We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swissotel Merchant Court

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Swissotel Merchant Court to your Saves list
Swissotel Merchant Court
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Merchant Road, Singapore 058281, Singapore (The Quays)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Gurgaon, India
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great hotel with great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

It was my first trip to Singapore and everyone told me that this was a great hotel with great location. So I went ahead and booked myself here for 4 nights. It was a great experience. This hotel is like barely 150 metres from Clarke Quay which is the most happening area of Singapore. So if someone wants to have a great time clubbing and enjoying the Singapore nightlife and still be a short 2 minute walk from your hotel then this is the place.
Most of the things are pretty nearby though if you are planning to go to Business District, you would need a cab. So if someone is planning to work near Suntec City, then staying somewhere more close by is preferable if you want to stay a walk away from office. but for a holiday or family or couples, this hotel is great.
The checkin staff and other people are friendly and will cater to your whims and fancies. So if something is not on the buffet breakfast, you would get it if you ask for it.
so overall a great experience..

Room Tip: if you are planning to stay here, prefer to take a room with a "riverview" and "on hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear anubhav_gaur,

Thank you for your feedback for Swissôtel Merchant Court. We are pleased to know that you had a pleasant stay with us.

We are heartened to hear that you enjoyed the hotel’s location and our Swiss hospitality. Your positive feedback will help us in further upkeeping our level of service and products.

Once again, thank you for choosing Swissôtel Merchant Court as your preferred accommodation and we look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit to Singapore.


Warmest Regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,013 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,119
    1,292
    414
    137
    51
See reviews for
615
1,182
200
565
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Room was large, but dark and depressing, big bed with very comfortable mattress.
Room Wall papers in the room were tattered, carpeting was also dirty with stains. The same you can see everywhere in hotel.

On the first day I accidentally dropped empty pack of coffee and plastic box from sweats in my room. What do you think, all this rubbish was laying in my room for 7 days. Room staff didn’t clean the room at all; they are only changing towels but nothing more.

Hotel really was in good location with 5 steps from river, not too far from Marina Bay, Orchard Road or underground.
Hotel looks better outside than it is inside. I couldn't imagine how hotel could be so dirty but it’s true.

I will stay here again because of location and swimming pool, if I will get good discount but not paying full price.


The pictures are below.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Minute01,

Thank you for your feedback for Swissôtel Merchant Court. We are heartened to hear that you enjoyed the hotel’s location and our Swiss hospitality.

We sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused and we will look into the areas to further improve our level of service.

We have duly noted your feedback and will strive to improve and upkeep our level of service and facilities constantly. We hope to be able to demonstrate better service upon your next visit to Singapore.

Once again, thank you for choosing Swissôtel Merchant Court as your preferred accommodation and we look forward to welcoming you and your friends back again on your next visit to Singapore.


Warmest Regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights on business in April/May 2012 and have also stayed on two other occasions. This is a very good, resonable priced, convenient option if you have a few days in Singapore. The breakfast is excellent, the staff were always pleasant and attentive and also had two good lunches at the pool bar/cafe. All in all, a very good mid range option without any issues so would happily recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear The_Tr8vel_Bug,

Thank you for your feedback for Swissôtel Merchant Court. We are heartened that you had a pleasant stay with us. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the hotel’s location and our Swiss hospitality.

Your positive comments are important and will assist us in improving and upholding our level of service and facilities.

Once again, thank you for choosing Swissôtel Merchant Court as your preferred accommodation and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again on your next visit to Singapore.


Warmest Regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Consistently warm and friendly with a highly level of genuine service on every occasion. Nothing is ever a problem to any employee and you feel safe and secure. If you want a very good hotel with a very good cost base near to all the good shopping (an we have been visiting since 2009) it is hard to past Swisshotel Merchant Court.

