We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Singapore - The “Lobby Ambassador” now that's service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swissotel The Stamford

Save Saved
You added Swissotel The Stamford to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Swissotel The Stamford
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Stamford Road, Singapore 178882, Singapore   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SEASONAL SAVER - 20% OFF
Ranked #34 of 292 hotels in Singapore
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Singapore - The “Lobby Ambassador” now that's service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

To be honest, when I first booked my trip to Singapore I wanted to stay at the Marina Bay Sands hotel because of the pool on top, but it was way too expensive for what I had in mind so I booked the Swissotel Stamford instead. I’m so happy that we changed because I couldn't have picked a better hotel for what we wanted. From the moment we walked into the hotel, we were greeted like celebs. The “Lobby Ambassador” knew our names & personally escorted us up to our rooms bypassing the usual front desk delay when checking in. She did our check-in in our room & gave us a quick tour & rundown. I'm not sure if this is a usual thing in Singapore or if it was late & we looked a bit tired, but it was a great way to end a long day especially after being in a plane for 8 hours and a perfect way to start off on our trip. They always say that first impressions count, & for us, it was exactly right. The hotel looks like any modern hotel. The design, layout, fittings & style is pretty much what you would expect from a 5 star. The beds were comfortable & the rooms were a good size. We are traveling in a family of 4 & selected 2 interconnecting rooms which wasn't too expensive when you compare it.
The hotel is fairly central, has a shopping centre underneath just in case of a rainy day or perfect to try some local cuisine in the all of the food courts. But what did it for me was the service of the staff. Especially Jesa our friendly “Lobby Ambassador”. She was so nice, courteous & professional. I couldn't speak highly enough for her.
If you stay at this hotel, make sure you pay a little extra & select the bay view up high. At night you get a fabulous view of the bay & city. If you like the F1 GP, you have a great view of the track. The hotel restaurants are expensive, but who needs them when you have such a selection of other restaurants so close by.

Room Tip: Select the bay facing rooms up high, you'll have an excellent view on the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelTheStamford, Quality Manager at Swissotel The Stamford, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to read that we’re the best hotel in Singapore! Thank you for the many compliments such as the amazing service, efficient check-in/out, great design layout, comfortable bed, spacious room, fabulous view, wide variety of shops and restaurants in the area and the convenience of the location. We will certainly convey your compliments to the Jesa and the rest of the team as an encouragement for their excellent service.

We look forward to your next visit to Swissotel The Stamford!

Warm regards,
Yash Bhanage
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,726 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,677
    1,357
    448
    162
    82
See reviews for
919
1052
270
996
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (857)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

From the time we arrived at the Swissotel i was impressed. Someone greeted us at the cab to take our luggage, when we entered the hotel someone walked us to the check in desk. The overall check in process was very quick and efficient.
The room was nice - we were on the 23rd floor. Large room with two big double beds, very clean and well maintained. The air conditioning was perfect for the size of the room.
The hotel itself is set within the Raffles City mall so we didnt eat in the hotel, instead going down to the food court in the mall which was hugely impressive. The MRT station is just around the corner from the hotel - a 1 minute walk, again impressive.
The only downside with the hotel was the lack of free WiFi - in every hotel we stayed in on our trip (and we stayed in three) no one charged for WiFi. The cost here was extortionate $24 for 24 hours! If anything, i think the lack of this would incentivise me to choose another hotel with free wifi given that the standard of singapore hotels is so good.

Room Tip: 63rd floor = great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelTheStamford, Quality Manager at Swissotel The Stamford, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

We’re glad you enjoyed the hotel’s efficient service, seamless check-in/out, nice, well-maintained and spacious room, perfect air-conditioning, wide variety of restaurants and shops in the area and the convenient location.

Regarding the wifi access, you might like to know that effective from 1 January 2013, all Swissotel Circle members are given complimentary internet access as one of the host of benefits. Registration itself is hassle-free and can be quickly completed at www.swissotel.com/circle.

We hope to welcome you back!

Best regards,
Yash Bhanage
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I stayed here for just under 2 weeks on a business trip to Singapore.
check in was very easy, although i didn't fully understand that i needed to sign up to swissotel frequent travel scheme in order to get free internet access - queue much confusion from myself. the room was wonderful, view spectacular. the bed was very comfortable and the bathroom lovely.
the food in the hotel was great, loved breakfast and had my tea in the bar too - the lovely ladies in the bar even reserved a seat for me when i asked if the formula one would be shown later.

would definitely stay here again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelTheStamford, Quality Manager at Swissotel The Stamford, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the many compliments. We look forward to your next visit to Swissotel The Stamford!

