We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great security team assistance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swissotel The Stamford

Save Saved
You added Swissotel The Stamford to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Swissotel The Stamford
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Stamford Road, Singapore 178882, Singapore   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SEASONAL SAVER - 20% OFF
Ranked #34 of 291 hotels in Singapore
Jakarta
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great security team assistance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Hotel security team was able to find my Blackberry which dropped in the taxi that took me from airport to hotel. Hotel security was able to indetified the taxi company an its licence plat from CCTV and called the driver to bring my smartphone back to the hotel.
Though it's actually my personal fault, but security team was willing to assist and the resolution was very quick as well.
Thanks again for hotel security team who actually goes an extra miles in satisfying and resolving guess' problems!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelTheStamford, Quality Manager at Swissotel The Stamford, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Widjaja S,

We’re glad to hear that you managed to retrieve your phone. We will certainly convey your compliments to Security team as an encouragement for their excellent service.

We look forward to your next visit!

Best regards,
Yash Bhanage
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,652 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,636
    1,337
    439
    157
    83
See reviews for
878
1036
264
973
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (835)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 3 consecutive nights. I love the cleaner of my room, very dilligent and handy. I also arrived at hotel around 11am, but yet they dont make me wait. They provide me with the room straight away. They also reminded me that as a member of Swissotel I am entitled for free email. Surprised me.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

You cannot beat the Stamford for the fantastic views it offers as it was the tallest hotel in the world when it opened tjhree decades ago. But except for the high prices and high floors, everything else has gone down from when it opened as the Westin Stamford. Maybe this Swissotel chaps would hand back the management to the American managers who made everthing worked.

The decor of the rooms and the colours were they were when it opened. Looking at the stains on the carpets one could be forgiven for wondering whether it was the same carpet. They have also glassed in part of the shower area instead of using shower curtains making them hard to clean, The slime and stains on the edges are evident it is hard to clean. There is no more ice in the room and the man does not come around in the afternoon to turn down your bed. Housekeeping comes in singles, and they clearn your rooms with the doors closed. Lights not working are not spotted, leaking faucets are not fixed unless they are reported.

There is no stationery in the room, soap and tea never fully replenised, no comb. And when you guests want call you they have to wait up to five minutes for an operator to answer and put through.

And talking about telephone, the Singapore authorities should look into this. Because of the bulk discounts phone companies give hotels, the hotels areonly allowed to levy a surcharge in addition to what the phone company charges the hotels. But the rates charged by the hotel, for example to Hong Kong, was S$5.85 a minute. I wonder which phone company Stamford uses or whether someone somewhere is up to something unruly.

All in all, the hotel is no longer with the rates it charges. There i no service any more!

And forget about breakfast in the hotel unless you want to pay through your nose and also stand in line for 30 minutes to get into the little cafe -- walk to the food court in the same complex.

Room Tip: Make sure you tell them you want balconies door unlocked at the time of booking. With a casino acro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelTheStamford, Quality Manager at Swissotel The Stamford, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Louis,

Our sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused. We will be reaching out to you separately for information that will help us conduct an investigation and a detailed follow-up with the relevant departments. Your feedback will definitely help us serve you better on your next visit.

We hope to welcome you back.

Warm regards,
Yash Bhanage
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Portugal
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

My wife was working in Singapore for a couple of weeks and had been booked into this hotel.

I cannot praise highly enough the location, staff and breakfast. Our room on the 30-something floor had a panoramic view over the east side of the city. It was well appointed.

However, it is noticeable that the property is beginning to fray around the edges. The HVAC and bathroom piping were constantly making gurgling noises night and day. Certain carpets are also beginning to fray.

The pool shared with the neighbouring Fairmount Hotel requires attention as tiles are coming of the bottom and corners. Potential for e-coli and other nasties growth in the Singapore climate.

I got the general impression that the the whole place will need to be taken off-line for a couple of years, gutted and rebuilt, especially if the plumbing problems are going to be resolved.

