We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conviniently located from most of the sight seeing places_Overall a good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swissotel The Stamford

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Swissotel The Stamford to your Saves list
Swissotel The Stamford
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Stamford Road, Singapore 178882, Singapore   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
WEEKEND GETAWAY SPECIAL
Ranked #41 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Bangalore
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Conviniently located from most of the sight seeing places_Overall a good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

I stayed in Swissotel for 4 nights starting 26th Feb 2014. Let me start with positives...
1) Centrally located, 15 mins walk to Boat Quay and Clarke Quay
2) 10 mins walk to Merlion,
3) 15 mins walk to sky way
4) Connectivity by metro, which is located below the hotel!!!
5) Little India....2 stops from City hall station( with one change over of train. Change of train from Red line to purple line in Doby ghaut station), costs about 2.4 SGD one way, by taxi its about 11 SGD.
6) The rools come with a balcony too..

Negative side:
1) The Check in/check out counter are always crowded...need to wait at least 10 to 15 mins for check in / check out.
2) Though the hotel is satisfactorily maintained, the sign of the hotel being worn out is visible.
3) Rooms are standard rooms and sleep quality was good.
4) Room service was good too.

Room Tip: Take rooms on higher floor for better view( I was in 37th floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelTheStamford, Manager at Swissotel The Stamford, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Kishan77,

Thank you for taking your time to share your experience with us!

It was very insightful and your feedback will allow us to improve on the areas that you’ve mentioned such as the long queue at the check-in/out counter. I wish to ensure you that your feedback will be shared with the relevant teams for follow up and would like to assure you that we will continue our pursuit for excellence in service. With regards to the room conditions, I’m pleased to share that plans are underway for refurbishment in the near future.

Once again, thank you for giving us the opportunity to review and improve through providing your feedback and I look forward to your next visit to Swissotel The Stamford!

Warm regards,
Jeff Ross
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,963
    1,605
    540
    192
    99
See reviews for
1,117
1,232
316
1,146
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (979)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bhopal
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Wonderful hotel ... in a wonderful location .
The hotel is located in Stamford road , serene location but yet close to the central business district .
The hotel is a good business hotel and with all the modern amenities . One can see the movement and activities throughout the day in its reception and conference areas . The conference area is huge and can accommodate good number of conferences and meetings at the same time .
The hotel has one of the tallest building structure in Singapore , and offers a great view of the city both during the day as well as night . If you room faces the central business area of Singapore , you will have an excellent view in the night and really good for some professional photography endeavours .
The hotel offers good variety in the breakfast , however very limited options for Indian vegetarians .
The hotel is at walking distance from Clarke Quay which offers a great night life options for people who would just want to relax in the evening ...
I also didn't miss the opportunity for going for my morning jog , we have some fantastic serene locations all around during the morning .
Overall , a good hotel for a person on a business trip . However has good options for shopping in its basement areas .

Room Tip: Check out for Rooms towards the central business area .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelTheStamford, Manager at Swissotel The Stamford, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Rohit,

It’s a great pleasure to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and I wish to reassure you that we will remain highly dedicated and committed towards ensuring exceptional service standards. At the same time, we note your feedback on the breakfast spread and will direct your feedback to the F&B department.

Thank you for your valuable feedback and I hope to welcome you back again!

Warm regards,
Jeff Ross
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We thought this hotel was super ...very friendly helpful staff ....great breakfast buffets. The bar at the top of the hotel had spectacular views if somewhat slow service and the hotel lobby bar was terrific with attentive staff and great service ....special mention to lovely , bubbly Sarah !
Highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelTheStamford, Manager at Swissotel The Stamford, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear mollycatScotland,

It’s such a delight to hear that you had a great stay with us! I will certainly convey your compliments to Sarah and the rest of the team as an encouragement of their excellent service. I wish to reassure you that we will remain steadfast in our pursuit towards ensuring exceptional service standards.

Thank you for recommending Swissotel The Stamford and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Warm regards,
Jeff Ross
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

I usually stay at the sister property next door, the Fairmont, when on business but this time around the Swissotel was ~$80/night less and I figured I might as well save my company the money. Having stayed at the Fairmont a number of times before, I knew that the location of the property, right on top of City Hall MRT station and with a mall attached (plenty of food options there and around the area) was fantastic.

