We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, 1990's style rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Singapore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Singapore to your Saves list
Fairmont Singapore
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   80 Bras Basah Rd, Singapore 189560, Singapore   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SEASONAL SAVER - 20%
Ranked #16 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great service, 1990's style rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic service, everyone from the concierge to the bellboy was friendly and helpful to navigate the city
The non suite rooms are nice but outdated
Great location, attached to a mall that has a subway line connected to it
Definitely try Chin Chin restaurant only 7 minutes walking distance away for a legitimate taste of Singapore

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,644
    830
    196
    61
    35
See reviews for
581
899
201
757
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (603)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed the last three nights at Fairmont Singapore and we wanted to write to tell you about the exemplary hospitality that we were shown by two of your front of house staff during our stay.
Both Robert and Pia welcomed us with the most genuine of smiles and treated us like royalty while maintaining a personal touch that made it sad to say goodbye to them this afternoon. Please pass on our thanks to them on our behalf. They made our stay there very special.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSingapore, Quality Manager at Fairmont Singapore, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear xDalex,

Thank you for the many compliments especially the great hospitality displayed during your stay with us! Your compliments will only spur us to continue seeking ways to enhance our guests’ experience.

Thank you for choosing Fairmont Singapore!

Warm regards,
Yash Bhanage
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

The Fairmont is a great place when visiting Singapore, we found the location great for visiting the marina bay and gardens by the bay. The hotel is directly opposite the famous Raffles Hotel. The room was very nice with a super comfy large bed. We had a great view of the city from our room. The pool area was nice too. We found the staff really helpful and friendly. The breakfast buffet was excellent with a huge selection and very fresh. There was an MRT line and shopping centre next to the hotel. It was my Birthday during my stay and a gorgeous Birthday cake was delivered to my room - nice touch. The only slight problem was no free wifi in the room, other than that a fabulous stay!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSingapore, Quality Manager at Fairmont Singapore, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Jayjay72,

We’re glad to read that you had a fabulous stay with us and appreciate your positive comments on the hotel’s great view, nice pool, helpful and friendly staff, excellent breakfast buffet and the wide variety of shops and restaurants in the area at a great location. buffet breakfast, bed conditions and the convenience of the location.

Looking forward to welcome you back soon!

Regarding the wifi issue, you might like to know that wireless internet access is complimentary to all Fairmont President’s Club members. Simply log on to www.fairmont.com/fpc and register to enjoy this and a host of other benefits.

Once again, Happy Birthday from all of us at Fairmont Singapore!

Best regards,
Yash Bhanage
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indonesia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Stayed there for three days last summer with my family. The hotel location is superb because it is well connected with Raffles City Mall and City Hall Station, you can even go to the Marina Square through underground link by foot. The hotel service is very welcome, the lady staff gave my 8th years old daughter a chocolate which was very pleasant experience for her. The old Indian doorman was very cheerful in greeting the guest which would make your day better. The room has small balcony that is good to have fresh air, but the double beds is a little bit to small if you traveling with kids. It was very easy to get something to eat, plenty of fast food and restaurant in the underground link. Some taxi driver did not know Fairmont Hotel because it was under Westin management last time. At last, this is very great hotel to stay in Singapore.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSingapore, Quality Manager at Fairmont Singapore, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear ytktdy,

It makes us happy to read that you had a great stay with us and appreciate the hotel’s superb location, welcoming service and the wide variety of shops and restaurants.

Thank you for choosing Fairmont Singapore!

Warm regards,
Yash Bhanage
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

Spent three nights as a solo traveler in a deluxe king room overlooking the pool. The room was beautiful, and the bed was super comfy! So much so, that I ordered pillows and sheets online for my own bedroom. Breakfast buffet was extensive. Location was perfect for shopping.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

I have stayed in several Fairmont Hotels around the world and usually love them. This one was not one of my favorites. It may have been the specific room I was in, but the room just felt damp. Everything seemed wet: the carpet, the bedding, me! The room looked nice enough, but I was so uncomfortable. I know this is Singapore, and the humidity is through the roof. But so was Kuala Lumpur, and my stay there was fantastic. I think there was something wrong with the A/C, Dehumidifier, etc, and really, this should have been caught as it didn't seem like a new problem. There was a bit of a stench in the air.
As for the restaurant(s), for Singapore, where every place you go has food that knocks your socks off, I wasn't impressed. It was all a bit boring, and not at the quality level I was hoping for from this brand.
The location is central. But my stay wasn't the pleasant experience I was used to from the Fairmont brand. When I return to Singapore I will probably choose another hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSingapore, Quality Manager at Fairmont Singapore, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Ron,

Our sincere apologies for the inconveniences. Rest assured that we will direct your feedback to the relevant departments for follow-up. Your feedback will definitely help us serve you better on your next visit.

We hope to welcome you back!

Best regards,
Yash Bhanage
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

We stayed at the Fairmont for two stays of two nights (stopover on the way to & from Australia) in November and were really happy with our choice.

The location is great, right accross the street from Raffles and on top of one of many malls.

Stay nr 1: we were in a deluxe king room overloooking the pool. The room was large, with a very comfortable bed and a great shower: really large and with great water pressure.

Stay nr 2: we had booked the same room category but were upgraded to executive floor, which entitled us to free breakfast, access to soft drinks all day and a happy hour for alcoholic drinks & food. The breakfast alone was huge added value as we opted to eat at prego's, right next to the hotel in the mall, which had a really extensive buffet.

The happy hour was held in the executive lounge and included any alcohol + a choice of hot foods and cheeses. Plenty enough to not have to leave the hotel for dinner if you're so enclined.

The room itself was the same in terms of comfort & equipment, with views over Raffles.

Service was great at breakfast, in the lounge and at reception/concierge services.
We used the spa facilities & the pool after check out to freshen up before our flights.

One tiny downside to the pool area was that it is shared with the Swissotel Stamford next door and sunloungers are gone quite quickly.

Room Tip: executive floor is higher for a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSingapore, Quality Manager at Fairmont Singapore, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Valerie,

Our mission is to turn moments into memories for our guests, thus it makes us really happy to know that you had a memorable stay. Please rest assured that we will continue our pursuit for excellence in service.

We look forward to your next visit to Fairmont Singapore!

Warm regards,
Yash Bhanage
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Singapore

Address: 80 Bras Basah Rd, Singapore 189560, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#9 Family Hotel in Singapore
#11 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#14 Business Hotel in Singapore
#15 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Singapore 4.5*
Number of rooms: 769
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Singapore hotel is ideally situated at the crossroads of Singapore's business, cultural, entertainment and shopping districts. It offers 769 luxurious guestrooms and suites, a collection of 16 distinctive restaurants and bars and 70,000 square feet of prime meeting space - all supported by our Singapore hotel's award-winning service teams.In addition, guests of Fairmont Singapore have access to the Willow Stream Spa, one of the largest spa facilities in Asia, offering the best in spa and fitness services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fairmont Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Singapore Hotel Singapore
Raffles Plaza Singapore
Singapore Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.