We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel, Location, And Service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Singapore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Singapore to your Saves list
Fairmont Singapore
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   80 Bras Basah Rd, Singapore 189560, Singapore   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SEASONAL SAVER - 20%
Ranked #14 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel, Location, And Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

What more can I say than what has been placed as the title?!

This hotel was fantastic from the minute we arrived on our late honeymoon. Greeted at the Gold Level lounge, with a delightful welcome and much needed cold drink. Everything had been arranged for the easiest of check in, and we were to be pleased even further when we had been upgraded to a suite for the duration of our stay.

The suite was stunning, with its separate sitting room and dressing room always kept immaculate by the room servicing staff. All of the staff in the hotel were friendly, polite and helpful.

Would certainly come back to stay on our next trip to Singapore.

Room Tip: Always go for gold level if possible. The lounge offers that little bit of escape when you need it a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSingapore, Quality Manager at Fairmont Singapore, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Ross,

We are honored to be your hotel of choice for your honeymoon and delighted to hear that you had a fantastic stay with us and enjoyed the hotel’s service, friendly staff, seamless check-in/out and the stunning suite.

Have a blissful marriage!

Best regards,
Yash Bhanage
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,590
    809
    194
    60
    33
See reviews for
562
875
195
741
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (587)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

staff nice, nice location, just with a MRT station behind, you can take your breakfast just near the swimming pool (alligator at lv8), it's sooooo nice. I will always stay at the hotel each time, and I will never regret my choice

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSingapore, Quality Manager at Fairmont Singapore, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Bob,

Thank you for the many compliments especially the nice staff and the great location. We definitely can’t wait to welcome you back!

Warm regards,
Yash Bhanage
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This was my third visit to Singapore, and my second time at a Fairmont Hotel. The city just gets better all the time. And I had an absolutely superb and memorable time at the Fairmont, thanks to such people as Malcom Tan, Polly Cheong, Chen and Christine. As you can see it is a very personal experience, starting with the smiling doorman who greeted us arrayed in exotic splendor.
The 21st-floor room was impressive, looking out toward the cricket field, the Esplanade Theatres on the Bay ("the Durian") and the Marina with its giant ferris wheel, as well as the new Art Science Museum that looks like a giant cracked eggshell.
Our room was great. So was the hotel's location: right in the heart of what the tour books call the city's Colonial Core. Raffles was literally across the street, as well as the bars and restaurnts of the Chijmes complex, plus we were right next to the SwissHotel (in fact we were able to use our Fairmont hotel card in the SwissHotel's 71st-floor New Asia bar). We could walk to the Marina and many museums. Don't feel like walking? Taxis are reasonable enough, but if you're staying at the Fairmont and want a little adventure, take the escalator down beneath the hotel (passing one of the city's lively food hawker courts-make a mental note to come back and try it later). Go down three levels, then you can hop on the MRT, Singapore's Metro, a surprisingly easy-to-navigate system which will take you just about everywhere.

You have to love a hotel that has its own food hawker court, but the Fairmont also had some great restaurants. We needed a map to navigate the huge breakfast buffet offered in the hotel's Prezzo Ristorante--everything from muesli to waffles, dragon fruit to Spanish nuts with dried anchovies. A dedicated juice chef stands by to whip up whatever blend of exotic nectars suits your caprice.

What makes all this really work is the very personal touch, the warmth with which you are welcomed. As far as comfort goes. This is Asia, comfort is expected. Eight pillow choices are just the start. We loved every minute and left with the resolution to visit more Fairmonts in the near future. We are not easily impressed, indeed are quite critical; but as I said earlier--we were wowed!

Room Tip: Join the Fairmont's President's Club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSingapore, Quality Manager at Fairmont Singapore, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Our mission is to turn moments into memories for our guests, thus it makes us really happy to know that you had a memorable stay. We will certainly convey your compliments to the Malcom, Polly, Chen, Christine and the rest of the team as an encouragement for their excellent service. Your compliments will only spur us to continue seeking ways to enhance our guests’ experience.

Thank you for choosing Fairmont Singapore!

Best regards,
Yash Bhanage
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

What a great hotel!!
Service was wonderful, all staff thoroughly attentive, helpful and friendly!!
On arrival at 3am, we were shown to a lovely lounge suite, where we were able to relax and freshen up, perfect after a long haul flight. Our room was ready for us 6 hours before check in time, and we were upgraded free of charge to a club room! Perfectly clean and spacious rooms with lavish decor and spectacular views of the marina.
Amenities were fantastic, and food was delicious!
Would definitely recommend to all, we will be staying here again for sure!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSingapore, Quality Manager at Fairmont Singapore, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

It makes us happy to know that you had a great stay with us and appreciate your compliments on the hotel’s wonderful service, helpful and attentive staff, clean and spacious room, spectacular view of the Marina Bay, fantastic amenities and the delicious food.

Thank you for recommending Fairmont Singapore!

