We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb - all the little extras that make it memorable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swissotel The Stamford

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Swissotel The Stamford to your Saves list
Swissotel The Stamford
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Stamford Road, Singapore 178882, Singapore   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
WEEKEND GETAWAY SPECIAL
Ranked #41 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Hobart, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Superb - all the little extras that make it memorable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

I could not fault this place. Staff were friendly and attentive, room was beautifully furnished and a good size. View from 59th floor was magnificent and pool and gym were top class. On the advice of this site I spent a little more and got the executive package that gave me access to the lounge with it's gorgeous food and beverage selection and attentive staff with free Internet access. WELL worth the extra, as I ate the nibbles every night and did not need dinner at all! Breakfast in the dining room was also included, so I hardly needed to leave the hotel - just the kind of relaxing break I was looking for. Oh, and the lavazza coffee machine in my room which gave me fresh pod coffee on demand was just perfect!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PriscillaOsman, Manager at Swissotel The Stamford, responded to this review, October 7, 2010
Dear cyn7180,

Warmest greetings from Swissôtel The Stamford, Singapore!

Your thoughts are important to us, and we are especially pleased when the feedback is positive. We are glad that you had a great time.

At Swissôtel The Stamford, we constantly strive to provide the highest standards of personalised service to our guests. Sensitive to your every need, we will continue to provide passionate service to create great experiences and make your stay with us a truly memorable one.

It leaves us now to look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,965
    1,606
    541
    192
    99
See reviews for
1,119
1,232
317
1,146
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (981)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denpasar, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

We are a family with 2 kids (2 and 4 yo). We traveled on march this year for my kid's surgery. This hotel was just great for us. Because we shared the bed with our little kids, we needed slightly bigger bed which this hotel provided. The jacuzzi was just so nice, it had like 4 jacuzzi pools. I never shared a pool when I was there. The pool, gym and spa facilities were sharing with the next door hotel fairmont. But the facilities was big enough, I hardly felt crowd inside the facilities. The club at top level was really nice also to spend the night.

The best of this hotel is the location. It's right above the city hall MRT and some nice modern malls is just at a walkable distance. I love this area of Singapore, city hall and marina instead of orchard.

This was my 3rd times staying in this hotel. Just love this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PriscillaOsman, Manager at Swissotel The Stamford, responded to this review, October 8, 2010
Dear hanssaputra,

Warmest greetings from Swissôtel The Stamford, Singapore!

We are thrilled that you and your family had such an enjoyable stay with us! We hope your child is recovering well from his/her surgery.

We are very honored to have you as a fan, and thank you for sharing your experiences with all. We will see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawlish, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

We stayed in 6067 for 4 nights this week and were treated to excellent service from all staff. We felt very welcome and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The service from all the staff in the Executive Lounge on floor 60 was well above average. Our room was clean and the view from the balcony was truly great. An open balcony on floor 60 - you need a strong head for heights. I have stayed here twice - this time with an executive room and it was worth the extra money. To the member of staff who got into our lift as we were going downstairs to check out who took it upon herself to help us and find a taxi during all the formula 1 disruption - thank you - that indeed was top service.
I will stay here again when next in Singapore.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PriscillaOsman, Manager at Swissotel The Stamford, responded to this review, September 26, 2010
Dear IBC35_Mike,

Warmest greetings from Swissôtel The Stamford, Singapore!

We would like to express our sincere thanks to you for choosing Swissôtel The Stamford as your preferred choice of accommodation.

We are very pleased to know that, overall, you enjoyed your stay and that our services were to your satisfaction. Without a doubt, it is always a pleasure to receive complimentary comments such as yours, and we are especially appreciative of the time you have taken to detail your experiences. We will certainly convey your compliments to all, as they deserve the credit for a job well done. Your commendations of our colleagues go a long way in motivating us to do even better!

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back. Once again, thank you for sharing your feedback with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

My best hotel experience in Singapore yet.

This huge hotel used to be the tallest building in South-East Asia, giving you an amazing view if your room is high enough. Not all the rooms have been renovated yet, so make sure to get the hotel to confirm that you will get one when you book.

The rooms are very nice, big, comfortable and well sound-proofed. Lifts are quite slow, maybe because of the number of floors. Plan a few minutes extra...

The breakfast is amazing, but you might have to wait at rush-hour.

Staff is very friendly, but the hotel is a little impersonal - it is so big... We did have issues with the room assignment for my colleagues (not everyone got a renovated room) and it took quite a while to sort out.

Location is fantastic, very central.

I will probably stay there on my next trip.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PriscillaOsman, Manager at Swissotel The Stamford, responded to this review, September 26, 2010
Dear sermann,

Warm greetings from Swissôtel The Stamford, Singapore!

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us. We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and that most of our services were to your satisfaction.

On another note, we would like to assure you that the hotel is continuously refurbishing our guestrooms as well as furnishings to deliver the best lifestyle experience possible. However, due to the enormous magnitude of this 73-storey deluxe hotel, these upgrades are currently being carried out in stages. We seek your kind understanding on this.