The shopping mall downstairs is a dream! There is a food court where one can eat cheap and cheerfully until 21:30.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelTheStamford, Quality Manager at Swissotel The Stamford, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear barlaventoexpert,

Thank you for writing the review, we note your feedback on the hotel’s conditions. We are glad to inform that plans are underway for refurbishment in the near future.

It makes us happy to know that you had a fantastic stay with us and enjoyed the hotel’s great service, wide breakfast spread, well appointed room, great panoramic views of the bay and the convenience of the location with a wide variety of shops and restaurants in the vicinity.

Best regards,
Yash Bhanage
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

The check in waiting time takes too long as the queue is very long. Probably due to peak season 28th december - 29th december. Staff open up another counter to check guests in which is a good solution. But main counters still working too slowly.

The room was better than expected as it is a corner room Grand Deluxe room. As corner room is bigger than the normal rooms if you see the safety escape route. cleanliness was not good as there were rubbish still stuck inside the sofa gaps. Min Bar wasnt working at all.

ambience and scenery is good as situated on the 18th level. but the lift seems like its gonna breakdown any time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelTheStamford, Quality Manager at Swissotel The Stamford, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Chun Zheng,

Thank you for the review. Your feedback has also been noted and followed-up through our Market Metrix guest survey. Please rest assured that we will continue our pursuit for excellence in service.

Warm regards,
Yash Bhanage
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

The hotel is at the centre of the city, near several tourist attractions. Very convenient as right above MRT station and shopping malls. So, no worry for shopping and eating. Walking distance to museums and the Raffles Hotel. Easy to get taxi at the hotel.

The rooms are very comfortable, but the water pipes are abit old so the water goes a bit slow after shower. My friend's room is indeed having water leakage dropping throughout the night. The up side is that the have good service so the exchange room at a higher floor for my friend.

Breakfast buffet are not bad but the air conditioning in the resturant can be improved further to have better circulation.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelTheStamford, Quality Manager at Swissotel The Stamford, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Joseph,

We’re glad to read that we’re a good choice and appreciate your compliments on the hotel’s great location with a wide variety of shops, restaurants and attractions in the area, comfortable room, good service and great breakfast spread. At the same time, we note your feedback on the piping issue and will revert this to the relevant department for follow-up.

Thank you for choosing Swissotel The Stamford!
Best regards,
Yash Bhanage
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Checked in to celebrate a pre-christmas party with some friends. the hotel was clean right when we entered, everything was arranged nicely. the grand room was spacious and we were very well-accommodated.room service was efficient and in-house operators were very helpful too.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelTheStamford, Quality Manager at Swissotel The Stamford, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear yal3xis,

Thank you for the review. Your feedback has also been noted and followed-up through our Market Metrix guest survey. Please rest assured that we will continue our pursuit for excellence in service.

Warm regards,
Yash Bhanage
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Swissotel The Stamford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel The Stamford

Address: 2 Stamford Road, Singapore 178882, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#19 Family Hotel in Singapore
#26 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#32 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#32 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Swissotel The Stamford 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Singapore, Swissôtel The Stamford is a deluxe hotel that boasts a prime Singapore location amid the diversions of the Raffles City shopping complex and just 20 minutes away from Singapore Changi International Airport. One of Southeast Asia's tallest hotel, Swissôtel The Stamford offers a luxurious range of 1,261 guestrooms and suites with a wealth of amenities and panoramic views of Singapore and Malaysia. It also boasts an impressive array of 16 restaurants and bars including the Equinox Complex, Singapore's most exciting dining and entertainment complex. The hotel also houses the 70,000sqft Raffles City Convention Centre which comprises 27 meeting venues with technologically advanced business facilities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Swissotel The Stamford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel The Stamford Singapore
Swissotel The Stamford Hotel Singapore
Swissotel Stamford Singapore
Swissotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swissotel The Stamford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.