We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to relax over a weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swissotel Merchant Court

Save Saved
You added Swissotel Merchant Court to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Swissotel Merchant Court
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Merchant Road, Singapore 058281, Singapore   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Seasonal Saver - 20% off
Ranked #43 of 291 hotels in Singapore
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice place to relax over a weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Prior to our visit, we emailed the hotel to arrange for a cot for our baby. The hotel had placed us in a quiet room. Albeit our room had no view, we were thankful for this arrangement as there was an ongoing festival along the river.

The hotel is in a strategic location, and there are many restaurants, cafes and bars along Clarke Quay and Robertson Quay.

Most areas around the hotel were stroller-friendly. However, the entrance to the Clarke Quay MRT did not have a ramp, and we had to carry our stroller up a short flight of stairs.

We chose not to take the breakfast deal at the hotel (SG$33 per person), and instead ventured out for breakfast along the river. Some cafes were open from around 8am. There is a Yakun kopitiam (coffee place) just around the corner of the hotel in the Central Mall which is great for a quick breakfast (kaya toast).

For a cheap breakfast, try Yakun kopitiam. Iced coffee and "kaya" toast for around SG$4 per person. Also try the Epicurious cafe for breakfast - 10 minute walk away along Robertson Quay. Voted the best place for breakfast according to TimeOut Singapore.
For drinks, go to Sque just outside the hotel along Clark Quay. Best deal for beers, 1 for 1 with long happy hours

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the riverside & poolside if you prefer a quiet atmosphere
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Praveen R,

Thank you for your feedback for Swissôtel Merchant Court. It is our utmost pleasure to be of service to you and your family and we are pleased to learn that you liked the hotel location.

Your positive comments are important and will assist us in improving and upholding our level of service and facilities.

Once again, thank you for choosing Swissôtel Merchant Court as your preferred accommodation and we look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit to Singapore.

Warmest Regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,300 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    862
    982
    320
    103
    33
See reviews for
429
895
166
419
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed here for a couple of nights on our way to New Zealand. It's easy to reach from the airport using the MRT to which there is easy access. The hotel is beside Clark Quay which has a wide variety of restaurants. Our room was spacious, clean, comfortable and afforded us a good nights sleep. An excellent buffet breakfast was included in our rate.

Without exception the staff were helpful and courteous and the hotel can be recommended without any reservation.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Derek P,

Thank you for your feedback for Swissôtel Merchant Court. It is our pleasure to be of service to you and your partner and we are happy to learn that you liked the hotel buffet and location.

Your positive feedback is important to us, which serves as an encouragement for us to constantly improve our level of service and products.

Once again, thank you for choosing Swissôtel Merchant Court as your preferred accommodation and we look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit to Singapore.

Warmest Regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

From check in (got upgraded to exec room, and free breakfast, as well as free access to exec lounge for happy hour) to Rajino from front-desk who remembered my name and followed up on my stay at the hotel over canapes in the evening and then again the next morning - i couldn't ask for more attentive service.

Following checkout, we were even welcomed to stay at the hotel and use its pool and gym facilities. Definately over and above expectations when it comes to customer service!

The only comment i have is that the rooms aren't large (especially for an executive room), and it is an older property which is sometimes evident in some elements and fixtures of the room. But that's really just nit-picking and doesn't make a difference to me who prefers to spend time outside the hotel!

Would happily stay here again. Everything else was faultless.Did i mention its right in clarke quay, and might across from the MRT! What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Aleksandr1982,

Thank you for your feedback for Swissôtel Merchant Court. We are glad to be of service to you and your friends and we are glad to learn that you liked the hotel location and our service.

Your positive feedback is important to us and will help us in constantly improving our level of service and products.

Once again, thank you for choosing Swissôtel Merchant Court as your preferred accommodation and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again on your next visit to Singapore.

Warmest Regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I am reviewing on behalf of my friend from Hong Kong who stayed in this hotel with his wife recently. He commented that the hotel is very nice, there is a wide range of variety of food being served in the breakfast lounge. The only thing he would complain of is that the room looks a bit ancient though.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear singaporeguest2009,

Thank you for your feedback for Swissôtel Merchant Court. We are glad to be of service to you and your friends and we are glad to learn that your friend and his partner liked the hotel location and breakfast in general.

Your positive feedback is important to us and will help us in constantly improving our level of service and products.

Once again, thank you for choosing Swissôtel Merchant Court as your preferred accommodation and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again on your next visit to Singapore.

