We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury hotel with less than luxury” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Swissotel The Stamford

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Swissotel The Stamford to your Saves list
Swissotel The Stamford
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Stamford Road, Singapore 178882, Singapore   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off Weekend Stays!
Ranked #42 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Luxury hotel with less than luxury”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This hotel is very centrally located but my bathroom was not very clean with mold and mildew and cracked tiles that I would not expect in a hotel of this quality. It's attached to a mall, walking distance to trains and attractions but I have to say that I was more comfortable in the Crowne Plaza at Changi airport. Your experience may be different but I'm not sure I'd go back.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of the Marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanBrian, Director of Quality at Swissotel The Stamford, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Our sincere apologies for the bathroom issues you experienced. Please rest assured that we will follow up on your feedback. At the same time, plans are underway for a refurbishment of the guestrooms in the future.

We hope to have another opportunity to serve you again.

Best regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,934 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,200
    1,796
    617
    211
    110
See reviews for
1,282
1,371
350
1,280
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,087)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Iligan City, Philippines
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This hotel is centrally located & near to everything, the subway, shopping mall & many Singapore attractions are just walking distance, like the Merlion Park, the Marina Sands & the Singapore flyer. The staff are very fast, efficient & friendly & they answer to our every need like one time, it was already past 2AM & we just got back from the Chinese New Year countdown in Chinatown & we asked for some chamomile tea, & surprisingly it was delivered in no time. Each room is provided with the usual amenities & wi-fi is free. The breakfast buffet is sumptuous with wide array of food selections. Rooms also have balconies with breathtaking views of the Singapore skyline especially at night. Security-wise, it is also topnotch because only guests with keycards can access the elevators..I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanBrian, Director of Quality at Swissotel The Stamford, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Amethyst,

We take pleasure to know that you had a great stay with us and appreciate your positive comments on the hotel’s efficient staff, friendly service, sumptuous breakfast, breathtaking views and top-notch security.

Thank you for choosing Swissotel The Stamford!

Warm regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashqelon
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This could breakfast a gem
Good breakfast with wide selection but slow slow service and sometime unpleasant

The lobby is just a "train station" no feeling of a hotel, long lines at reception

The room is nice usually clean the bed is comfortable and I did sleep well but what one tries to call the lobby you can find yourself waiting for a long time and no one get back to you
Slower is clean but very unsafe the glass door at the bath edge doesn't provide cover it is unstable when trying to get in or out you become unbalanced and almost fell twice
Now trying to set the appropriate water temp will always get you burned or freeze
Well for this level of hotel one would expected more personal welcome and better shower

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanBrian, Director of Quality at Swissotel The Stamford, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Our sincere apologies for the inconveniences. Please rest assured that we will direct your feedback to the relevant departments for follow-up.

At the same time, we appreciate your compliments on the hotel’s comfortable room conditions and the excellent wide breakfast spread.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This is my first time staying with this hotel group. The location is fantastic with the shops and MRT so close. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were immaculate and the view of the harbour was stunning.
Only drama was the hard mattress. Unfortunately I slept terribly due to it being so hard. This was a major bummer for me.
Given that I am fond of this hotel group and particularly fond of the wonderful staff I would like to stay with this hotel group again so I will probably try Fairmont next trip to Singapore. Hopefully they have different mattresses.
A big thank you to the staff for making our time with Swissotel such a great experience.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanBrian, Director of Quality at Swissotel The Stamford, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

You’re most welcome! The pleasure is ours, especially to know that you found our staff to be very friendly and helpful. Your many compliments will be a great encouragement to the staff to continue their good work.

We’re sorry to hear that you did not sleep well due to the mattress. If ever you would like to stay with us again, please let us know in advance so that we can offer mattress toppers to soften it to your liking. Otherwise, you are of course welcome to stay with the Fairmont Singapore or the Raffles Hotel Singapore since the three brands are part of the same parent company.

Thank you for choosing Swissotel the Stamford!

Best regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ede, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We visited this hotel during Chinese New Year. We have been here twice before,We regretted this experience. The hotel was like a market place. Busy, crowded and very chaotic. Check in took more then 25 minutes to be served and we got an older room. Staff clearly too busy and stressed to serve. No personal attention. Rooms are outdated and look very tired already. I was informed that some rooms are already refurbished ours clearly not (10 floor). The hotel is more a 4 star hotel then 5 star. Wifi is not free what is in my opinion not acceptable anymore for hotels of this standard. Bed was good. Amenities in bathroom very limited. Restaurants ok but pricy,food acceptable. Fitness room excellent. Location very good om MRT station city hall and next to Raffles City. Price acceptable since that Singapore is a very expensive city.
Final verdict very dissapointing considering service and room standard this visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanBrian, Director of Quality at Swissotel The Stamford, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Our sincere apologies for the inconveniences. Though we were indeed busy over Chinese New Year, we are as disappointed as you are with your experience. We will review the service delivery aspects to identify root causes with the view to enhance future experiences for our guests.

