We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swissotel Merchant Court

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Swissotel Merchant Court to your Saves list
Swissotel Merchant Court
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Merchant Road, Singapore 058281, Singapore   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Endless Weekends
Ranked #46 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed here for three nights and really enjoyed it. On arrival we upgraded our room to one with a balcony and it was awesome to be able to sit out and watch the people go by, crossing the bridge to Clarke Quay below us, and watching all the boats go by on the river.

Pool facilities were great, and popular with all the hotel guests.

This hotel is super close to the Metro station which we used to get around.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear emmaloveskombis,

Thank you for your feedback for Swissôtel Merchant Court. We are glad to be of service to you and your partner and we are glad to learn that you liked the hotel location and our pool.

Your positive feedback is important to us and will help us in constantly improving our level of service and products.

Once again, thank you for choosing Swissôtel Merchant Court as your preferred accommodation and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again on your next visit to Singapore.

Warmest Regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    999
    1,138
    362
    121
    41
See reviews for
530
1,033
190
494
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Minnesota
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

This hotel is located directly across the river from Clarke Quay in the middle of Singapore. The location has easy access to numerous restaurants and activities such as boat tours.

The property itself is decent but not great. The rooms are a little run down but spacious. Like most things in Singapore, I thought the place was a little overpriced.

The fitness center is small but has adequate equipment. With the wide variety of restaurants in the area, I did not try the food at the hotel.

Overall, I might try someplace else the next time I am in Singapore.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Lancburm,

Thank you for your feedback for Swissôtel Merchant Court. We are heartened that you had a pleasant stay with us in general during your business trip in January 2013.

We have duly noted your feedback and will strive to improve and upkeep our level of service and products constantly.

We hope to be able to demonstrate upon your next visit to Singapore that we can do much better. Thank you once again for taking time to post your comments.

Warmest Regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wantage, uk
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed here in an executive room for my 40th birthday. The room was comfortable with great views of Clarke Quay, however this did mean it was very noisy at night.

Breakfast was very good, both in the lounge and restaurant. Evening snacks and drinks in the lounge were also excellent. The food selection changed daily.

We did not mention it was my birthday, but they must have seen my DOB on my passport, as a birthday cake was delivered to the room with a chorus of happy birthday.

It is 2 minutes walk from the train (people saying it was longer must have gone the long way round or not realised there was an entrance right next to the hotel), so very convenient for exploring all of Singapore.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from Clarke Quay if you want a good night's sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear AngusQuarrie,

Thank you for your feedback for Swissôtel Merchant Court.

We are heartened to learn that you liked the guest room and our breakfast selections. Your positive feedback will help us in further upkeeping our level of service and products.

Once again, thank you for choosing Swissôtel Merchant Court as your preferred accommodation and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again on your next visit to Singapore.

Warmest Regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed at the Swissotel Merchant Court in June 2012 for about 5 days prior to joining the Dawn Princess for a cruise back to Australia, and it was such a beautiful hotel. We had a beautiful room with a balcony overlooking the Singapore River.
The staff were all wonfderful. The breakfast was plentiful and there was a great selection.
We only have great things to say about the Swissotel Merchant Court, we will defintely stay there again. Nothing was too much trouble for them. The location is great, so close to Clarke Quay, you can jump on a train quickly enough with the station being very close.
We have only great things to say about this Hotel and they are all well deserved indeed. A real home away from home.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Deb_from_Oz,

Thank you for your feedback for Swissôtel Merchant Court. It is our utmost pleasure to be of service to you and your partner during your trip in June 2012 and we are pleased to learn that you liked the hotel location and guest room.

Your positive comments are important and will assist us in improving and upholding our level of service and facilities.

Once again, thank you for choosing Swissôtel Merchant Court as your preferred accommodation and we look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit to Singapore.

