We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star service, modern rooms, excellent location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Singapore

Save Saved
You added Fairmont Singapore to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Singapore
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   80 Bras Basah Rd, Singapore 189560, Singapore   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Seasonal Offer - Save 20%
Ranked #16 of 291 hotels in Singapore
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“5 star service, modern rooms, excellent location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

Ive stayed at various Fairmont hotels & by far, Fairmont Singapore has been the best of them all. The service I received was excellent & staff were always very attentive & smiling.

Pros:
1. Very spacious & modern rooms.
2. Excellent service from staff
3. Well connected restaurants, delis & a supermarket in the basement shopping complex
4. City Hall MRT stop close by.
5. Access to hospitality lounge for guests departing on evening flights. I've certainly not seen this anywhere else on my stays
6. Great location for the Singapore F1 GP. For the Singapore F1 GP, I would recommend booking very early as it gets booked up for the week leading to the F1 weekend. I stayed in room 1527, which had a decent view of one stretch of the track (I had tickets for the event, so having that room didn't mean much to me!) but I would recommend floors 10-20 & rooms 35 onwards for the best views.

Other points:
1. Singapore is a pricey destination. Consequently, the hotel rates (for all hotels) reflect that.
2. I was charged for a half day rate but that did not extens beyond 7pm. For those departing on late evening flights, I would recommend checking out & using the hospitality lounge instead.
3. Didn't try any of the restaurants at the hotel but would definitely recommend the delis/restaurants in the basement shopping complex.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSingapore, Director of Quality at Fairmont Singapore, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Fairmont Singapore and highlighting the many positive points about its locality, room size and conditions, excellent service, hospitality lounge and restaurants. It warms our hearts to know that we are the Fairmont hotel of your choice!

Rest assured that we will not rest on our laurels, and will continue seeking ways to enhance our guests’ experience. Have an outstanding day!

Best regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,279 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,334
    690
    170
    55
    30
See reviews for
449
772
174
607
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (504)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We recently stayed at the Fairmont after a few days on Sentosa. Though a different style of hotel, we were still pleased with the rooms and facilities. While waiting to check in a manager came up to see what we needed and to speed the process. This was a nice touch. The room was big and had a lovely view of the Marina area. The beds are fantastic, the best we've had anywhere outside our own home. My only gripe was that our bags weren't delivered and we had to remind them. Apart from this one small issue the staff were very friendly and helpful, especially the doorman to the shopping mall. The location was excellent - opposite the Raffles, above a great foodhall with an amazing number of inexpensive choices, near to City Hall underground, near to the Marina. The swimming pool was a joy and the facilities there were in good condition. We'd be happy to stay there again.

Room Tip: The marina view is a joy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSingapore, Director of Quality at Fairmont Singapore, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback!

Our mission is to turn moments into memories for our guests, thus it makes us really happy to know that you had a memorable stay. We appreciate your compliments on the guestroom, fantastic beds, lovely view, hotel facilities, friendly staff and the convenience of the location. We apologize for the luggage delay and will follow-up to ensure it does not recur.

Looking forward to welcome you back to Fairmont Singapore!

Warm regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel dozens of times over the last few years. Well situated, check in is fairly rapid and the staff mostly, are excellent. There has been a gradual updating of rooms, some of which haven't changed for over fifteen years. These latter ones are looking pretty tired, bathrooms are desperately old fashioned and there are frequent stains on the baths, loo etc. taps etc often leak, and cleanliness is certainly not as close to Godliness as it should be for this standard of hotel. TV updated and good, mini bar well stocked, and the rooms are very spacious. However, do try and get an updated room. Around the hotel are literally dozens of restaurants varying from a food court two blocks away to very upmarket offerings within a short stroll. A super market at the parking level is very well stocked. There's a good shopping mall attached to the hotel which covers just about most shops you would expect to find, also another ( v cheap) food court on the forth level,Starbucks etc on ground level and loads of places to eat on the parking level. MRT next to the hotel and excellent bus and taxi ranks adjoining. Overall a good experience but do try and get an updated room. Also a pleasant pool bar on eight floor offering happy hours 7 pm thru I believe to around 8 or 9pm. There is also a spectacular bar on something like the seventieth floor that affords fantastic views of Singapore but with only two elevators it seems an awfully long way up should there be a fire or some other ghastly event. On one occasion I noticed the building swaying quite alot apparently due to an earth quake somewhere in Indonisia! just a thought! Ask the concierge about orchids supplied to your room by Yeungs Florist much better than rubbish at the airport.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSingapore, Director of Quality at Fairmont Singapore, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are glad that you enjoyed the hotel’s locality, smooth check-in, excellent staff, nearby amenities and the in-room orchids! At the same time, we note your comments on some of the room conditions and will certainly incorporate them in future refurbishment plans.

