We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Swissotel Merchant Court

Save Saved
You added Swissotel Merchant Court to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Swissotel Merchant Court
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Merchant Road, Singapore 058281, Singapore   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Seasonal Saver - 20% off
Ranked #44 of 292 hotels in Singapore
Kamnik, Slovenia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A bit disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

FACTS
Positive:
* good location
* professional and helpful staff

Negative:
* breakfast could be better for a five star hotel (more food selection). Coffee and tea is served in inappropriate cups.
* room could be more professionally cleaned
* room without balcony and poor views
* dirty and old towels in pool area
* man change room dirty
* expensive breakfast and WIFI access

Room Tip: Try to book a room with breakfast and WIFI included in the price. Other vice you will pay 15 SGD for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Tincek_757,

Thank you for your feedback for Swissôtel Merchant Court.

We sincerely apologise that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. Please rest assure that we are looking into every area to improve our level of service and facilities.

Once again, we sincerely apologise for all the inconvenience caused and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again on your next visit to Singapore.


Warmest Regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,382 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    899
    1,012
    329
    107
    35
See reviews for
465
938
172
437
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Eventhough this hotel has no fancy and shiny to show off, its location is ,imho, one of the best for both leisure and business traveler. And if you got their family room for their best rate available ,and also care to sign up for membership of swissotel, it become arguably one of the best value hotel in singapore. I got free wifi by showing membership card.
Access to clarkquay mrt is just in front of it, clarkquay nightspot area just a crossing river with bridge just meters away from hotel property.
There was yoga class on monday and thursday morning that could be better if provided everyday also in the afternoon.
Swimmingpool is no fancy but everything you need is provided, kids pool, whirlpool, even waterfall and slides.
It could be better if shower cubicles in changing room provided to be made larger/ wider.
Room layout is nice and efficient, only the bathtub that was too small for adult.
Central shopping centre and office is just in front of the hotel, so food is abundant and as foreigner they give me more advantage as i sign up by showing my passport.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear RRUFit,

Thank you for your feedback for Swissôtel Merchant Court. We are heartened that you and your family had a pleasant stay with us. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the hotel’s location and our Swiss hospitality.

Your positive comments are important and will assist us in improving and upholding our level of service and facilities.

We have duly noted on your feedback about the bathtub and the shower cubicles. We have highlighted this issue to the management team, and we sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused during your period of stay.

Once again, thank you for choosing Swissôtel Merchant Court as your preferred accommodation and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you and your family back again on your next visit to Singapore.


Warmest Regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innaloo
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Fantastic location next to Clark Quay. Excellent customer service from all staff, fast efficient check in even though we arrived hours before check in. Clean rooms, very comfy beds, slept like a baby!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Susanne C,

Thank you for your feedback for Swissôtel Merchant Court. We are heartened that you and your partner had a pleasant stay with us. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed our Swiss hospitality.

Your positive comments are important and will assist us in improving and upholding our level of service and facilities.

Once again, thank you for choosing Swissôtel Merchant Court as your preferred accommodation and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you and your partner back again on your next visit to Singapore.


Warmest Regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

No complaints for the rooms which were clean and comfortable. The hotel was also located a stone's throw away from Clarke Quay, where there's plenty of good food and trendy bars. My only feedback would be the processing time for checking out, which I queued for an hour. This is really unacceptable and I hope something the hotel can really improve on.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear moodyinsingapore,

Thank you for your feedback for Swissôtel Merchant Court. We are heartened that you had a pleasant stay with us. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the hotel’s location and our Swiss hospitality.

Your positive comments are important and will assist us in improving and upholding our level of service and facilities.

We sincerely apologise that your check-out time was delayed. We have duly noted your feedback and highlighted this issue to the Front Office Manager.

Once again, thank you for choosing Swissôtel Merchant Court as your preferred accommodation and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again on your next visit to Singapore.


