We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swissotel The Stamford

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Swissotel The Stamford to your Saves list
Swissotel The Stamford
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Stamford Road, Singapore 178882, Singapore   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Seasonal Saver- 20% off!
Ranked #43 of 302 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wokingham
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We decided to stay here for the second time having done an overnight stop in 2005. The main reason was the brilliant location and fantastic views from the rooms. The receptionist kindly gave us a harbour view room on 38th floor. This view is a must for the evening, with the whole of the Marina Bay and business skyscrapers lit up. Even better, the new Marina Bay Sands hotel puts on a laser show each night which looked great from our balcony. We booked the hotel as part of a Singapore Airlines Stopover and could have had the room cheaper by booking directly with the hotel. We would, however, have had to pay a lot extra to get the additional services and discounts provided by SIA as part of their stopover deal, so I guess you pay your money and take your choice. Unfortunately, the £152 room rate didn't include breakfast, which at 22 SGD just for 2 eggs and a bit of ham seemed extortionate to me. We went outside to eat instead and paid 15 SGD for 2 breakfasts and teas! And what a choice there is in Raffles City, which forms part of the complex. A fantastic selection of eateries in the basement plus a great food court on the third floor, where lunch cost us a few dollars.
The staff were very helpful. The concierges we spoke to were excellent and gave us lots of help to organise our days out. The fact that the City Hall MRT station is right beside the hotel is a real plus, and we made good use of it if we were not using the free SIA hop on hop off bus or SAEX and needed to get places without walking miles in the heat. While I would agree that this is not the plushest 5 star hotel I have stayed in, our room was very nice and the bathroom was pretty good, other than the fact that a chunk of the work surface near the sink had somehow been loosened and not stuck back. The aircon worked perfectly and was very quiet.
To me, one of the main annoyances was the charge for the wifi. We had just come from Bali where we stayed at a pretty inexpensive hotel yet had excellent free wifi in our room, which was some way from reception. The cheapest wifi at the Stamford was 9 SGD for one hour which we had to use as we needed to check in our flight and access our emails. What really rankled was the fact that even though we only used about 45 minutes of wifi, this did not carry over to the next day so we lost access that we had actually paid for. Iniquitous daylight robbery! I had a moan at reception but I doubt they care or will do anything in future. This is ridiculous and too prevalent in expensive hotels. In the USA, even the cheapest motel provides not only free wifi but also a computer to use if you haven't brought your own laptop. What these big hotels don't seem to understand is that if they lowered their rates more people would feel inclined to pay and turnover would probably increase greatly. The only other problem with the Stamford is that it is a major business hotel. The lobby during the day is often packed and looks like a transit camp. The hotel also caters for at least 3 airlines as a stopover so there are often a lot of crew around. The peace and quiet in the morning when we checked out at 6.30am was a marked contrast.
Nonetheless, we intend to visit Singapore again in the future and we will stay at the Stamford for it's location if nothing else. It is only about 10 minutes walk from Boat Quay, 15 minutes from the harbour and 20-25 minutes walk from the Singapore Flyer. The Singapore Cricket Club, Supreme Court and Parliament Building are just around the corner. Whoever decided to site the hotel here knew what they were doing.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a harbour view room. It's worth it even if they want to charge a bit extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanBrian, Director of Quality at Swissotel The Stamford, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your compliments on the hotel’s fantastic view, service, room conditions and the convenience of the location. At the same time, we note your feedback on the lobby and wifi pricing.

Thank you for choosing Swissotel The Stamford!

Best regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,097
    1,720
    583
    203
    106
See reviews for
1,226
1,315
334
1,205
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,039)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

Doesnt get better. Have just checked in after mediocre 5 days at holiday inn atrium (never again).

Amazing location. Excellent room. Wow view and we're only on 23rd floor. See Attached photos. Right above MTR and that too a hub.

This is the most fantastic value for money. And I got a good deal too. So all good. Highly recommended

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanBrian, Director of Quality at Swissotel The Stamford, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the recommendation and we greatly appreciate your compliments on the hotel’s location, excellent room conditions, view, pricing and the convenience of the location.

Looking forward to welcome you back to Swissotel The Stamford!

Warm regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Perfect location and spectacular views from Level 59. Service was excellent and concierge couldn't have been more helpful. Their knowledge of the local restaurant scene was impeccable. One complaint was the musky room smell in our suite. That wet carpet smell. You get used to it (and hard to combat in the Singapore!) but more should be done. Rooms a bit dated too but good value by Singapore standards for a high end hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanBrian, Director of Quality at Swissotel The Stamford, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

We’re glad that you enjoyed your recent stay and appreciate your compliments on the hotel’s spectacular view, excellent service, helpful staff and the perfect location. At the same time, your feedback on the room design and smell are noted will be highlighted to housekeeping department for follow-up.

Thank you for choosing Swissotel The Stamford!

