We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Swissotel Merchant COurt experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swissotel Merchant Court

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Swissotel Merchant Court to your Saves list
Swissotel Merchant Court
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Merchant Road, Singapore 058281, Singapore (The Quays)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Shopping Secrets Package
Ranked #56 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reid
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Our Swissotel Merchant COurt experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We have been staying at the Merchant Court Hotel for many years (from shortly after it opened) and we love it. The staff are friendly and efficient for what is basically a hotel for business or transit stop overs. It has great facilities and is in a great location. There is a large varied selection of food available for breakfast. Clarke Quay with a multitude of restaurants is a short walk across the bridge, there is an MRT stop right next door (the only way to travel in SIngapore), and it is close to Chinatown (easy walk or one MRT stop). It has a warm feeling to it unlike for example the Mandarin and Novotel where we have stayed previously that were very sterile. We will be staying there again in November this year.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Anthony William B,

Thank you for your feedback and thank you for your kind compliments . It is through your feedback that allows us to continuously improve on our service and offerings, and we are glad that you have enjoyed staying with us over the years.

We look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit in November.


Warmest Regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,168
    1,324
    424
    139
    51
See reviews for
633
1,225
201
584
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (490)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Gorgeous hotel in the heart of Singapore! Elegant and understated. VERY close to restaurants and spa services of Chinatown. Awesome outdoor pool, accommodating staff, and although I'm not a tea drinker, some of the tastiest teas I've ever sampled are complimentary (in room). The beds are like clouds, and although I couldn't wait to get out of it, I really didn't want to! Could've spent the entire time wrapped in those crisp, cool sheets! Can't wait to go back.....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear dakine747,

Thank you for your feedback and compliments.

We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and hope you had a great time exploring Clarke Quay and the shops at Chinatown. We are also pleased to hear that you enjoyed our pool and especially the in-room TWG tea selections.

Thank you for choosing Swissôtel Merchant Court as your preferred accommodation and we look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit to Singapore.


Warm regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Streamwood
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

All the employees were very courteous and professional. The hotel is very nice. The rooms are adequate. The location couldn't be better. Your in the center of a lot of sites within walking distance ( 1-2 miles) radius. i.e Clark Quay, Bout Quay, Robertson's Quay, Chimes, Bogis, China Town , the waterfront. The MRT station is right at the hotel. Other locations are not a problem, there is a taxi waiting almost all the time if not a couple minute wait time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear David N,

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and that our service lived up to your expectations.

We are glad that you enjoyed the convenience of the hotel’s location and hope you had a wonderful time walking to places like Chinatown and Robertson Quay. Thank you for choosing Swissôtel Merchant Court as your preferred accommodation and we look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit to Singapore.


Warm regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamnik, Slovenia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

FACTS
Positive:
* good location
* professional and helpful staff

Negative:
* breakfast could be better for a five star hotel (more food selection). Coffee and tea is served in inappropriate cups.
* room could be more professionally cleaned
* room without balcony and poor views
* dirty and old towels in pool area
* man change room dirty
* expensive breakfast and WIFI access

Room Tip: Try to book a room with breakfast and WIFI included in the price. Other vice you will pay 15 SGD for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Tincek_757,

Thank you for your feedback for Swissôtel Merchant Court.

We sincerely apologise that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. Please rest assure that we are looking into every area to improve our level of service and facilities.

Once again, we sincerely apologise for all the inconvenience caused and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again on your next visit to Singapore.


Warmest Regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Eventhough this hotel has no fancy and shiny to show off, its location is ,imho, one of the best for both leisure and business traveler. And if you got their family room for their best rate available ,and also care to sign up for membership of swissotel, it become arguably one of the best value hotel in singapore. I got free wifi by showing membership card.
Access to clarkquay mrt is just in front of it, clarkquay nightspot area just a crossing river with bridge just meters away from hotel property.
There was yoga class on monday and thursday morning that could be better if provided everyday also in the afternoon.
Swimmingpool is no fancy but everything you need is provided, kids pool, whirlpool, even waterfall and slides.
It could be better if shower cubicles in changing room provided to be made larger/ wider.
Room layout is nice and efficient, only the bathtub that was too small for adult.
Central shopping centre and office is just in front of the hotel, so food is abundant and as foreigner they give me more advantage as i sign up by showing my passport.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear RRUFit,

Thank you for your feedback for Swissôtel Merchant Court. We are heartened that you and your family had a pleasant stay with us. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the hotel’s location and our Swiss hospitality.

Your positive comments are important and will assist us in improving and upholding our level of service and facilities.

We have duly noted on your feedback about the bathtub and the shower cubicles. We have highlighted this issue to the management team, and we sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused during your period of stay.

Once again, thank you for choosing Swissôtel Merchant Court as your preferred accommodation and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you and your family back again on your next visit to Singapore.


Warmest Regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innaloo
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Fantastic location next to Clark Quay. Excellent customer service from all staff, fast efficient check in even though we arrived hours before check in. Clean rooms, very comfy beds, slept like a baby!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Susanne C,

Thank you for your feedback for Swissôtel Merchant Court. We are heartened that you and your partner had a pleasant stay with us. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed our Swiss hospitality.

Your positive comments are important and will assist us in improving and upholding our level of service and facilities.

Once again, thank you for choosing Swissôtel Merchant Court as your preferred accommodation and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you and your partner back again on your next visit to Singapore.


Warmest Regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

No complaints for the rooms which were clean and comfortable. The hotel was also located a stone's throw away from Clarke Quay, where there's plenty of good food and trendy bars. My only feedback would be the processing time for checking out, which I queued for an hour. This is really unacceptable and I hope something the hotel can really improve on.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear moodyinsingapore,

Thank you for your feedback for Swissôtel Merchant Court. We are heartened that you had a pleasant stay with us. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the hotel’s location and our Swiss hospitality.

Your positive comments are important and will assist us in improving and upholding our level of service and facilities.

We sincerely apologise that your check-out time was delayed. We have duly noted your feedback and highlighted this issue to the Front Office Manager.

Once again, thank you for choosing Swissôtel Merchant Court as your preferred accommodation and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again on your next visit to Singapore.


Warmest Regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Swissotel Merchant Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Merchant Court

Address: 20 Merchant Road, Singapore 058281, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > The Quays
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#36 Family Hotel in Singapore
#39 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#43 Business Hotel in Singapore
#52 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Merchant Court 4*
Number of rooms: 476
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissôtel Merchant Court is situated right in the heart of the city centre, by the banks of the Singapore River and close to Clarke Quay and Chinatown, offering exciting dining and entertainment facilities. The hotel is beside the Clarke Quay MRT (subway). Facilities include a choice of 2 restaurants, 2 bars, the Amrita Spa & Wellness, a resort style swimming pool and 24-hour fitness centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Splendia, Agoda, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Swissotel Merchant Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Merchant Court Hotel Singapore
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swissotel Merchant Court, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.