We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish it was better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Swissotel Merchant Court

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Swissotel Merchant Court to your Saves list
Swissotel Merchant Court
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Merchant Road, Singapore 058281, Singapore   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Endless Weekends
Ranked #46 of 293 Hotels in Singapore
HCMC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Wish it was better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

We are a family of 6 so finding places in Singapore that are comfortable for our family is always a bit of a challenge. We booked the family special through the hotel and got a good rate for two connecting rooms with the added bonus of children's amenities like a wii, toys, and a welcome gift. There were definitely many good points to the hotel, but many negatives as well.

First, the positives:
Rooms were a very good size. The second room had two beds that were much larger than a regular twin, so the kids had plenty of space.

Staff were very attentive, especially to the kids which we really appreciated.

Pool area is very nice, has a small children's pool and a waterslide, plus the view out from the pool is Clarke quay, so nice to sit and relax.

Location is superb. Really easy to get around, lots of good places to walk to for meals.

The negative points really changed my opinion of the hotel.
It is so loud. There was no soundproofing on the window in our room. It sounded like we were sleeping on the street. The last night we were there was a Saturday and there must have been a wedding or something going on in the hotel, we could hear the thumping of the music until late into the night. The doors are also quite loud so if we tried to leave the room early in the morning to get a coffee, all the kids woke up. To me, noise like this in an expensive hotel room is a deal breaker.

Rooms are a bit shabby. For as nice as the hotel is, the rooms definitely show quite a bit of wear and tear.

TV was old and had very few channels.

Buffet breakfast was just ok. Not a great selection and the omelet station was very slow and inefficient.

I was disappointed because I really wanted to like this hotel, the space for the kids, the location, etc, but in the end, sleep quality wins out and it was just to noisy for me to recommend it as a good hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room off the road, better view and hopefully a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    949
    1,063
    343
    113
    39
See reviews for
500
976
179
463
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

We had booked this hotel for two nights stop over for our return from Melbourne to London. We decided to stay down at Clarke Quay to be close to all the sights and sound of that part of Singapore (we stayed up at the top of Orchard Road on the way out). We arrived around 11pm and found that we had been given an upgrade to an Executive room on the 11th floor with an excellent view of the Singapore River. Our room was comfortable and well equipped with the exception of no bedside table on oneside to put glasses etc. Our stay was too short to enjoy the swimming pool. We had a late checkout and found all the staff courteous and helpful. Singapore has become more expensive over the years but there are still plenty of places nearby to have reasonably priced meals and to get soft drinks for a $1 per can.

Room Tip: Executive floor with views towards Clarke Quay
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Thailand.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

We'd often noticed the Merchant Court Hotel before, nestled quietly on the opposite bank from Clarke Quay.
When recently looking in advance for a night stopover hotel following a cruise, we decided to give it a try, especially as Asiarooms had a deal on at the time.
We were not disappointed!

The hotel is conveniently placed almost next door to the Clarke Quay MRT system stop (found in the Central building basement) and is also within easy walking distance to Chinatown, or similarly no more than 15 minutes walk from the City Hall shopping Malls either.

We liked the hotel. More 4 star than 5 star perhaps, but that was reflected in the price we paid.

We were allocated room 423 on the 4th floor. No view to speak off, but it had the advantage of being quiet.
The room itself was clean, tidy and well maintained. No dud lightbulbs, no gaping curtains, no worn out carpet.
The room decor was of a slightly older era, more gilts and soft mixed fabric patterns, rather than the currently trendy and contemporary all white, solid colours and dark furniture look that is, in my view, now becoming anonymous, repetitive and found almost everywhere.

The room door opened into small looby area, with bathroom to the right the main room had a large double bed, TV cabinet with storage drawers beneath. The TV was an old style CRT set. (Surely something of an oversight in Hi-tech Singapore?)
The bathroom was immaculately clean, bright and shiny with good pressure from the shower and taps, and a non-anxiety 'first flush' everytime WC!
Complimentary 'Purovel' toiletries (a brand name that I hadnt encountered before!) were provided.
It there was a criticism of this particular bathroom, it would be that the grouting between bathroom tiles had not been smoothed or finished off properly. It looked as if it was a bit of a rushed job.

Reception staff attitude was warm, friendly and efficient. We were able to check-in quite early in the day without undue fuss, and apart from a small glitch at check-out, when I had requested to settle the bill with a Debit Card, rather than use the credit card with which we had secured the Asia rooms reservation, the were no problems at all.