Best regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Easy and quick check in with a lovely receptionist who gave us a room on the 61st floor. We are from Christchurch N.Z so have experienced a lot of earthquakes, but felt really safe at such a height. Even when it gets busier they seem to manage the queues very efficiently. The view from our room was stunning, we could see the new casino and new Marina Bay gardens and all the other attractions in that area. Amazing. This was our third time staying there and the room did not disappoint again. Lovely large room and bathroom with all the amenities provided, and topped up when needed. We were asked by housekeeping lots of times if everything was anything else we needed. Much appreciated.
Swimming pools are very good, lots of spare loungers and lovely towels.
It may be a bit more expensive but the best thing about the Stamford is the location. With the Stamford Plaza right next door, MRT a quick walk across the road or underground and the endless shops. If it rains you can spend all day underground and never get bored. Forget Orchard Road this is the best end of the city.
Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: all the rooms are a good size. Have stayed 3 times now and a different floor and style of room each...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanBrian, Director of Quality at Swissotel The Stamford, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

We’re happy that we didn’t disappoint you again and greatly appreciate your compliments on the hotel’s service, staff, view, room condition and size, amenities and the convenience of the location.

Thank you for choosing Swissotel The Stamford!

Warm regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We absolutely LOVED this hotel!! we stayed for 2 nights on the Singapore airlines stopover holiday program.
The rooms we very well appointed and spacious for a Singapore Hotel and our veiw of the city from the 47 floor were spectacular. the staff at the hotel were extremely efficient and very friendly, we havd not trouble getting around the city with the MRT in the adjacent building and a taxi rank right outside the door, the hotel is walking distance to Bugis Junction and loads of great places to eat and ir right next door to the historic Raffle hotel and is joined to the Raffles City shopping mall so very close to ample shopping :)

We would certainly stay here on our next trip to Singapore

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanBrian, Director of Quality at Swissotel The Stamford, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the lovely review!

We’re glad that you love our hotel and appreciate your compliments on the room condition and seize, view, friendly and efficient staff and the locality of the hotel.

We hope to welcome back to Swissotel The Stamford!

Best regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I was surprised how big and busy the hotel is when I first arrived. The staff are very friendly, I think you really expect that in Singapore. I was first given a room on level 9, which faces directly to the glass roof-top of the Raffle Mail and there was renovation going on too. So I requested to change my room to a upper floor via telephone to the operator. The operators (I made a few calls to the operators during my stay) are very friendly and picked up the phone very quickly. They finally offered me a room to level 19 and faces the memorial garden and sent a bellboy to give me the keycard and bring my luggage to the new room. The room on level 19 has great view as I mentioned just now. It is clean, the bed is nice and firm. The carpet however is a bit dated and you would expect it should be replaced based on the fact that this is a five stars hotel. The bathroom is very clean but a bit dated too. The location of the hotel is excellent, with Raffle City just below and can be accessed to it without going outdoor. The City Hall MRT station is just around the corner and Raffle Hotel just opposites (Long Bar, yay!). Overall the quality of the hotel is very good. Having said that, the lifts are quite old and feel a bit not stable. Also, the Wifi is quite expensive.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanBrian, Director of Quality at Swissotel The Stamford, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback!

We appreciate your compliment on the hotel’s friendly staff, view, cleanliness, room conditions, quality and the convenience of the location. At the same time, we note your concerns of the lift, bathroom conditions and the carpet in the room. Your feedback will be incorporated into future refurbishments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Swissotel The Stamford!

Warm regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

So handy linked to the mall. Iv stayed her 5 times in last 10 years. Great location for night time to get around bars near by. Staff amazing. Got upgraded to top floor which was fantastic. 2 rooms 2 balconies. Executive lounge is worth the extra money at night time. Fill your boots!! But breakfast is better on the 2nd floor. Pool is great.

Room Tip: Go for executive room and have the evening drinks and snacks
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanBrian, Director of Quality at Swissotel The Stamford, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your regular stays with Swissotel The Stamford! We’re glad that you enjoyed your most recent stay and appreciate your compliments on the hotel’s staff, service, view, breakfast, pool amenities and the locality.

Looking forward to have you with us once again.

Best regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swissotel The Stamford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel The Stamford

Address: 2 Stamford Road, Singapore 178882, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#27 Family Hotel in Singapore
#27 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#40 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#40 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel The Stamford 5*
Number of rooms: 1261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Singapore, Swissôtel The Stamford is a deluxe hotel that boasts a prime Singapore location amid the diversions of the Raffles City shopping complex and just 20 minutes away from Singapore Changi International Airport. One of Southeast Asia's tallest hotel, Swissôtel The Stamford offers a luxurious range of 1,261 guestrooms and suites with a wealth of amenities and panoramic views of Singapore and Malaysia. It also boasts an impressive array of 16 restaurants and bars including the Equinox Complex, Singapore's most exciting dining and entertainment complex. The hotel also houses the 70,000sqft Raffles City Convention Centre which comprises 27 meeting venues with technologically advanced business facilities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Swissotel The Stamford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel The Stamford Singapore
Swissotel The Stamford Hotel Singapore
Swissotel Stamford Singapore
Swissotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swissotel The Stamford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.