We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swissotel Merchant Court

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Swissotel Merchant Court to your Saves list
Swissotel Merchant Court
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Merchant Road, Singapore 058281, Singapore   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Endless Weekends
Ranked #46 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Camden South
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

A hotel with old world charm, but modern facilities. Location right near trains, Clark Quay and Boat Quay.Rooms a good size. Signing up to their free loyalty program enables free access to wi fi internet.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, General Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Christine M,

Thank you for your kind compliments. I am delighted to hear that you and your partner had a pleasant stay with us and my team and I look forward to welcoming you back again at Swissôtel Merchant Court in the near future.

Warm regards,
Rainer Tenius
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,004
    1,140
    363
    121
    41
See reviews for
530
1,037
192
495
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Swissotel Merchant Court is one of the best hotels in Singapore in my opinion. Every little detail the hotel has prepared for its guests is absolutely impressive. From the moment I arrived, I could feel the warm welcome everywhere. The hotel offers very fast check-in process and requires little effort to fill in boring documents. Hotel personnel are polite and most of them are capable of giving me advice in English. The bedroom looks contemporary and cozy with little balcony that offers quite a stunning view (please look at my photos). The room greets me with free drinking water and chocolates as well as daily newspaper every day. I also love the fact that the location of the hotel is excellent (see the map I post). It is close to many tourist spots. From the hotel, I can walk to China town to buy great souvenirs as well as strolling along the Singapore River to explore Clarke Quay and its many neighboring quays.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 5th floor is 20% more expensive but you will get great river view from your balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, General Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear piyawadee11,

Thank you for the kind review on your stay at Swissôtel Merchant Court. I am truly honoured and heartened by your generous compliments. Your commendations will certainly act as an encouragement for my team and I to always improve and serve you better. We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Singapore in the near future.

Warm regards,
Rainer Tenius
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We chose this hotel for a family get-together and it proved ideal for our grandchildren and their parents. Their interconnecting rooms were great and the facilities for the children were impressive. (The hotel had asked in advance for their ages.) My husband and I had a Swiss Advantage room which seemed no different in size and furnishings from a classic room except that we had a nespresso machine and our wi-fi was free. We appreciated the iron and ironing board and we also had a nice view over to the river.
The hotel looks rather dated and we found the reception area rather dreary but the swimming pool was excellent.
When booking our accommodation (which we did direct) we had to make various changes over the months but my emails were always answered promptly and efficiently and all our requirements were met. However at the hotel not all the reception staff seemed totally competent; despite having received written confirmation that a cot would be provided for our grandson we were told on arrival that we could have a cot 'if one was available'. Until a senior manager intervened it was also said to be impossible for us to pay for our family's rooms in advance.
As tourists we thought the hotel was in a perfect location - right next to the MRT station and with numerous restaurants along the quays.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, General Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Jinty27,

Thank you for the kind review on your recent stay with us at Swissôtel Merchant Court. I am pleased to hear that you and your family had an enjoyable stay with us but allow me to apologise for the areas that did not meet with your expectations. My team and I look forward to your return visit soon.

Warm regards,
Rainer Tenius
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Great location although a little noisy.
Room was very good and balcony over the canal was lovely. The WiFi was really good with no dropouts ...
Would return to this motel if we head to Singapore again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, General Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Kim T,

Thank you for choosing kind review. I am pleased to hear that you and your partner enjoyed your stay with us. My team and I are honoured by your support and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Warm regards,
Rainer Tenius
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

An attractive property in a great location. Staff were very welcoming. Comfortable rooms and spacious bathrooms. No noise from Clarke Quay in the rooms. Lovely pool/poolside area. Great breakfast buffet.


  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, General Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear JaneW255103,

Thank you for choosing Swissôtel Merchant Court as your preferred accommodation in Singapore. I am truly pleased to note that you and your friends have enjoyed your stay with us. My team and I look forward to welcoming you again on your next return soon.

Warm regards,
Rainer Tenius
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

First time staying in a Swissotel. We had a free room upgrade as we booked directly via the hotel website. We were impressed with the upgraded room (free wifi, Nespresso coffee machine, TWG tea bags, toothbrushes, bathrobes etc) and the complimentary chocolates yummy - a nice touch. Room was spacious and very clean. Location is good, next to the MRT station and also within walking distance to Chinatown. Stayed for 2 nights and will return for more.

Room Tip: Book your room directly via the hotel website for the free upgrade. Well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, General Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear kykhoo,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Swissôtel Merchant Court on your visit to Singapore. I am pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed the convenience of our hotel location, our chocolates, the comfort of our rooms and our Swiss hospitality. My team and I are truly heartened by your support and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Warm regards,
Rainer Tenius
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Used this hotel for a 2 night stop over on the way to Brisbane. This hotel is clean and roomy, it's big plus is its location. It is right next to Clarke Quay, which is a wonderful place to eat and get transport. The 'hop on hop off' bus is just the other side of the Quay. China town is just around the corner. The airport was about 15 mins in a taxi. We stayed on a B &B package and found the breakfast good quality and plentiful. Downside no wifi but that didn't matter too much as there is a Starbucks just outside with free wifi.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, General Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Linda M,

Thank you for your kind review. I am pleased to hear that you and your partner had an enjoyable stay with us. I would like take this opportunity to invite you to join as our Swissôtel Circle member, where you will be able to enjoy free Internet access at all Swissôtel Hotels & Resorts worldwide. Membership is complimentary and can be applied on www.circle.swissotel.com. My team and I look forward to welcome you back again at Swissôtel Merchant Court.

Warm regards,
Rainer Tenius
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swissotel Merchant Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Merchant Court

Address: 20 Merchant Road, Singapore 058281, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#35 Family Hotel in Singapore
#36 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#41 Business Hotel in Singapore
#42 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Merchant Court 4*
Number of rooms: 476
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissôtel Merchant Court is situated right in the heart of the city centre, by the banks of the Singapore River and close to Clarke Quay and Chinatown, offering exciting dining and entertainment facilities. The hotel is beside the Clarke Quay MRT (subway). Facilities include a choice of 2 restaurants, 2 bars, the Amrita Spa & Wellness, a resort style swimming pool and 24-hour fitness centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Swissotel Merchant Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Merchant Court Hotel Singapore
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swissotel Merchant Court, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.