Room Tip: Business Executive Suite with evening drinks and nibbles - great value. You always feel respected an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Territorytraveller69,

Thank you for your feedback for Swissôtel Merchant Court. We are heartened that you and your partner had a pleasant stay with us. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the hotel’s location and our Swiss hospitality.

Your positive comments are important and will assist us in improving and upholding our level of service and facilities.

Once again, thank you for choosing Swissôtel Merchant Court as your preferred accommodation and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you and your partner back again on your next visit to Singapore.


Warmest Regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Each time I come back to Singapore I stay in this hotel. I asked for a quit room because I have a light sleep. I got room 255 which is facing the mall & I liked it a lot. They serve the best breakfast in this hotel. They have such a huge variety of dishes & the cheese is great. I love to seat outside for breakfast having my cappucino and all the delicous pastries. Check-in & out was very smooth. The hotel is on the river with all the nightlife around. The tube is 4 minutes away. Very convenient location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear dbzurich,

Thank you for your feedback for Swissôtel Merchant Court. We are heartened that you had a pleasant stay with us. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the hotel’s location and our Swiss hospitality.

Your positive comments are important and will assist us in improving and upholding our level of service and facilities.

Once again, thank you for choosing Swissôtel Merchant Court as your preferred accommodation and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again on your next visit to Singapore.


Warmest Regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Locaion is great for this hotel with many eateries just across the foot-bridge.
The room we were given was really small and dificult to find space to open both suitcases.Looking straight into an ugly building did not help, but we were told that all rooms were similar. The pool was OK but had insuficient loungers for the number of guests. Free WIFI was not available even as a goodwill measure after we had complained about the room.Seating in the foyer was limited and no happy-hour in the bar. I understand that hotels in Singapore are expensive but in my opinion this hotel did not offer value compaired to other hotels in the Far East.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear David R,

Thank you for your feedback for Swissôtel Merchant Court. We are pleased to know that you and your partner enjoyed the hotel’s location and our Swiss hospitality.

We sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused and we will look into the areas to further improve our level of service.

We have duly noted your feedback and will strive to improve and upkeep our level of service and facilities constantly. We hope to be able to demonstrate better service upon your next visit to Singapore.

Once again, thank you for choosing Swissôtel Merchant Court as your preferred accommodation and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you and your partner back again on your next visit to Singapore.


Warmest Regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Location is great to Clark Quay. Just above the Metro station Clark Quay. Not far from Chinatown, 5 minutes walking distance. If you like the nightlife and bars perfect location. As for the hotel, there is a very nice pool and gym. Service is good, no complaint. English should be improved. Breakfeast is not included. Its 35 sing dollar which you can get 5$ accross the street or the mall in front of the hotel. My stay was 2 nights then I move to the Marina Bay Sands which is totally a different world.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Big_Daddy_Olay,

Thank you for your feedback for Swissôtel Merchant Court. We are pleased to know that you and your friends enjoyed the hotel’s location and our Swiss hospitality.

We are heartened to hear that you enjoyed the hotel’s location and our Swiss hospitality. Your positive feedback will help us in further upkeeping our level of service and products.

Once again, thank you for choosing Swissôtel Merchant Court as your preferred accommodation and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you and your friends back again on your next visit to Singapore.


Warmest Regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swissotel Merchant Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Merchant Court

Address: 20 Merchant Road, Singapore 058281, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > The Quays
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#34 Family Hotel in Singapore
#39 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#46 Business Hotel in Singapore
#54 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Merchant Court 4*
Number of rooms: 476
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissôtel Merchant Court is situated right in the heart of the city centre, by the banks of the Singapore River and close to Clarke Quay and Chinatown, offering exciting dining and entertainment facilities. The hotel is beside the Clarke Quay MRT (subway). Facilities include a choice of 2 restaurants, 2 bars, the Amrita Spa & Wellness, a resort style swimming pool and 24-hour fitness centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Splendia, Despegar.com, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Swissotel Merchant Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Merchant Court Hotel Singapore
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swissotel Merchant Court, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.