We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel welcome ever!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Swissotel Merchant Court

Save Saved
You added Swissotel Merchant Court to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Swissotel Merchant Court
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Merchant Road, Singapore 058281, Singapore   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Seasonal Saver - 20% off
Ranked #45 of 293 Hotels in Singapore
Balzers, Liechtenstein
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Worst hotel welcome ever!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Me and my parents arrived just before 2pm in the hotel, where we had booked two rooms. First I was asked about our bed preference. I said King size bed for my parents, and for me as well. The reply was, "Sorry, we only have single size bed". Then I told her why she is asking at all?
Then we were told that our rooms are not free yet, only after 5pm Another two guests were checking in next to us, and they told them the same. As I had a meeting at 4 pm, and wanted to shower, change and get fresh, this was not acceptable to me.
So we had been arguing back and forth, and at the end my parents got a room with a King Size bed and I was told to wait for after 4pm. This whole process took at least 45 minutes. A check in at Changi Airport and proceed to gate can be done within less time!
Then we went to my parents room and had been waiting for the luggage. After quite a while I called the reception and asked whether I have to come done and get the luggage myself. After this call a friendly staff brought us the suitcases.
As time elapsed, I had to leave the hotel without changing and showering. When I got back, I could have the room next to my parents - and surprisingly it had a King Size bed. But then the internet was not working, and again I had to call the reception two times. Meanwhile I was really pissed about this hotel.
We had our rooms in the 2nd floor, and the whole night you had noise, as they have been pushing trolleys in the corridor a couple of times.
The tiles in the bathroom had many scratches, and some were even broken. But lets say something positive: The rooms were spacious and the breakfast buffet was good. Nothing to complain about the breakfast.
With breakfast and Internet, the room cost me definitely too much. I think you can find better rooms, with friendlier staff and better location for less.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear marcovogt,

We regret to learn that your stay with us was not up to your expectations and would like to extend our profound apologies for the disappointment caused. Please be assured that we take a very serious approach on each feedback received and will constantly look into every area so as to improve our level of service standards and facilities.

We hope for an opportunity to welcome you back and provide you with warm hospitality and service standards that you have come to expect.

Warm regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    937
    1,053
    339
    112
    39
See reviews for
489
974
178
454
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Basel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Very enjoyable stay with very attentive and supportive staff going he extra mile. Thanks a lot. Especially teh concierge service was very supportive. Will surely drop by again in the near future. Thanks to all staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Franz D,

Thank you for the compliments. We will definitely convey your praises to our team members and we look forward to welcome you with our warm Swiss hospitality again soon.

Warm regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

A big hotel but still managed to have a friendly vibe. Very comfortable with good facilities. Excellent location with lots of sights within walking distance or easily reached by mrt. Lots of choice for eating and drinking in the locality. Singapore is clean and felt very safe, so were able to freely wander in and around day and night.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Johndeirdre1,

Thank you for the kind review. We are happy to learn that you and your partner had a pleasant time at our hotel and enjoyed yourselves in Singapore. We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Really decent 4 star hotel right on the river at Clarke Quay in Singapore. Terrific location right near subway station, within a few minutes walks of heaps of restaurants and enough shopping. Easy access to the CBD, Chinatown and then anywhere else by train/taxi is pretty close. Marina Bay was a $7-8 taxi ride away. The rooms are just standard 4 star hotel rooms but well maintained and the pool area is nice, relaxed and a good place to cool down from the singapore heat.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear adamontour,

Thank you for choosing Swissôtel Merchant Court as your preferred accommodation in Singapore. We are delighted to hear that you and your partner enjoyed the stay with us and we look forward to your return visit.

Warm regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We arrived 8 hours early due to a flight change. The front desk staff made sure that were comfortable while we waited (shower and luggage storage) even a free drink. The room was made available early also.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Andrew L,

Thank you for staying with us and your compliments on our friendly team members. We look forward to welcoming you and your family with our warm Swiss hospitality as always on your next trip to Singapore.

Warm regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Good location for the metro/ underground connection, Singapore river right in front of the hotel. Breakfast choices are good varieties with healthy fruits, fruit juices and Western plus Asian dishes. Ask the concierge for what you need to buy, they will give you good tips...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Bui H,
Thank you for the kind review. We are pleased to hear that you and your partner enjoyed the stay and we look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

My husband and stay one night in this lovely Hotel. The staff is courteous and friendly and we had a good room with wifi, Nespresso coffee etc. The buffet dinner was fabulous and suits all tastes. It has a very central location very close to Clark Quay Riverside where you have plenty of restaurants and bars with live music and where you can make a small cruise of 40 mins to see beautiful Singapore by night.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear mariasilvestre,
Thank you for choosing Swissôtel Merchant Court as your preferred accommodation in Singapore. We are delighted to note that you and your spouse had a memorable time and we look forward to welcoming both of you again on your next trip to Singapore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swissotel Merchant Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Merchant Court

Address: 20 Merchant Road, Singapore 058281, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#29 Family Hotel in Singapore
#30 Business Hotel in Singapore
#34 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#41 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#45 On the Beach Hotel in Singapore
#45 Top resorts Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Merchant Court 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissôtel Merchant Court is situated right in the heart of the city centre, by the banks of the Singapore River and close to Clarke Quay and Chinatown, offering exciting dining and entertainment facilities. The hotel is beside the Clarke Quay MRT (subway). Facilities include a choice of 2 restaurants, 2 bars, the Amrita Spa & Wellness, a resort style swimming pool and 24-hour fitness centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Swissotel Merchant Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Merchant Court Hotel Singapore
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swissotel Merchant Court, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.