We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The price is probably right for Singapore” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Swissotel Merchant Court

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Swissotel Merchant Court to your Saves list
Swissotel Merchant Court
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Merchant Road, Singapore 058281, Singapore   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Endless Weekends
Ranked #46 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The price is probably right for Singapore”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stayed here for a few nights late April 2013. Good location with plenty of eateries nearby and an easy walk to Chinatown for cheap eats and shopping. Plenty to do along the river and a short cab ride to nearly anywhere. Great access to the MRT which is the only way to travel in Singapore.

The check-in was smooth and the hotel is quite nice with a good pool and spa area - restaurant pool-side good,

Rooms are large (but tired) and in Singapore would have to say value for money.

Room Tip: Definitely worth an upgrade from a "tired" Classic room to an Executive (or higher).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Travelap,

Glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to Swissôtel Merchant Court for another unforgettable experience.


Warm regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,004
    1,141
    363
    121
    41
See reviews for
530
1,037
192
496
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Quakers Hill
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Very happy with our stay, would definately stay again. Excellent fitness, pool and executive facilities. Catered for my family needs very well. high level of friendly and efficient service throughout the whole hotel. Well located and maintained.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear James R,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor.

We are happy to learn that you enjoyed the hotel’s facilities and our Swiss hospitality.

Hope you had a fun-filled family vacation in Singapore and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon.


Warm regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

If you are looking for a comfortable yet refreshing stay along one of the most beautiful rivers of Singapore, this is the place to be. Excellent service from the team of Swissotel will make you smile. I know i enjoyed my stay, and i know you will too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Wei Jing H,

Thank you for choosing Swissôtel Merchant Court as your preferred accommodation and we are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay.

We hope to see you again, hopefully in the not too distant future.


Warm regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

The Stamford name is one that is synonymous with luxury. This hotel doesn't quite live up to that reputation. The staff member at check in was great. The room with a pool and clarke quay view and large king bed was comfortable but small. The bed was showing signs of age. The bathroom was a bit old and the sink tap had no pressure what so ever. The nozzle spray style should be replaced with a standard single stream tap.

The location across the road from the MRT is convenient and places you with easy access to a lot of Singapore. A standard hotel with standard rooms - an enjoyable stay but not a memorable one.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear engineerJ87,

Thank you for sharing your feedback.

We sincerely regret to learn that your recent stay with us was not up to your expectations. However, we wish to assure you that we always strive to ensure the best possible experience for our guests during their stay.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back and provide you with warm hospitality and high service standards that you have come to expect.


Warm regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This was the second week of a business trip having spent the first week in Taipei and then moving on to Singapore. I arrived on a Saturday and the family to join me a day later.

I had arranged for an extra bed in the room for my daughter (15), but days before my arrival, she said it would be good if she didn't have to share with mum and dad. Said I would see what I could do.

On arrival I was greeted by Gordon at reception and told him of my problem, what a wonderful young man and a great management team behind him, it took some doing but he managed to sort out adjoining rooms for me, just meant I had to change rooms after the first night, but that was not a problem. this was service excellence.

When my wife and daughter arrived on the Sunday night (after a few problems of their own with flights from Aus) the extra formalities at check-in were over in a flash as Gordon was on duty again and knew what was happening.

The rooms are big and clean and with the ability of the adjoining rooms to create a single entry from the hall the family was certainly pleased.

The location is great being right on Clarke Quay and close to China town.

The pool area and Blue Potato are great and with the wireless I even managed to spnd a few hours on the Sunday whilst waiting for the family to arrive, doing real work by the pool side, even managed to empty my inbox.

This is the 3rd or 4th time I have stayed here and will again make it my #1 choice in Singapore, it may not be as flashy as some of the others but location and Service are excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Ross L,

The hotel takes pride in creating memorable hotel experiences for our guests and we are thrilled that Mr Gordon made your stay an excellent one. Your compliments motivate us in our continuous pursuit for perfection.

We hope you had a great time in Singapore during your business trip and short family vacation, and will certainly look forward to welcoming you and your family back for another wonderful experience at Swissôtel Merchant Court.


Warm regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banksia Grove
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Stayed at this hotel last October for a uni trip and loved it. Had a few problems last stay regarding the front desk, but this time was great. The concierge had one older man that was very grumpy and made me feel unwelcome, but then there was another lady who was fantastic. I can't remember her name. I think she is slightly older, short, dark hair. But if I could remember her name I would like to say thanks to her.

For a hotel of this standard it's annoying having to pay for the wifi so we just left it. You pay enough for the hotel, you should get wifi included.

The rooms are clean and comfortable. The pool area is great, and the food at Blue Potato was nice.

Location is great - right next to all the food places, and cheap to get a taxi to most places.

Also, if you are considering doing a day trip to the zoo, there is a SAExpress bus stop right across the road which is great. $5 each way for a direct bus to the place, or an expensive taxi (because it is far away)

Overall, I love this hotel and will be coming back next time. If you have time/can afford it, try out the breakfast and dinner in the main restaurant. I did last time, and the food was great!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Crystal Jane T,

We are pleased to convey your compliments to our team member, Ms Chor Yee.

Please be informed that by joining our loyalty programme - Swissôtel Circle, you can enjoy complimentary Internet access during your stay in all Swissôtels worldwide. For more details, please visit www.circle.swissotel.com.

Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you and your partner back in the near future.


Warm regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seria, Kb, Brunei
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We had 2 nights in the Swissotel. We took two rooms that are connected, not internally, you get a front door and then a small hall with the two rooms from there. The rooms where spacious and the kids room was prepared with all kids stuff and soft toys (nice touch) they loved it! We have 3 kids, the rooms where spacious and everything worked fine....the extra bed was in the room made up and ready to go - which is great because we got in late in the evening and in many other hotels we had the pain off waiting for the extra bed.... so well down to the Swissotel team. So for a family Hotel it was exactly what we wanted.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear 625tess,

We are pleased to learn that you and your family enjoyed the room amenities and our Swiss hospitality.

Thank you for choosing Swissôtel Merchant Court as your preferred accommodation during your family vacation and we certainly look forward to welcoming you and your family back, hopefully in the not too distant future.


Warm regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swissotel Merchant Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Merchant Court

Address: 20 Merchant Road, Singapore 058281, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#35 Family Hotel in Singapore
#36 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#40 Business Hotel in Singapore
#42 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Merchant Court 4*
Number of rooms: 476
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissôtel Merchant Court is situated right in the heart of the city centre, by the banks of the Singapore River and close to Clarke Quay and Chinatown, offering exciting dining and entertainment facilities. The hotel is beside the Clarke Quay MRT (subway). Facilities include a choice of 2 restaurants, 2 bars, the Amrita Spa & Wellness, a resort style swimming pool and 24-hour fitness centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Swissotel Merchant Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Merchant Court Hotel Singapore
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swissotel Merchant Court, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.