We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big rooms but an old hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Swissotel Merchant Court

Save Saved
You added Swissotel Merchant Court to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Swissotel Merchant Court
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Merchant Road, Singapore 058281, Singapore   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Seasonal Saver - 20% off
Ranked #43 of 292 hotels in Singapore
Hyderabad
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Big rooms but an old hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

A typical old American/European style hotel. Rooms are big for its location. Great location if you want to party hard at Clarke quay. Bang on the Quay! Metro station is easily accessible which is a huge plus, close to Orchard road too. Food is decent. The rooms badly need up gradation, they are clean but look quite old. Doesn't have health faucet which should be a norm in Asian countries. Rooms facing the road are quite noisy. This is another drawback.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Scorpionxylo,

Thank you for choosing Swissôtel Merchant Court on your visit to Singapore. Pleased be assured that we are looking into every area so as to provide all our guests with the high level of product quality. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,335 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    876
    1,000
    323
    103
    33
See reviews for
437
911
167
424
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
USA
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Located near the central business district but only a 20 minute cab ride to my work location in Yishun. Easy to take in Clark Quay restaurants and Chinatown is also very nearby. The hotel is modern and very comfortable. Service good. Breakfast in the morning is a good mix of Euro/Asian food. Lastly, pool is big enough for lap swimming and workout facilities more than adequate.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Ken_LAF,

Thank you for your compliments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back at Swissôtel Merchant Court in the near future.

Warm regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Have stayed in many hotels in Singapore but reckon the position of S.M.C.is most important. $5 taxi to Casino at Marina bay......on good bus routes to China town ..Little India and the Arab district. M.R.T. next door under Central shopping centre and the whole island is at your disposal. The hotel is directly on the river at Clarke Quay. 7/11 just next door very handy.
Rooms are nothing special to write home about and hotel is getting old but staff are very cooperative ( usually next day) if you want a change of room for whatever reason. Pool area on level 2 is great for chilling out at night while observing the hordes down below. Very colourful.
Best location in Singapore.

Room Tip: level 2 for pool access
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear WAfromWA,

Thank you for choosing Swissôtel Merchant Court on your visit to Singapore and we are pleased to learn that you and your partner enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The hotel is very conveniently located allowing to explore the city and it's surroundings. Have a fine glass of wine at the hotel's outside bar with a magnificent view on Clarke Quay.
Friendly staff make you feel welcome. We definitely enjoyed our stay and will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear slkash,

Thank you for your compliments. We are pleased to hear that you had an excellent stay with us at Swissôtel Merchant Court and we hope to see you return in the near future.

Warm regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This hotel is old....is regular... with no style or personality. Is it for real a 5 star??
Well.. during our stay in Singapore we tried this Hotel and also Parkroyal on pickering (5 min from SwissHotel) and Marina Bay sands.

For the amount of money spent I would never suggest you to stay in SwissHotel! Go Parkroyal!!
Breakfast was disgusting... I left everything and came back to my room.

The only positive side of this hotel is the location, is in front of Clarke Quay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear annanol,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience. We would like to extend our sincere apology for the disappointment caused on your recent stay with us. Please be assured that we are constantly looking into every area so as to improve our level of standards and facilities.

We hope for an opportunity to welcome you back and provide you with warm hospitality and service standards that you have come to expect.

Warm regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

My 5 day/night stay in Singapore was designed to indulge in local food, and to experience the city as much as possible as a "local". Swissotel Merchant Court provided an ideal location to do just that. MRT station right below, Bus Stop right in front; and the Water Taxi/River Cruise a minute's walk away. And only 5 minute walk to Chinatown
Check in/Check out was efficient and professional. The Classic Room was very comfortable, clean and all the amenities I needed. The concierge, and door staff were always friendly and helpful; and housekeeping kept my room well stocked and clean in a timely manner.
I did not utilize the Hotel's recreation and dining amenities given the objective of my visit to Singapore. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Swissotel Merchant Court and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear ajmelbaus,

Thank you for sharing your delightful experience with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the room amenities and our Swiss hospitality and we look forward to see you at Swissôtel Merchant Court on your return visit to Singapore.

Warm regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This is a nice hotel and the location is great. Clark Quay is about 30 seconds walk away and it's a great spot to grab a drink. The room was very big and the service was excellent. No complaints about this hotel at all.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear traveler123500,

Thank you for your kind review of your stay with us. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed the comfort and our Swiss hospitality. Thank you for choosing Swissôtel Merchant Court and we look forward to your next visit soon.

Warm regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Swissotel Merchant Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Merchant Court

Address: 20 Merchant Road, Singapore 058281, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#30 Family Hotel in Singapore
#33 Business Hotel in Singapore
#33 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#40 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Merchant Court 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissôtel Merchant Court is situated right in the heart of the city centre, by the banks of the Singapore River and close to Clarke Quay and Chinatown, offering exciting dining and entertainment facilities. The hotel is beside the Clarke Quay MRT (subway). Facilities include a choice of 2 restaurants, 2 bars, the Amrita Spa & Wellness, a resort style swimming pool and 24-hour fitness centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Despegar.com so you can book your Swissotel Merchant Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Merchant Court Hotel Singapore
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swissotel Merchant Court, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.