We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, fabulous service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Singapore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Singapore to your Saves list
Fairmont Singapore
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   80 Bras Basah Rd, Singapore 189560, Singapore (Marina Bay)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Fairmont Moments, 15% off
Ranked #15 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence 2014
La Jolla, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location, fabulous service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is one of the best locations in downtown Singapore. Right next to Raffles and very central to everything. The service is impeccable, rooms are very spacious and the location is wonderful. The hotel sits above a shopping center so when you want to go to eat you can take the elevator to the shopping level where there is so many restaurant it is hard to choose one.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSingapore, Director of Quality at Fairmont Singapore, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your positive review, especially on the service being impeccable.

Thank you for choosing Fairmont Singapore!

Best regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,925
    968
    220
    66
    39
See reviews for
677
1,095
224
838
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (704)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
cromwell
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I took my daughter to Singapore for her 18 birthday for some shopping and sight seeing.On arrival there was a huge Xmas tree in the lobby and staff made sure we had twin beds..it took 5 minutes to organise.
We loved the frendliness of the staff especially the older man at the hotel front..he was always amusing and chatted to quests.Also breakfast staff were very welcoming .The breakfast Buffet was extensive ,catering to Asian ,Indian and Western tastes.
Sorry to say we did not use the pool.Thunder storms most afternoons .
Make use of the free bus to Sentosa Island ,available at the Swisshotel on producing your passport.We used the internet in the business centre and it was very affordable and never used.If you wnat to use the wifi sign up as a fairmonth Club member at home first.
We would love to stay again.
Very central location and easy walking to shops galore.

Room Tip: south facing rooms look over Marina Bay ,great at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSingapore, Director of Quality at Fairmont Singapore, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the detailed and positive feedback! We will certainly convey your compliments on the lobby, check-in staff, doorman and breakfast service and culinary teams as an inspiration for them to continue their good work.

We look forward to your next visit to Fairmont Singapore.

We wish your daughter a very happy belated birthday and all good things in the year ahead!

Warm regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We booked 2 rooms for 4 nights during one of the busiest periods of the year - Christmas. We were impressed by the high standard of service and the quality of the product. Everything was what you would expect from a top class hotel. Conveniently located above a major train station with excellent train links to tourist attractions and major tourist hubs, this hotel has a lot to offer. It has a shopping centre located within its complex offering excellent shopping opportunities and eating experiences. The rooms were spacious and offered good views of Singapore. It also has excellent restaurants and bars. Rooms are equipped with expresso machines which was a nice touch. It had one of the best beds my husband and I have slept on - excellent quality bedding, lovely pillows and correct firmess of mattress.

On the negative side is the unfortunate cost of Wi-fi which is not offered as standard practice. This is a disappointment since everyone requires Wi-fi either for mobile devices or computers and really should be part of its amenities. Unfortunately it works out that it is more cost effective to buy for the day rather than the hour.

Unfortunately the lobby was always busy but since it is part of a large complex, this is unavoidable. However, it did not help when the lobby was cluttered with lots of luggage which contributed to the hectic atmosphere and made the lobby look messy. There should be a seperate area to store luggage. I found the lobby lacking in glamour and it was a bit dark. It could do with a refurbishment. Otherwise, it was a perfect stay !

Room Tip: Choose high floors for better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

When we arrived at the Fairmont, things didn't get off to a good start as I had 2 rooms booked and through cxholidays.com I had asked that both rooms have queen/king beds. Upon arrival, I was surprised to hear that both of my rooms had double beds each instead of single queen/king beds. After a bit of confusion, we were given rooms and one of them was still in the process of cleaning (which was scary as the cleaning staff just walked right in unaware that the room we were given were taken by us). No knocking, nothing, just walked right in which made us very uncomfortable (i.e. what if my wife had been changing? - the cleaning staff was male)

Next thing when went down to the lobby (not to complain, but to ask the conceriege to book a restaurant for us and when he asked us for the room number, he asked us if we were Mr. ABC which worried us as we had thought the previous guest may still be assigned to that room and not us).

Also, the staff at the check in counter did not explain when the checkout time is to us and did not explain to us how the buffet breakfast would work and where it would be when we checked in. we had to ask again later.

Now the rest of the stay was great, the buffet breakfast by the pool on the 8th floor had pretty great food and quite a number of selections. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room are nice and clean and have a nice view and a nice balconey. Room was pretty big.

Pool area is nice and clean with a pool for the adults and a pool for the kids. Lounge chairs were all around the pool.

Very centralized and easy to get to from airport (about S$20 to airport) or if you prefer the train, 1 transfer and get off at CityHall is it is about a 2 min walk through the mall through to the fairmont.