Warmest Regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This was our 3rd visit to this hotel. We love the location it is in easy access to the MRT which we used all the time. Cheaper than taxi rides (even though they are really cheap as well) and so easy to use.

The hotel staff are very friendly. Didnt really have any problems with any of them at all. The concerige Mike was very helpful with all our questions regarding tours. Or even if we needed directions to places.
It is a bit of a rabbit warren to the rooms but very clean throughout. Rooms are a decent size.
We love the fact that we ate breaky overlooking clark quay and watched the world pass by.
China town within walking distance.
I could not find any fault with this hotel and we will keep on staying here in future visits to Singapore

Room Tip: We prefer the higher floors. Classic rooms 2nd 3rd and 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Gypsyroo,

Thank you for your feedback for Swissôtel Merchant Court. It is our utmost pleasure to be of service to you and your family and we are pleased to learn that you liked the hotel location.

Your positive comments are important and will assist us in improving and upholding our level of service and facilities.

Once again, thank you for choosing Swissôtel Merchant Court as your preferred accommodation and we look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit to Singapore.

Warmest Regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We spent 2 nights here at the end of August en-route to Australia. The check in was great, so friendly and efficient. The buffet breakfast was probably the best we had our whole trip. Again the staff was extrememly attentive and efficient. And the food was very good. The hotel is right beside Clark Quay with a great selection of restaurants from which to choose.
The hotel has a very impressive reception area and the bar and restaurant are also well decorated and up to date.
The rest of the hotel however is in need of some TLC. Our room was substantial but tired and the cleaners need to remember to dust lamp fittings and sockets. Also the carpet needed replacing as there were several stains on it. The bathroom was in dire need of refurbishment. Whoever had grouted the tiles must have been on the first week of his/her apprenticeship! The wash-hand basin had not been cleaned properly and I found hair that did not belong to either my husband or me in both the wash-hand basin and the bath. The shower was possibly the worst I have encountered in a hotel.
The pool was ok, but I agree with another reviewer that there isn't a lot of lounge area around it.
The spa area was very clean however, and the staff again was friendly and professional. We used the facilities to shower prior to leaving for the airport. The tea served afterwards was a very nice touch.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Jenny M,

Thank you for your feedback for Swissôtel Merchant Court. We are heartened that you and your partner had a pleasant stay with us in general.

We have duly noted your feedback and will strive to improve and upkeep our level of service and products constantly.

Once again, we thank you for choosing Swissôtel Merchant Court as your accommodation in Singapore and look forward to welcoming you and your partner in your next visit to Singapore.

Warmest Regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Its a shame that such a well located hotel has poor staff understanding of business customer needs. I stayed here Sep. 25th thru Sep. 27th 2012 with Business Executive category booking.
During breakfast a business colleague sat down with me and had a cup of COFFEE.

The bill S$25.68. Down the road there's Starbucks which serves a much nicer cup for 1/10th the costs.

My flight out was at 23.55 and I requested use of the Business Executive area for a few hours. The response, we will have to charge you. (Miss KIM).

Really is this the way they treat business travelers? I travel about 14 times a year on business. Not once have I been asked to pay for the use of the Executive lounge on the day of my departure. In HK the Hotels provide free refreshments for your guests in the Executive club.

I will be traveling to Singapore monthly from now on, but believe me, Swissotel Merchant Court is off my radar.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room on 10F and above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Imtiaz I,

Thank you for your feedback for Swissôtel Merchant Court. We do apologise for the unpleasant experience which you have encountered during your stay.

Please note that we have taken steps to make sure that there will be no recurrence, so as to upkeep and improve our level of service. We hope to be able to have the chance to welcoming you back to demonstrate our high level of service that you have expected.

Once again, we thank you for having chosen Swissôtel Merchant Court as your accommodation in Singapore.

Warmest Regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Swissotel Merchant Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Merchant Court

Address: 20 Merchant Road, Singapore 058281, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#32 Family Hotel in Singapore
#33 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#33 Business Hotel in Singapore
#40 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#43 Top resorts Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Merchant Court 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissôtel Merchant Court is situated right in the heart of the city centre, by the banks of the Singapore River and close to Clarke Quay and Chinatown, offering exciting dining and entertainment facilities. The hotel is beside the Clarke Quay MRT (subway). Facilities include a choice of 2 restaurants, 2 bars, the Amrita Spa & Wellness, a resort style swimming pool and 24-hour fitness centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Swissotel Merchant Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Merchant Court Hotel Singapore
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swissotel Merchant Court, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.