Warmest Regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stopping over for a few days to break the long trip from Cape Town back to Adelaide, the Swissotel Merchant Court did not disappoint. Arriving at the hotel at 07:00am, long before the standard check-in time of 15:00pm, we were invited to leave our luggage with the concierge, and proceed to the pool area for a complimentary welcome drink and a swim while our room was readied for us. At 10:00am we were able to use our room. The room was well sized, with 2 queen size beds, and a very spacious bathroom. More than enough space for the three of us.

The hotel is located in Clarke Quay, and overlooks the river. Just across the road is the Central shopping centre. We used the taxis to get around, as they are cheap and quick.

The buffet in the Ellenborough Cafe is exceptional, if a little pricey. We also ate in Chinatown, which is a 10 minute walk from the hotel, and in Central shopping centre, where a large number of authentic Singaporean eateries are located.

After checking out at noon on our last day (our flight was at midnight that night), we were once again invited to leave our luggage with the concierge, and relax by the pool, have a shower, and only leave when we wanted to.

We were hugely impressed with the service levels we experienced during our stay, and without exception, every single member of the hotel staff that we interacted with made us feel both welcome and special. Next time we are in Singapore, this is where we'll stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Scott F,

Thank you for your feedback for Swissôtel Merchant Court. We are heartened that you and your family had a pleasant stay with us. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the hotel’s location and our Swiss hospitality.

Your positive comments are important and will assist us in improving and upholding our level of service and facilities. Having said that, we are heartened to hear that you are pleased with the hospitality service provided by our team members. Thank you for the compliment.

Once again, thank you for choosing Swissôtel Merchant Court as your preferred accommodation and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you and your family back again on your next visit to Singapore.


Warmest Regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyneton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We had no great expectations about this hotel as our stay was part of an organised tour itinerary but we were completely enchanted by everything, immediately felt part of the hotel family and thoroughly enjoyed the oriental ambience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Barbara P,

Thank you for your feedback for Swissôtel Merchant Court. We are heartened that you and your partner had a pleasant stay with us. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed our Swiss hospitality.

Your positive comments are important and will assist us in improving and upholding our level of service and facilities.

Once again, thank you for choosing Swissôtel Merchant Court as your preferred accommodation and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you and your partner back again on your next visit to Singapore.


Warmest Regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Stayed here in March for 3 nights. Decided on this hotel as directly on Clark Quay in the middle of the city. Transfer from airport with Taxi took about 25 minutes, with a small city tour. Our room was on the Executive Floor with free internet and breakfast. The room was very clean and well designed, with a large bathroom and a safe in the wardrobe. Breakfast was a very well stocked Buffet and was super to start the day off. The Staff were all friendly, especially at the Reception. The city tour buses start 5 minutes walk from the Hotel, the underground station was just around the corner and China Town is a ten minute walk away. On our next trip we will definatly stay here.

Room Tip: If your budget allows it go for an executive room on the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Kmk22864,

Thank you for your feedback for Swissôtel Merchant Court. We are heartened that you and your partner had a pleasant stay with us. We are pleased to know that you and your partner enjoyed the hotel’s location and our Swiss hospitality.

Your positive comments are important and will assist us in improving and upholding our level of service and facilities.

Once again, thank you for choosing Swissôtel Merchant Court as your preferred accommodation and we hope to be able to demonstrate better service upon your next visit to Singapore.


Warmest Regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swissotel Merchant Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Merchant Court

Address: 20 Merchant Road, Singapore 058281, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#30 Family Hotel in Singapore
#31 Business Hotel in Singapore
#34 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#41 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#44 On the Beach Hotel in Singapore
#44 Top resorts Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Merchant Court 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissôtel Merchant Court is situated right in the heart of the city centre, by the banks of the Singapore River and close to Clarke Quay and Chinatown, offering exciting dining and entertainment facilities. The hotel is beside the Clarke Quay MRT (subway). Facilities include a choice of 2 restaurants, 2 bars, the Amrita Spa & Wellness, a resort style swimming pool and 24-hour fitness centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Swissotel Merchant Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Merchant Court Hotel Singapore
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swissotel Merchant Court, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.