We thank you again, and look forward to your continual patronage at Swissôtel The Stamford!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

After reading some of the reviews on trip advisor my husband and I asked when we arrived at the hotel if it was possible to upgrade. We payed the extra price to be put in the Executive rooms. This included rooms on the higher floors (we were on the 59th floor) with full use of the executive lounge on the 60th floor. Our room was large and beautifully appointed with a lovely bathroom with the biggest range of products I have ever seen in a hotel including loofahs, shavers and emery boards. We also enjoyed the view over the harbour and that we could go out onto our own balcony.
The lounge area was a good size with tables and chairs,comfortable sofas and chairs in front of a large plasma screen and another small area that could be used as a boardroom or private dining area with another large plasma screen. In the afternoon there was a coffee machine and cakes and cookies or cold drinks available. Between 5 and 8 drinks and food was provided. The drinks included a selection of mixers, wine and beer. The food was exceptional with hot food, cheeses, sushi and a selection of different sweets and was constantly being topped up. The staff was so friendly and were always offering to help with food and wine even though it was serve yourself. The next morning there was a full buffet breakfast served which was also delicious.As we were in transit from Europe to Melbourne and our plane to Melbourne did not leave until 9 that night we also appreciated that the package included a late checkout of 3pm.
Even before we had organised the upgrade the service was outstanding so we knew it wasn't because we were spending more money. On balance the money we spent on upgrading was more than covered by the great room and the meals and drinks that were included. We found it an easy walk to Boat Quay with it's outdoor restaurants by the river and the next day it was not much further to visit the markets in China town.
I really think the executive package was terrific value for money if you are spending a short break in Singapore.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PriscillaOsman, Manager at Swissotel The Stamford, responded to this review, September 26, 2010
Dear Judy06,

Warmest greetings from Swissôtel The Stamford, Singapore!

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with all. We are thrilled to know that your had a great time with us! At Swissôtel The Stamford, we constantly strive to provide the highest standards of personalised service to our guests.

It leaves us now to look forward to welcoming you back to Swissôtel The Stamford in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

Stayed at the Swissotel for a 2 night stopover on the way back from our European vacation. Located across the road from Raffles Hotel and above Raffles City Shopping Centre and train station. Very attentive staff on arrival with personalised service to assist with checkin and what to see and do during our stay. Noted a Trip Advisors contribution and requested a renovated room as was allocated a large recently renovated, fully equipped room on the 28th floor overlooking the tennis courts and city. Large breakfast selection with chef to cook fresh omlettes or fried eggs, the waiter staff very exceptional. An easy walk to marina area and the new Marina Sands complex is about a half an hour walk or one train stop away. Internet at the hotel was very expensive as were a lot of things in Singapore, especially alcohol. Would certainly stay at the Swissotel again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PriscillaOsman, Manager at Swissotel The Stamford, responded to this review, September 26, 2010
Dear Twopees,

Thank you for choosing Swissôtel The Stamford, Singapore as your preferred venue of accommodation. We are honoured and privileged to have you reside with us during your visit to the lion city.

We are very grateful for your valuable compliments and are delighted that you have had an enjoyable stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back on many more occasions in the near future, and in delivering the precise and attentive service that remain the hallmark of Swissôtel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

Huge hotel, big rooms. We requested a renovated room with a double bed, which took about 13 e-mails. Every e-mail was answered with some standardised message, resulting in some very cryptical messages and a non-renovated room with three single beds in the end. Lobby was too small and very crowded. Staff was smiling but seemed a bit aloof at the same time. Swimming pool is on the 8th floor and excellent, with again a gorgeous view. Sauna comes at an extra charge, which should not be the case in a 5* hotel.

Non-renovated rooms are out of date. It took some persuasion for the staff to remove the extra bed. Beds that we did keep were very good. View is fantastic. The bathroom had some mould around bath. Otherwise it was clean. Plenty of towels, good selection of shampoo, body lotion etc. and even a toothbrush.

Not a lot of value for money.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PriscillaOsman, Manager at Swissotel The Stamford, responded to this review, September 26, 2010
Dear Robtheblob01,

Warmest greetings from Swissôtel The Stamford, Singapore and thank you for taking valuable time to share with us your feedback.

Your needs are our utmost priority and we take great pride in anticipating and exceeding all of them to create a memorable experience. We will, however, not rest on our laurels and will continue to upgrade our guestrooms, furnishings and services to deliver the highest standard of excellence.

We look forward to your kind patronage to Swissôtel The Stamford in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swissotel The Stamford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel The Stamford

Address: 2 Stamford Road, Singapore 178882, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#23 Family Hotel in Singapore
#27 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#39 Business Hotel in Singapore
#39 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Swissotel The Stamford 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Singapore, Swissôtel The Stamford is a deluxe hotel that boasts a prime Singapore location amid the diversions of the Raffles City shopping complex and just 20 minutes away from Singapore Changi International Airport. One of Southeast Asia's tallest hotel, Swissôtel The Stamford offers a luxurious range of 1,261 guestrooms and suites with a wealth of amenities and panoramic views of Singapore and Malaysia. It also boasts an impressive array of 16 restaurants and bars including the Equinox Complex, Singapore's most exciting dining and entertainment complex. The hotel also houses the 70,000sqft Raffles City Convention Centre which comprises 27 meeting venues with technologically advanced business facilities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Swissotel The Stamford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel The Stamford Singapore
Swissotel The Stamford Hotel Singapore
Swissotel Stamford Singapore
Swissotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swissotel The Stamford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.