Warmest Regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, UK
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
174 hotel reviews
Reviews in 139 cities Reviews in 139 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I've always admired the external architecture of this hotel (modern but with oriental influences and not slab-sided) and its location alongside the Singapore River and the restaurants and bars of Clark Quay. Inside, though, it was rather disappointing - sombre and dark, the bedroom corridors carpeted in dark brown. The exception was the main restaurant, which had some of the atmosphere of a large Paris brasserie.

Our room was disappointingly small, but very comfortable and with a good bathroom. It was a "Classic Room", "classic" presumably being marketing-speak for "basic". I'd have liked a balcony, but you pays your money....etc.

The Blue Potato open-air restaurant by the pool was very dark and buffeted by strong winds, so we had dinner in the main restaurant. No complaints. The breakfast buffet was excellent and just as extensive as those in other Singapore hotels, and while expensive, it's possible to have all three meals of the day at one go.

Perhaps the main reason for choosing it lies with its location, right next to the colour and bustle of Clark Quay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear UKPeripatetic,

Thank you for your feedback for Swissôtel Merchant Court. We are heartened that you and your partner had a pleasant stay with us in general.

We have duly noted your feedback and will strive to improve and upkeep our level of service and products constantly.

Once again, we thank you for choosing Swissôtel Merchant Court as your accommodation in Singapore and look forward to welcoming you and your partner in your next visit to Singapore.

Warmest Regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed 3 nights in an executive studio which was overlooking the pool area. Payed a little bit more but we had access to the lounge area b/w 6-8pm with free drinks, nibbles. A great way to finsih off a days shopping and touring around. The room was clean, spacious and 24 wifi access-great. The gym, cardio area was very good so if you are wanting to keep your fitness up while on holidays the amenities are great. The pool was really good also. Another great thing about this hotel is the location -based at clarke quay it is very easy to travel anywhere from thsi location or just stay and sample the varied cafe's restaurants. Staff were very good and the breakfast package was stunning. Highly recommend this hotel and I/we would definately stay again if in Singapore.

Room Tip: Ask for pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear 255343David,

Thank you for your feedback for Swissôtel Merchant Court. We are glad to be of service to you and your partner and we are glad to learn that you liked the hotel location and facilities in general.

Your positive feedback is important to us and will help us in constantly improving our level of service and products.

Once again, thank you for choosing Swissôtel Merchant Court as your preferred accommodation and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again on your next visit to Singapore.

Warmest Regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights to break our journey from the UK to Australia. We were given a warm welcome by friendly, caring staff. Our room was lovely, with two large comfortable beds, good furnishings, and a large bathroom with plenty of storage space and a walk-in shower. There was a small balcony with table and chairs, overlooking the attractive swimming pool. The breakfast was excellent with a good choice which was constantly re-stocked. The staff at the concierge desk were particularly helpful. This hotel will be our first choice for our next trip through Singpaore.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear RuthAbingdon,

Thank you for your feedback for Swissôtel Merchant Court. It is our pleasure to be of service to you and your partner and we are happy to learn that you liked the hotel breakfast and guest room.

Your positive feedback is important to us, which serves as an encouragement for us to constantly improve our level of service and products.

Once again, thank you for choosing Swissôtel Merchant Court as your preferred accommodation and we look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit to Singapore.

Warmest Regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swissotel Merchant Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Merchant Court

Address: 20 Merchant Road, Singapore 058281, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#33 Family Hotel in Singapore
#33 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#41 Business Hotel in Singapore
#42 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Merchant Court 4*
Number of rooms: 476
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissôtel Merchant Court is situated right in the heart of the city centre, by the banks of the Singapore River and close to Clarke Quay and Chinatown, offering exciting dining and entertainment facilities. The hotel is beside the Clarke Quay MRT (subway). Facilities include a choice of 2 restaurants, 2 bars, the Amrita Spa & Wellness, a resort style swimming pool and 24-hour fitness centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Swissotel Merchant Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Merchant Court Hotel Singapore
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swissotel Merchant Court, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.