Warm regards,
Yash Bhanage
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalgoorlie, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I can't recommend this hotel enough and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The rooms were fantastic with a city view, and location excellent central to shopping centres and many restaurants and bars. I can't comment on the food as we chose to eat elsewhere and unfortunately didn't have time to use the pool. The location was also very good for the airport and within walking distance to Marina Bay. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelTheStamford, Quality Manager at Swissotel The Stamford, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Stephanie,

It makes us happy to know that you had a great stay and appreciate your compliments on the hotel’s fantastic city view and the excellent location with a great variety of restaurants and shops in the area.

We hope to welcome you back!

Best regards,
Yash Bhanage
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I stayed 3 nights in deluxe twin room. The view from our room was fantastic (we stayed in room 1757)- marina sands on the left, merlion and business distinct in the middle and St Andrew church on the right. It was really beautiful. Location was fantastic! We caught MRT from Changi airport to the city hall and as soon as we walked out boom there was our hotel!!!! We bought 3 day MRT passes (only for $20 after getting $10 deposit back) and we went everywhere!! If you stay in this hotel you should make most out of the location because you can go anywhere with MRT literally! The only two letdown was they charge $28 for wifi a day (there is a lot of wifi free area in Singapore) and I was bit annoyed that this 5 star hotel cannot offer free wifi when some public places does... Other thing was there was no hair conditioner... Lucky I brought my own but would had been inconvenient if I didn't bring my own. Overall service was fantastic, location was excellent and room was nice and spacious. I would stay again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelTheStamford, Quality Manager at Swissotel The Stamford, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Mayu,

We are delighted to read that you had a great stay and appreciate your compliments on the hotel’s beautiful view, fantastic service, nice and spacious room, and the convenience of the location with a wide variety of shops and restaurants in the area. Regarding the wifi access, you might like to know that effective from 1 January 2013, all Swissotel Circle members are given complimentary internet access as one of the host of benefits. Registration itself is hassle-free and can be quickly completed at www.swissotel.com/circle.

Thank you for choosing Swissotel The Stamford!

Warm regards,
Yash Bhanage
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maharashtra
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Swissotel Stamford is an efficiently run establishment. I stayed here on a business trip during July 2013 for 3 days. It offers you just the right amount of luxury to keep you charged for the work while still not distracting you form it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanBrian, Quality Manager at Swissotel The Stamford, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Navneet,

Thank you for the review. Your feedback has also been noted and followed-up through our Market Metrix guest survey. Please rest assured that we will continue our pursuit for excellence in service.

Best regards,
Yash Bhanage
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hochiminh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I was there for 3 days 2 night business trip. Room was spacious, clean and everything worked well. Staffs were very nice and helpful. Breakfast at Kopi Tiam restaurant on the 2nd floor was extremely good, both foods and services were excellent there.
Some may find it is relatively more expensive - it's worth it!

Room Tip: Higher floors had better feedback :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanBrian, Quality Manager at Swissotel The Stamford, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Trung,

Thank you for the many compliments. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Warm regards,
Yash Bhanage
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Swissotel The Stamford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel The Stamford

Address: 2 Stamford Road, Singapore 178882, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#20 Family Hotel in Singapore
#24 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#32 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#33 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Swissotel The Stamford 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Singapore, Swissôtel The Stamford is a deluxe hotel that boasts a prime Singapore location amid the diversions of the Raffles City shopping complex and just 20 minutes away from Singapore Changi International Airport. One of Southeast Asia's tallest hotel, Swissôtel The Stamford offers a luxurious range of 1,261 guestrooms and suites with a wealth of amenities and panoramic views of Singapore and Malaysia. It also boasts an impressive array of 16 restaurants and bars including the Equinox Complex, Singapore's most exciting dining and entertainment complex. The hotel also houses the 70,000sqft Raffles City Convention Centre which comprises 27 meeting venues with technologically advanced business facilities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Swissotel The Stamford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel The Stamford Singapore
Swissotel The Stamford Hotel Singapore
Swissotel Stamford Singapore
Swissotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swissotel The Stamford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.