We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Singapore

Save Saved
You added Fairmont Singapore to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fairmont Singapore
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   80 Bras Basah Rd, Singapore 189560, Singapore   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Seasonal Offer - Save 20%
Ranked #15 of 291 hotels in Singapore
wales
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel based on city hall mrt along with swisshotel directly across the road from raffles hotel, lovely rooms, great pool, nothing was too much trouble, register with presidents club on website for free internet and upgrades, currently secret hotel on wotif for great deals!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,308 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,351
    701
    171
    55
    30
See reviews for
458
775
177
619
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (510)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Before i begin, i would like to say that i had a complimentary 1-night stay (part of the FAR Card package which i purchased) at this hotel, so my views may be positively biased since i didn't pay for it!

The room : we were told that the room we were staying in in the Fairmont category room (not sure what are the different categories).

Positives about the room: The room was good sized with a king sized bed which was very comfortable. As we were 2 adults and 1 child, i requested for a roll away bed (half expecting to pay for it) and they provided a complimentary roll away bed which exceeded my expectations. There was complimentary coffee and tea and the coffee is Nespresso coffee, not the 3-in-1 packet coffee type which was a really nice touch.

Not so positive about our room: the view wasn't great. since we were only there for 1 night, i didn't request for a change. Directly facing our room was an office block. and to get a view of the city, i must stand at an angle at the windows to catch the views. pity as the view was quite nice. so when checking in, you may want to make a specific request.

Hotel facilities : we used the pool. there were 2 pools and kids were generally kept to the shallow pool which was good so the adults are not disturbed.

location : with a MRT located just below the hotel, a shopping mall adjacent to it and walking distance to the major tourist attractions, it is in a superior location. if your room doesn't come with breakfast, there are plenty choices in the basement of the shopping mall.

Room Tip: Remember to request for a room with unblocked city view if you don't want to be facing an office...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Friendly, professional service but hotel very tired. The staff in exec lounge were great and food very good. Had the chance to use the pool & spa facilities and again nice but lacking, the pool area is shared with the hotel next door which as some 70 floors so when the sun did come out, it was hard to find a sun bed. Service around pool w as good too. Spa facilities were ok but tired.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSingapore, Quality Manager at Fairmont Singapore, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear lorrypage,

Thank you for the feedback! We appreciate your positive comments on the hotel’s great service and staff, good spread of food at the Executive Lounge and nice facilities such as the pool and spa. At the same time, we note your feedback on the lack of sun beds at the pool. Regarding the hotel conditions, we are glad to inform that we’re currently undergoing a major refurbishment of the guestrooms and lobby to serve you better.

We look forward to your next visit to Fairmont Singapore!

Best regards,
Yash Bhanage
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Spent 3 nights there in October. I chose this hotel as I knew the location, having lived in Singapore for several years before. Were upgraded to a suite. The advantage for me, apart from the location, are the balconies as I smoke, but will avoid from stinking up the room. Service was in general outstanding, room well kept, room service requests were prompt and friendly. Breakfast in the executive lounge was top notch. Housekeeping was outstanding, I have never seen such a caring room maid. Bathroom and amenities are great and well designed. Shortcomings were: when you call by pressing the service button, no one picks up. At check out, they misplaced our bags, as check out was rushed and rather unorganized. But apart from this, a place to definitely return to.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSingapore, Quality Manager at Fairmont Singapore, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear JP T,

We’re glad to read that you had a great stay with us! We appreciate your compliments on the hotel’s outstanding service, well-appointed room, prompt room service, friendly staff, top notch breakfast spread at the Executive Lounge, outstanding housekeeping services, great bathroom amenities and the great location. At the same time, we note your feedbacks and will revert to the relevant department for follow up.

Thank you for choosing Fairmont Singapore!

