We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“May 2013” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swissotel Merchant Court

Save Saved
You added Swissotel Merchant Court to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Swissotel Merchant Court
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Merchant Road, Singapore 058281, Singapore   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Seasonal Saver - 20% off
Ranked #43 of 291 hotels in Singapore
Carramar Wa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“May 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Great hotel, fantastic location. Breakfast Buffet expensive but the café was fantastic. So close to transport, shopping and Clarke Quay. We did not have a view from our room but we spent so little time it did not matter.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Amanda Kim G,

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel’s location and we hope to extend our warm hospitality to you and your partner again on your next trip to Singapore.


Warm regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,300 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    862
    982
    320
    103
    33
See reviews for
429
895
166
419
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Madeley
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Stayed here 3 nights in Club Room with Breakfast included, and access to Club Lounge and services, could not fault service or location. Quiet, even though located next to Clarke Quay. Staff looked after us, and helped make our 25th Wedding Anniversary even more special. Have stayed in more expensive hotel in Singapore, this one beats it hands down!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Richard W,

Thank you for your positive feedback. The hotel takes pride in creating memorable hotel experiences for our guests and we are thrilled that your anniversary stay was a joyful one. Your compliments motivate us in our continuous pursuit for perfection.

We hope you had a wonderful time in Singapore and we look forward to your next visit soon.


Warm regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Swissotel is a comfortable hotel with good facilities. The location is ideal - Clarke key is on the doorstep, full of nice bars and resteraunts. Within walking distance o many attractions including Raffles Hotel 5 mins walk to Chinatown would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Paul C,

We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay.

We hope you had a great time exploring Singapore and we look forward to welcoming you and your partner back in the near future.


Warm regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed at the Swissotel the end December 2013 on route to OZ........the hotel is in a great location in Clarke Quay........, the rooms are bright and airy , we had a club room overlooking the river which was amazing, the beds very were very comfy and the bathrooms had beautiful fluffy towels and luxury toiletries ........The staff at the hotel are very polite and tend to your every need.......all in all we had a pleasant enjoyable stay at the Swissotel Merchant Court Hotel .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Terryandkay,

Thank you for the lovely feedback.

We are delighted to learn that you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed the room amenities.

We hope you had a lovely time in Singapore during your stopover and we hope to welcome you back to Swissôtel Merchant Court soon.


Warm regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bibra Lake
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Loved everything about the hotel the location at Clarke Quay was fantastic lots of bars & restaurants the room was very spacious the bathroom was separate to the sleeping area & the breakfast yum!! So much choice the staff very friendly and helpful ! Definitely staying there again next time .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Vicki A,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast at our award-winning Ellenborough Market Café and we certainly look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Singapore.


Warm regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This hotel faces Clarke Quay, which makes it a great location for eating out at night and going for a ride in a bumboat. It is also a short distance from Clarke Quay metro stop, which is only one stop away from Orchard Road. We unfortunately could not get a room with a view of the river, but were happy with our room facing in with a view of palm trees. The room was large, clean, comfy, quiet and cool. Downside: the feather and down doona is far too hot for Singapore's climate. We ended up removing the doona and sleeping only with the cover on Staff very attentive and helpful. Breakfast room is huge with a large selection to suit all nationalites.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river view or pool/palm tree view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Virginia096,

Thank you for the valuable feedback and we are pleased that you and your partner had a pleasant stay.

We hope you had a wonderful time exploring Singapore and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Warm regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

terrible experience to stay in this hotel, I lost my neck chain in this hotel, someone has stolen it from my room in the drawer. very terrible staff and the their attitude as well. Do be careful if you are going to stay there!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Runjie R,

We thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. We sincerely regret to learn that your stay with us was not up to your expectations as we always strive to ensure the best possible experience for our guests during their stay.

Unfortunately despite our best efforts, we were unable to locate your lost necklace. Nonetheless, we hope for an opportunity in the near future to provide you with the warm hospitality and high service standards that you have come to expect.


Warm regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Swissotel Merchant Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Merchant Court

Address: 20 Merchant Road, Singapore 058281, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#32 Family Hotel in Singapore
#33 Business Hotel in Singapore
#33 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#40 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#43 Top resorts Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Merchant Court 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissôtel Merchant Court is situated right in the heart of the city centre, by the banks of the Singapore River and close to Clarke Quay and Chinatown, offering exciting dining and entertainment facilities. The hotel is beside the Clarke Quay MRT (subway). Facilities include a choice of 2 restaurants, 2 bars, the Amrita Spa & Wellness, a resort style swimming pool and 24-hour fitness centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Swissotel Merchant Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Merchant Court Hotel Singapore
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swissotel Merchant Court, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.