Bring an umbrella (as it rained heavily for 2 hours everyday we were there around 2pm.. cleared up at 4pm)

Wireless access is expensive but if you sign up for the fairmont president's club (free to sign up), wireless access is free. From what I can tell from previous tripadvisor reviews, Fairmont Singapore have probably just recently upgraded their wireless network as access was speedy most of the time and I had no problems connecting different devices (1 Windows Phone 7 device, 1 Android, and 1 MS Surface tablet)

Nespresso coffee was complimentary in the rooms we booked which is always a bonus, although the taste intensity of the given capsules could be higher (roma capsules should be given instead of the lower intensity ones)

Stayed for 2 nights with 2 rooms booked (mid Dec 2012) but I still have not received the FPC reward points - not sure how long it takes to show up (or if the check in staff screwed it up)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSingapore, Director of Quality at Fairmont Singapore, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Ed,

Thank you for the detailed review.

Our sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused. The issues you mentioned are certainly not acceptable for our hotel. We will be reaching out to you separately for information that will help us conduct an investigation and a detailed follow-up with front desk and housekeeping, as well as to ensure that your FPC reward points are credited.

At the same time, we appreciate your compliments on the hotel’s buffet breakfast at our poolside restaurant Alligator Pear, guestroom size and condition, Nespresso coffee and the convenience of the location. It is also reassuring to know that our continuous efforts in improving the internet had enhanced your experience – the upgrade is completed on certain floors but in fact still ongoing on other floors.

We look forward to your next visit to Fairmont Singapore!

Best regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodh Gaya, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

2010 was my first stay in Fairmont, that time I had a major operation and just got discharged from the hospital.

The hotel staffs were really thoughtful about their guests, such as choosing a more quiet phase for me to rest, and also compensate all the upon request which they could provide. I was really impressed and kept coming back to Fairmont since then.

It's 2012 and whenever I've checked in to Fairmont, the receptionist would always send their warm regards about my health. Although it's a small gesture but it do give me more courage to fight my battle with my health.

Thank you Fairmont and I'm looking forward to keep coming back again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSingapore, Director of Quality at Fairmont Singapore, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are so glad to hear that you had a wonderful stay and greatly appreciate your compliments on the hotel’s service and hospitality. Most of all, we are happy to hear that you have recovered from your earlier operation. Indeed, you have our full support in your battle for good health.

Our best wishes to you in the new year – for health, happiness and all that you wish for!

Thank you for choosing Fairmont Singapore over and over again!

Warm regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I always stay at this hotel every time i visit singapore and again it has not let me down.
The staff are some of the best that i have ever delt with,special note club room staff
always go out of there way too make you feel at home.
The club rooms are always great(this time i got upgraded to a mini penthouse,,,awsome)
I will be back thanking every staff member
Paul Oliver

Room Tip: Pay a little bit extra and get a club room in the south tower for view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed here with a wedding party for a weekend in a Fairmont Room. On arrival the room was clean and well appointed considering it was one of their more basic rooms. The presence of a Nespresso machine was a definite hit. I was a little annoyed that I had to pay $80 for three days wireless Internet. I think wireless should really be free to guests especially in a modern city like Singapore.
We did return to our room at around 5pm one evening in a rush to get ready for the wedding and were dismayed to find our room still hadn't been serviced, a terrible oversight for a classy hotel. We had to ring housekeeping to get them up to quickly clean so we could get ready for the wedding banquet.
A definite highlight was the beds...soooo comfortable!
My full review including photos can be found at: http://www.chompchomp.com.au/2012/12/fairmont-hotel-singapore/

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSingapore, Director of Quality at Fairmont Singapore, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback and the wonderful pictures and commentary on your blog.

Our apologies for the inconveniences regarding the daily room servicing, as it is simply unacceptable. Rest assured that we will follow-up with housekeeping. At the same time, we appreciate your compliments on the hotel’s room conditions, its location, the Nespresso machine and comfortable bed.

The items on our buffet are generally not gluten-free unless they are specifically labelled as such. At Fairmont Hotels & Resorts, our guests can requests for gluten-free and other products that would match their dietary requirements in all our restaurants. We hope that you will be able to experience this during your next visit to any Fairmont properties.

You might like to know as well that wireless internet access is complimentary to all Fairmont President’s Club members. Simply log on to www.fairmont.com/fpc and register to enjoy this and a host of other benefits.

We look forward to welcome you back soon!

Best regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Singapore

Address: 80 Bras Basah Rd, Singapore 189560, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Marina Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#7 Family Hotel in Singapore
#11 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#14 Business Hotel in Singapore
#15 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 769
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Singapore hotel is ideally situated at the crossroads of Singapore's business, cultural, entertainment and shopping districts. It offers 769 luxurious guestrooms and suites, a collection of 16 distinctive restaurants and bars and 70,000 square feet of prime meeting space - all supported by our Singapore hotel's award-winning service teams.In addition, guests of Fairmont Singapore have access to the Willow Stream Spa, one of the largest spa facilities in Asia, offering the best in spa and fitness services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Singapore Hotel Singapore
Raffles Plaza Singapore
Singapore Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.