Warm regards,
Yash Bhanage
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Got signature room with fine view and two balconies, second visit here. Big room nice but worn out bathroom, tub looks like it needs at least a new coating? OK TV on, big black Phillips picture quality is something you receive when streaming from internet. Worst LCD ever, this must be from years when flat screen was brought to tv's. It's so bad it's not 'watchable'. Maybe these old tv set should be upgraded or this unit is just crap/faulty - this was supposed to be a hotel with high standards? One can buy basic TV 32-40" set at 200-300 euros with HD picture - not expensive. Total failure on service happened on third day: went to pool around 10:30 am, swithed off privacy light, come back 2 pm, room is not made up. Exit the room at 3 pm, called "Royal Service" to reguest room to be made up. Come back at eightish - room not made up. Call to "Royal Service" again, cleaning staff calls back and we conclude that they are sorry about their obvious communication error and offer service, which of course would be inconvenient now when we are not planning to go out any more. Conclusion: no royal, no service, not up to standard it pretends to be.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSingapore, Quality Manager at Fairmont Singapore, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear Jorma,

Our sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused. We will be reaching out to you separately for information that will help us conduct an investigation and a detailed follow-up with the relevant departments. Your feedback will definitely help us serve you better on your next visit.
We hope to welcome you back.

Best regards,
Yash Bhanage
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

I stayed at the Fairmont for 3 nights after completing a cruise, with my 89 year old mother. Although we arrived well before the advertised book in time we were made feel at home in the Executive Lounge until the room was ready. This didn't take too long. The staff were so welcoming and helpful. I had pre-ordered a wheelchair for my Mother and this was delivered to our room and available for use outside of the hotel. The bell staff were exceptional helping us in and out of taxis. Its close proximity to several shopping malls, the MRT and Marina Bay made it a breeze getting to planned activities.
I would stay there again on another trip to Singapore.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Singapore Flyer and Marina Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Warning - make sure you get what you pay for!
On check-in at the Fullerton I was told I was being upgraded to a newly renovated Fullerton Premier room. I asked the receptionist if it had a good view to which I was given no reply. The Alarm Bells started to ring. I was handed the key to a North Tower room on the 10th Floor. The hotel has 26 floors. I have stayed at the hotel previously so knew the size of the rooms and views available. The Fairmont Premier room was small and with a view of a construction site facing the back of the Raffles Hotel. The sound of the renovations were very clear from the time the lift doors opened and continued into the room.
I immediately returned to Reception and directly to the Fairmont President Club desk and asked for the Deluxe Room for which I had paid. After waiting another hour for cleaning I was given a Deluxe Room (as per the website) in the South Tower on the 21st floor. This is the same room and view (over looking the Marina Bay Sands Hotel) as I had experienced previously.
I have had this trouble with other hotels in Singapore. It seems it really doesn't matter what you have booked or paid for, but all depends on what they think they can get away with giving you.
If I didn't know better I could have had a very different experience.

Room Tip: South Tower rooms have the best view. Ask for a high floor. Make sure you get what you pay for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSingapore, Quality Manager at Fairmont Singapore, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Wife66,

Our sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused. We will be reaching out to you separately for information that will help us conduct an investigation and a detailed follow-up with the relevant departments. Your feedback will definitely help us serve you better on your next visit.

Warm regards,
Yash Bhanage
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairmont Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Singapore

Address: 80 Bras Basah Rd, Singapore 189560, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#11 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#11 Family Hotel in Singapore
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Singapore
#15 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#17 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Singapore 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Singapore hotel is ideally situated at the crossroads of Singapore's business, cultural, entertainment and shopping districts. It offers 769 luxurious guestrooms and suites, a collection of 16 distinctive restaurants and bars and 70,000 square feet of prime meeting space - all supported by our Singapore hotel's award-winning service teams.In addition, guests of Fairmont Singapore have access to the Willow Stream Spa, one of the largest spa facilities in Asia, offering the best in spa and fitness services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Splendia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Fairmont Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Singapore Hotel Singapore
Raffles Plaza Singapore
Singapore Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.