Hotel Reception/ Cashier agent 'Jessy' quickly resolved this issue in a calm & pleasant manner.

We booked a 'room only' package as we are not normally breakfast people beyond a coffee. Thus we did not eat or drink in the hotel either, as there are many food outlets in all the shopping malls.
Come the evening, the many bars and restaurants that abound in Clarke Quay offer an eclectic mix, covering all cuisines and cultures East to West; everything from Hoisin Sauce to Hooters Wings.

The hotel has a swimming pool deck, but in truth we didnt use it.

We liked this quiet hotel a lot. We felt like home, rather than a theme park.
We'll certainly return again.

Room Tip: To get a room with a good view, you'd probably need to ensure that you book a room with pool vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012 via mobile

I recently had an enjoyable stay here. It was seconds away from Clarke Quay, which is really a great place to go to at night. Wander around the quay, eat outside which possesses a great lively atmosphere. If you are feeling a little more adventurous China Town and in the opposite direction Chijmes and Raffles City are about a 20 min walk away. I found a great eating area in China Town called East Gate Square, well worth checking out, after the relaxing foot massage in The Foot Culture Place in China Town. The rooms in the hotel were great. Comfortable with all the usual amenities. I enjoyed the pool. Although the lounge beds all seemed squashed together it seemed to work. I always managed to find a lounge bed. I did not eat at the hotel, so cannot comment. However with so many eateries around you do not need to worry about hotel food if you want to explore elsewhere.

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mornington, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

We took the Business Advantage Room for 10 Nights A$ 4,860-The Good : Close to MRT station to everywhere and its cheap-Riverside dining at night (expensive but quality) Chinatown 10 min walk- River cruise at night excellent :THE BAD- 4th Floor at the back of the hotel no view just the back of a building- Small room- carpets look tired & worn, TV is hopeless unless you want to pay for movies : THE UGLY- the bathroom, tiles that have shoddy workmanship, shower is in the bath and takes ages to get hot water, sink stopper does not hold the water for shaving. IF in future we return to Singapore we would want a Executive Suite and would pay the extra, or look at a different hotel nearby.NOT a 4Star room

Room Tip: Pay for Executive Studio Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nailsea
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights, en route to join a cruise boat. This is a lovely hotel, with excellent rooms. The breakfast was very well presented with something for everyone's taste.
However, drinks in the bar/cafe were extortionate. A cup of coffee was the equivalent of £4.50p, and a can of diet coke £4.75p. Some of this is down to the local taxes. I.e. 10% Service charge added to the bill, and then a further 7% Government tax on top. Effectively this means that the price advertised for goods is always inflated by a further 17% in service charges and taxes.

However, if you want an ultra ultra ultra clean city, then Singapore is the place for you. NO LITTER, NO GRAFFITI, NO YOBS, a veritable paradise.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here March 2012 for 5 nights.
Good= Location, close to Clark Quay for bars and restaurant, a big Shopping Centre and MRT
Breakfast was fantastic and had everything although very crowded in the cafe
Staff were helpful and Taxis regularly pass through

Not so Good = Clark Quay at night is Very Noisy when drums play until after midnight and you
have an early flight !
Very Outdated. In the bathroom the grout is very rough,bath/shower combo
with a curtain the water leaks through
Mini-Bar was hideously expensive ($5.50 for a can of Coke , hint hint their
own souvenir shop sells them for $1)
The rooms we had was an odd shape that made finding a clear space difficult
and was a long walk to get the lift down 2 separate hallways.

Would I stay here again ? No. I'm certain there are hotels in similar price range that are nicer and not located where it is as noisy.


Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swissotel Merchant Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Merchant Court

Address: 20 Merchant Road, Singapore 058281, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#31 Family Hotel in Singapore
#34 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#37 Business Hotel in Singapore
#42 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#46 Top resorts Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Merchant Court 4*
Number of rooms: 476
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissôtel Merchant Court is situated right in the heart of the city centre, by the banks of the Singapore River and close to Clarke Quay and Chinatown, offering exciting dining and entertainment facilities. The hotel is beside the Clarke Quay MRT (subway). Facilities include a choice of 2 restaurants, 2 bars, the Amrita Spa & Wellness, a resort style swimming pool and 24-hour fitness centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Swissotel Merchant Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Merchant Court Hotel Singapore
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swissotel Merchant Court, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.