Warm regards,
Yash Bhanage
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Friendly front desk, eager to help staff, smooth check-in/ check-out process. Prego - breakfast, lunch and dinner is wonderful and the spread is fantastic. Clean & spacious rooms, nice business chairs but expensive internet charges (should it not be free by now?). Unbeatable location - city hall MRT stop, 15 minute walk to clarke quay, array of nearby restaurants, McD :), shops (various price ranges). I had two experiences that can qualify as niggles: A. while the bath tub is huge and well maintained, the floor is slippery; felt like walking on ice on all 5 days during my stay B. the bedside controller seems to have a mind of its own; Alarm reset/ AC level went down/ lights switched on automatically at 4 am even after switching the entire unit down before I went to bed TWICE during the stay. I believe the traditional on-off switch is sure-shot winner compared to the fancy unit.

Room Tip: Pool facing rooms are definitely quieter. Pub closes at 930 pm, so plan for a long night outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSingapore, Quality Manager at Fairmont Singapore, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Lvlakshman,

We’re delighted to hear that you had a fantastic stay! Your compliments on the hotel’s wonderful Prego experience, seamless check-in/out, friendly staff, service, wide variety of restaurants and shops in the area and the convenient location are greatly appreciated. At the same time, we note your feedback on the room condition and will revert it to the relevant departments for a follow-up.

We hope to welcome you back!

Best regards,
Yash Bhanage
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Wish we got one of the renovated rooms. If so, this review probably would be a lot better.

The folks at the front desk were really nice and helpful upon check-in. We noticed some construction going on in the lobby but that didn’t bother us during the trip – wasn’t noisy at all. At first glance, the hallway leading up to our room showed a lot of promise. Loved the chic color wood that blends the doors to the walls. We were actually upgraded to a corner room with a great view of the Marina Bay Sands hotel. However, the hotel room is not up to par to a 4* property. There were scuffs and stains on almost every inch of the carpet, walls and furniture. The wallpaper was coming unglued in places and the decoration was incredibly out of date. The drapes were dreary, the gold standing lamps were probably from the 50’s, and the sofa chairs were upholstered in such an unfortunate print. The bathroom probably showed the least amount of age save for its semi-stained bath tub.

It was probably a glorious room back in its heyday. The room was quite spacious and the view was pretty magnificent. There were some issues with housekeeping when we arrived though. There was a dirty q-tip in the middle of the bathroom floor, a price tag on the floor by the desk area, and dry ramen crumbles on the floor near the end of the bed. We could handle an aged room, but cleanliness should be a priority of a 4* property. I feel like when housekeeping doesn’t believe the room is wonderful and luxurious, then they’re not going to treat it like one. I’ll admit that we didn’t bring up this issue to the hotel though since we’re not ones to complain. Not sure how they would have handled the situation, but this is a review about what we experienced as-is.

The complimentary bottles of water were definitely appreciated though and there’s a Nespresso machine that we didn’t take advantage of. Unfortunately, the condition and cleanliness of the room left a lot to be desired. We weren’t able to feel 100% comfortable in the space. And it’s never a good feeling to see remnants of the previous tenants in the space.

Location is top-notch though. Inside a mall with a plethora of restaurant options, even a grocery market. Close to the rail that can get you to anywhere in the city. If anything, choose the Fairmont for its location and ask for an upgraded room.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSingapore, Quality Manager at Fairmont Singapore, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Rosemary,

Our sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused. We will be reaching out to you separately for information that will help us conduct an investigation and a detailed follow-up with the relevant departments. Regarding the room conditions, we are glad to inform that plans are underway for a major refurbishment of guestrooms.

At the same time, we appreciate your positive comments on the hotel’s friendly service, attentive staff, spacious room with a great view of the Marina Bay, great room amenities like the Nespresso machine and the top-notch location with a wide variety of shops and restaurants in the area.

We look forward to your next visit!

Warm regards,
Yash Bhanage
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

What else is there to say other than this place is great! The service is the best I have seen in a long time, all staff here are very friendly. We had breakfast every day for 5 days and the choices are amazing and change daily on some items. I am definitely recommending this place. I will stay here again for sure

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSingapore, Quality Manager at Fairmont Singapore, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Daz,

Thank you for the many compliments especially the fantastic service! We definitely can’t wait to welcome you back!

Best regards,
Yash Bhanage
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Singapore

Address: 80 Bras Basah Rd, Singapore 189560, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#10 Family Hotel in Singapore
#11 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#14 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#14 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Singapore 4.5*
Number of rooms: 769
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Singapore hotel is ideally situated at the crossroads of Singapore's business, cultural, entertainment and shopping districts. It offers 769 luxurious guestrooms and suites, a collection of 16 distinctive restaurants and bars and 70,000 square feet of prime meeting space - all supported by our Singapore hotel's award-winning service teams.In addition, guests of Fairmont Singapore have access to the Willow Stream Spa, one of the largest spa facilities in Asia, offering the best in spa and fitness services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Fairmont Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Singapore Hotel Singapore
Raffles Plaza Singapore
Singapore Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.