At the same time, we appreciate your compliments on the hotel’s excellent fitness room and convenient location. You might also like to know that from 1 January 2013, all Swissotel Circle members are given complimentary internet access as one of the host of benefits. Registration itself is hassle-free and can be quickly completed at www.swissotel.com/circle.

Regarding the room conditions, we are glad to share that plans are underway for future refurbishments of guestrooms.

We look forward to your next visit to Swissotel The Stamford.

Warm regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Some rooms may be not up to date, I understand, but mine , a grand room (a kind of corner junior suite) was in very good conditions, with everything in perfect working conditions. Soft goods , sheets, towels etc. were particularly good.
This hotel seems very well managed and you feel at home from the moment you check-in to check out. Best of all the location,probably one of the best in Singapore with shopping, dining and transportation (MRT station) all under the same roof.
The view from most rooms is outstanding , mine was on the 48th floor : you would stay at the balcony for hours.
And...wherever you are in Singapore you'll always see your hotel !
The Raffles hotel is just across the street,for a memorable high tea or a unique buffet dinner in their billiard room.
Breakfast,at around 38++(++ means +17% service and tax) is a little expensive but is very good Anyway, there are many options around and in the food court in the basement . Just across the street, there is the Carlton hotel with a good buffet breakfst and less expensive.
All in all I would come back to the Stamford !

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room and in high floor for a wonderful view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanBrian, Director of Quality at Swissotel The Stamford, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

We’re glad you had a fantastic stay and enjoyed the hotel’s room conditions, breakfast offerings, seamless check-in and -out as well as the convenience of the location. It makes us really happy to know that you felt at home throughout your stay!

Indeed, Swissotel the Stamford is the tallest hotel in Southeast Asia and is visible from many parts of Singapore.

Thank you for choosing Swissotel The Stamford - we certainly hope to see you again!

Best regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I have stayed at the Swissotel twice over the last year and the experience can certainly be much better.

The check-in, and in general, staff attitude, is quite brusque and 'efficient'. Little warmth please! Early morning arrivals will ask for a room, and if you dont have one ready, be nice and gentle about it! And a smile won't hurt, you are in the hospitality industry.

The rooms are the biggest disappointment. There are several older rooms that are so basic that they could redefine spartan. I believe there are some newer rooms but they really have to like you to give you one of those or a higher floor. The service is inconsistent. One saving grace: the shower temperature setting was automatic and worked to perfection everytime.

Breakfast spread was wide but hardly of any great quality. Quantity over quality clearly triumphs at the Swissotel.

For a high end hotel, this is a disappointment. I stayed on a corporate rate (which isnt cheap!) and clearly there are lots of places you could stay within that budget and within walking distance of the Swissotel. If you can choose where you stay in Singapore next time, choose well!

Room Tip: Ask (Demand) for a newer room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanBrian, Director of Quality at Swissotel The Stamford, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you experienced. The issues you mentioned regarding the service and attitude are certainly not acceptable for our hotel. Please rest assured that we will direct your feedback to the front desk for follow-up.

Regarding the room conditions, we are glad to inform that plans are underway for a refurbishment in the near future. In the meantime, we are continuing our preventive maintenance program and will be extra mindful to allocate guests to the best rooms available on the day.

We hope to welcome you back!

Warm regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swissotel The Stamford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel The Stamford

Address: 2 Stamford Road, Singapore 178882, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#24 Family Hotel in Singapore
#29 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#39 Business Hotel in Singapore
#41 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel The Stamford 5*
Number of rooms: 1261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Singapore, Swissôtel The Stamford is a deluxe hotel that boasts a prime Singapore location amid the diversions of the Raffles City shopping complex and just 20 minutes away from Singapore Changi International Airport. One of Southeast Asia's tallest hotel, Swissôtel The Stamford offers a luxurious range of 1,261 guestrooms and suites with a wealth of amenities and panoramic views of Singapore and Malaysia. It also boasts an impressive array of 16 restaurants and bars including the Equinox Complex, Singapore's most exciting dining and entertainment complex. The hotel also houses the 70,000sqft Raffles City Convention Centre which comprises 27 meeting venues with technologically advanced business facilities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Swissotel The Stamford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel The Stamford Singapore
Swissotel The Stamford Hotel Singapore
Swissotel Stamford Singapore
Swissotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swissotel The Stamford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.