You might like to know that our poolside bar’s (Alligator Pear) happy hours are from 5:30pm-8:30pm daily. As well, the express elevators take 39 seconds to reach the 70th floor of our sister property, Swissotel the Stamford, where City Space is located and there are quite a few other guest elevators, service elevators and stairwells on 69th and 70th floors. Please be assured that all buildings in Singapore are built according to strict regulatory fire and building safety requirements – there are also yearly audits and quarterly drills to ensure that the safety and security for our guests and colleagues are never taken for granted. Though we do experience slight tremors from neighboring countries from time to time, the city itself is fortunately free from natural disasters.

Thank you for choosing Fairmont Singapore!


Best regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I stayed here on a business trip last week and I must say the staff were absolutely excellent. The rooms are big and spacious but can seem a little dated. I had reserved a king size bed but upon arrival was shown to a room with 2 twin beds which was very annoying, but there had been a mix up with the travel agent. The staff were super polite and helpful and organised for us to move into a bigger room the next night. The breakfast was good. wehen we left a chrger and adaptor behind, the hotel sent it straight over by DHL and we had it back within 24 hours at no cost. This hotel is at a wonderful location in the heart of Singapore - the pools are big andthe views are picturesque and there are a number of tennis courts as well which is a real bonus. I would really recommend this hotel for a stay in Singapore

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSingapore, Director of Quality at Fairmont Singapore, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for recommending Fairmont Singapore!

We appreciate your compliments on the hotel’s spacious rooms, breakfast, hotel amenities and its convenient location. What made us the most happy is to know that you found our staff to be “absolutely excellent” – this will only motivate us to continue finding ways to deliver great service each time. At the same time, we note your feedback on the room conditions and will incorporate them into future refurbishment plans.

We look forward to welcome you back again!

Warm regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jakarta
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed in south wing with nice view facing the beautiful round shape swimming pool. Room is great and clean, quite spacious with complete amenities. We also have nespresso machine in our room. Staffs are nice and very friendly, accept the manager on duty which i consider a bit stiff. We checked out one room earlier in the morning, but since our meeting can't completed in the same day, so we need to stay back in the hotel for one more night, but he didn't allow us to have the same rate as yesterday. Overall the hotel is nice with great location and easy to reach.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSingapore, Director of Quality at Fairmont Singapore, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

We’re glad that you enjoyed your recent stay and greatly appreciate your compliments on the hotel’s view, amenities, location, staff service and room cleanliness. Our apologies for not being able to accommodate the room rate, as they can fluctuate from day to day depending on various factors.

Look forward to welcoming you back here again!

Warm regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stow, Ohio
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Singapore is such a terrific city and to stay at the Fairmont while visiting is perfect. You are close to the metro, you can walk to the marina and it is connected to a nice shopping mall with plenty of shops, food and even a grocery store. The views of the bay are lovely and the pool is a perfect place to relax after a long day of site-seeing.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSingapore, Director of Quality at Fairmont Singapore, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

We’re glad that you enjoyed your recent stay. We greatly appreciate your compliments on the hotel’s lovely view, pool and the convenience of the location.

Thank you for choosing Fairmont Singapore!

Warm regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Fairmont on a recent holiday to Singapore. We stayed on the Executive Club floor, however we were unable to access the lounge as it was being refurbished. Arrangements were made for us to visit an executive suite instead, but this was not up to Executive standard in terms of size and associated services, however the Club Staff were very attentive.
Our room was spacious and well serviced with wonderful views of the Bay.
The hotel Staff was very courteous and we were most impressed by a porter by the name of Kandiah who went beyond the call of duty to welcome us and look after our every needs. We liked the restaurant Prego where we ate breakfast and dinner and received wonderful service. Not so at the buffet restaurant which could only offer us a second seating and well picked over buffet leftover platters from the first seating and not refreshed during our dinner visit.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Marina Bay are spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSingapore, Director of Quality at Fairmont Singapore, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the lovely feedback!

Our mission is to turn moments into memories for our guests, thus it makes us really happy to know that you had a wonderful stay. We greatly appreciate your compliments on the hotel’s service, staff, spacious room size and wonderful views. We will certainly convey your compliments to Kandiah and the rest of the team as an encouragement to continue their good work. At the same time, we note your comments on the replenishment at the buffet restaurant and will convey this to the chef and manager for follow up.

We look forward to welcome you back to Fairmont Singapore!

Best regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairmont Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Singapore

Address: 80 Bras Basah Rd, Singapore 189560, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#11 Family Hotel in Singapore
#12 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Singapore
#16 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#19 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Singapore 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Singapore hotel is ideally situated at the crossroads of Singapore's business, cultural, entertainment and shopping districts. It offers 769 luxurious guestrooms and suites, a collection of 16 distinctive restaurants and bars and 70,000 square feet of prime meeting space - all supported by our Singapore hotel's award-winning service teams.In addition, guests of Fairmont Singapore have access to the Willow Stream Spa, one of the largest spa facilities in Asia, offering the best in spa and fitness services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Fairmont Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Singapore Hotel Singapore
Raffles Plaza Singapore
Singapore Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.