This is a huge hotel and caters to business travelers, families, convention-goers, large travel groups and flight crews. As such there are definitely certain times of the day where the check-in staff is probably overwhelmed. I arrived around 9:15pm or so on a Monday night. Check-in took 15-20 minutes as the line was quite long.

I was given the option of a room with a king bed but on the 8th floor, or a twin room but on the 62nd. I took the latter and was rewarded with a stunning view high above Singapore. Bathroom was reasonably appointed and the room was clean. However, the carpet and the furniture in the room, as well as the bed coverings would have been well at home in the 90s, giving the room a heavily aged feel to it. In short, the rooms need to be renovated. Badly.

Otherwise the stay was nothing really special, but not worth the money. One can often get the Fairmont for a similar or better price and would be advised to stay there, or look at other places.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelTheStamford, Manager at Swissotel The Stamford, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Jamil,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback! The issues you mentioned above are certainly unacceptable for our hotel. I will be ensuring that your feedback is shared with our service teams for a thorough review and would like to reassure you that we are highly dedicated and committed towards ensuring exceptional service standards. Furthermore, I’m glad to inform you that we’re making refurbishment plans for the guestrooms in the near future.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to provide this valuable feedback and look forward to welcoming you back again!

Warm regards,
Jeff Ross
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, England
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stayed at the Swissotel at the end of January after the flight from London. We were very impressed with the service and the view from our room was amazing. Would certainly return if in Singapore again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelTheStamford, Manager at Swissotel The Stamford, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Sussie,

I’m delighted to hear about your recent stay and would like to reassure you that we will definitely remain steadfast in our pursuit towards ensuring exceptional service standards.

Thank you for your valuable feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Warm regards,
Jeff Ross
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

I just can't get my head around how these guys manage everything so well. I have never in my two stays with them have every had any occasion to complain. Its singaporean efficiency at its best. I love the place, plus its in the best value category in terms of room rates.

Room Tip: Try to take the highest possible floor, preferably towards Marina Bay, the view is that much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelTheStamford, Manager at Swissotel The Stamford, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear wanderlust-chirag,

Thank you for the positive review! It brings me great joy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at Swissotel The Stamford and wish to reassure you that we will remain highly dedicated and committed towards ensuring exceptional service standards.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback and I look forward to your next visit again!

Warm regards,
Jeff Ross
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

Great location that is central to the main tourist areas. Walking distance from Marina Bay etc. Many good eating spots both within the hotel complex, the adjoining Fairmont Hotel and the Raffles a City food halls in the shopping centre below. Hotel itself is just starting to show its age in terms of its fitout but the facilities are still to a good standard. Service from staff is spot on - very helpful. Ask for rooms above say floor 12 on the bay side - one of the best views in Singapore. Tip - if using the Swiss Cafe for breakfast make sure to use the main room if asked. It is more comfortable and has a better selection of food than the smaller adjoining area.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelTheStamford, Manager at Swissotel The Stamford, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear John,

It’s a great pleasure to hear about your recent stay and I sincerely thank you for choosing Swissotel The Stamford!

Thank you for your valuable feedback and hope to welcome you back again in the near future!

Warm regards,
Jeff Ross
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swissotel The Stamford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel The Stamford

Address: 2 Stamford Road, Singapore 178882, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#23 Family Hotel in Singapore
#27 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#39 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#40 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Swissotel The Stamford 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Singapore, Swissôtel The Stamford is a deluxe hotel that boasts a prime Singapore location amid the diversions of the Raffles City shopping complex and just 20 minutes away from Singapore Changi International Airport. One of Southeast Asia's tallest hotel, Swissôtel The Stamford offers a luxurious range of 1,261 guestrooms and suites with a wealth of amenities and panoramic views of Singapore and Malaysia. It also boasts an impressive array of 16 restaurants and bars including the Equinox Complex, Singapore's most exciting dining and entertainment complex. The hotel also houses the 70,000sqft Raffles City Convention Centre which comprises 27 meeting venues with technologically advanced business facilities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Swissotel The Stamford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel The Stamford Singapore
Swissotel The Stamford Hotel Singapore
Swissotel Stamford Singapore
Swissotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swissotel The Stamford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.