We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All Good Save For One Hitch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swissotel Merchant Court

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Swissotel Merchant Court to your Saves list
Swissotel Merchant Court
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Merchant Road, Singapore 058281, Singapore   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Seasonal Saver - 20% off
Ranked #46 of 293 Hotels in Singapore
Singapore
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“All Good Save For One Hitch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My recent stay at Swissotel Merchant Court was pleasant. The team members I encountered did their very best to provide their level best in hospitality and service, with the exception of one gentleman.

My booking was for an executive floor room and I was assigned a room on the same floor as the lounge. How convenient! I only managed to drop by the lounge on the evening I arrived though. It was filled with guests and the team members were helpful and non-intrusive. The food laid out on the buffet counter was typical of any club floor lounge, not too filling but yet enticing. After all, there is a reason they call it evening cocktails, not dinner.

Now for the hitch! Wanting to ask for an extended checkout time proofed to be quite a challenge for a male team member. He out rightly refused to accord me the late checkout and when I asked that he at least check, he said bluntly that he knew what the occupancy was the day after. I would rather he take the time to go through the motion of checking and even if the answer was going to be negative, at least there was an attempt to do so. Remember that what the guest does not see would not hurt.

That aside, I did not allow this disservice to mar my stay and I will gladly return again.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    946
    1,062
    342
    113
    39
See reviews for
497
976
179
460
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

It was our first family trip with two babies. Eldest one is 2.5 years old, younger one is only 3 months old. The room is considered bigger space compare to other hotel we went before in Singapore. We requested baby cots and the housekeeping sent us fast. Glad that my kids love the baby cot and it was really clean and comfortable.

The location is great. Just cross the road then you can find lots of food in shopping mall. At night, we brought two children to walk along the Singapore River. Stroller friendly is very important to family like us.

The only thing is you can hear clearly people talking while they pass by your room. And of course the TV cabinet is not suitable though the drawer is quite useful.

Room Tip: Request for a quieter room if you are light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed there last week during a quick business trip to Singapore. Super fast check in with the usual Singapore efficiency. The room was spacious with a great bathroom. They could remove the bathtub for a shower though.

Bed was comfortable, but the TV was at an angle which cannot be viewed from the bed.... Maybe my room had that quirk.

The breakfast was great with really attentive and a good spread.

Finally....the location is bang on Clarke quay.. MRT next door and the business district a short walk away.. Best of all worlds..

Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I arrived at 11:30 pm after an 8 hour flight. The only thing I wanted was to have some food and a good sleep. That didn't happen. By the time I arrived, all restaurants were closed. My only option was room service that had a very limited menu. I ordered chicken satay which is pretty simple to make. It took several follow-up calls, including 2 calls with the manager-on-duty, for my food to arrive almost 45 minutes later! I asked that the food and beverage manager call me the next day to discuss, I never received shall call which shows how much they care about their guests. When I was finally able to go to bed at around 1 am, there was lots of noise from the hallway. You could hear other room's doors opening and closing, people chating. Also, the rooms are pretty small. Sad hotel.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagano
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel is located in the central of Clark Quey.
It is very convenient for sightseeing,dinning,etc.

And this hotel has an exciting outside pool with two slider. My son,5years old,enjoyed it everyday.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooee Bay
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Excellent. Staff were the best we encountered in our 2 months away from home. Porters, lobby chech in and out, pool staff, bar staff were all of high standard. The hotel grounds were lovely, tidy and relaxing. Overall feeling of being special.



  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

After our unpleasant trip to Europe its a heartwarming to be welcome in this nice hotel, we arrive super early, our baby were sleeping, but the staff very helpful by giving us a room that fit our standard and she even gave us a breakfast compliment thats quite helping for us after 12 hours sitting in plane.
This hotel show it age, but still well manage and the facilities quite modern, you dont only find water-heater for tea and coffee, but you get new nespresso machine! You also get a nice dock speaker to turn your iPhone/ iPod, overall its a NICE EXPERIENCE :)

Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Swissotel Merchant Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Merchant Court

Address: 20 Merchant Road, Singapore 058281, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#31 Family Hotel in Singapore
#34 Business Hotel in Singapore
#34 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#42 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#46 Top resorts Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Merchant Court 4*
Number of rooms: 476
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissôtel Merchant Court is situated right in the heart of the city centre, by the banks of the Singapore River and close to Clarke Quay and Chinatown, offering exciting dining and entertainment facilities. The hotel is beside the Clarke Quay MRT (subway). Facilities include a choice of 2 restaurants, 2 bars, the Amrita Spa & Wellness, a resort style swimming pool and 24-hour fitness centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Venere, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Swissotel Merchant Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Merchant Court Hotel Singapore
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swissotel Merchant Court, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;