of prime meeting space - all supported by our Singapore hotel's award-winning service teams.In addition, guests of Fairmont Singapore have access to the Willow Stream Spa, one of the largest spa facilities in Asia, offering the best in spa and fitness services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fairmont Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Singapore Hotel Singapore
Raffles Plaza Singapore
Singapore Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.