We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swissotel The Stamford

Save Saved
You added Swissotel The Stamford to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Swissotel The Stamford
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Stamford Road, Singapore 178882, Singapore   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SEASONAL SAVER - 20% OFF
Ranked #35 of 291 hotels in Singapore
HK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A good stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

I stayed at this hotel during the Singapore national day celebrations and was luckily given the room which had huge balcony facing the stadium where the celebrations were taking place. The view was unbeatable, overlooking the marina bay sands and the stadium and I did not miss even a single firework or the parade down the road.
The service at the hotel is also great. My room was very spacious, as compared to some other hotels in the vicinity, including fairmont, where I stayed recently.
The spa and the gym facility is also very good. The spa is shared with fairmont. The swimming pool is little overcrowded with all the families and children, all over the place; but then the spa area comes to rescue.
The hotel is conveniently located atop the raffles city mall and 2 busy train stations.
All in all, a great stay.

Room Tip: Ask for the one facing the stadium
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,664 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,640
    1,342
    442
    158
    82
See reviews for
882
1037
265
976
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (837)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Masterton, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Paid for upgrade to Executive lounge which was offered at check-in. Stayed on 60th floor. The lounge service and its fantastic food is unbeatable.
Every staff member we came into contact with even random staff in the lifts were happy and friendly. One staff member we met in the lift even personally escorted us to the 70th floor to show us around (awesome views from the bar and restaurants).
Cannot say enough about how fantastic everything is at this hotel.

Room Tip: If you want quick easy access to a wide variety of high quality meals opt for Executive Lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

An exquisite luxury hotel. Stayed at this hotel from 6th June 2012 - 10th June 2012.

The hotel is located at a 30 minute drive from the airport, a 7 minute drive from Clarke Quay a 5 minute drive from Marina Bay and next to the Night race track . Situated on the top of Raffles Mall, it provides an exclusive access to the mall at various levels.

The hotel is also interconnected to The Fairmont hotel which is right next to it. There is access to the City Hall MRT which is a 2 minutes walk from the hotel.

The room that I was staying in was on the 12th floor with a view to the Marina Bay Sands casino. The view of the city at night is also exquisite and simple breath taking.

The hotel is equipped with 11 restaurants and 5 bars along with recreational facilities which include Willow Stream Spa, 2 outdoor swimming pools, 6 tennis courts and a fitness club.

The staff were very friendly and prompt with their response to service requests; always with a smile.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanBrian, Director of Quality at Swissotel The Stamford, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the positive review regarding your recent stay.

Indeed, Swissotel the Stamford is centrally and conveniently located in the heart of the city. We are glad you were able to enjoy this convenience as well as the harbour view and huge array of facilities and food & beverage offerings.

We derive the greatest satisfaction, however, from knowing that you found our staff to be friendly, prompt and always ready to serve with a smile. Please rest assured that we will not rest on our laurels but continue to strive towards service excellence.

We hope to welcome you back to Swissotel the Stamford soon.

Best regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We stayed at 2 hotels in Singapore: The Festive Hotel (nice but expensive eating choices around) and The Stamford. I recommend this hotel if you are a family of 4 since they have 2 double beds, but looks more like a queen. If you are travelling w/ small children, there is no hassle coz it is directly connected from Changi airport. There is a 24-hour Mac Donalds on the 1st floor and for other food preference, there is the Food Place at the Raffles Mall connected via the 3rd/4th floor of the hotel. Do pay extra for the harbour rooms coz the view is priceless. Before booking, be a Swissotel member first, trust me there are extra perks. Email also the reservations team that you would want a renovated room. (",)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanBrian, Director of Quality at Swissotel The Stamford, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review.

We are glad you were able to enjoy the convenience of the hotel's location and the spectacular view from your room.

We look forward to welcome you back to Swissotel the Stamford in the near future.

Best regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beausoleil
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Very good location, just above Raffles City shopping centre, close to CHIJMES, Raffles, the river etc.

good sized rooms, nice pool (for relaxing rather than lap swimming) very good gym (shared with Fairmont - see my other review).

overall good hotel will go back

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

I'm in Singapore usually once or twice a year for business. My company's office is located in Suntec City, near the marina area, and so I usually stay there, usually at the Conrad. For some reason this trip everything there was booked or not available at our corporate rate, so I ended up at the Swissotel The Stamford, which is still quite close to Suntec. I've also been wanting to venture a bit further afield as Suntec can be a bit corporate and isolated, so this situation was all good.

Overall I was very pleased with my choice and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again. The location is fantastic! Easy access through the underground malls and walkways to the MRT, Suntec, great shopping malls and food courts. The hotel is also centrally located in Singapore, with very close proximity to some of the older colonial and historical sights in Singapore, Raffles Hotel, Parliament, the river, Clark's Quay, etc.

The rooms were very nice, decent size. The bed was extremely comfortable. My only real complaint was that there was no easy chair or sofa to relax in.

While I was there the hotel was serving as the hospitality center for the Indian International Film Festival Bollywood Extravaganza! Oh yes. Red carpets, screaming teenage girls, film crews (including global names like BBC, CNN, etc.), and security everywhere. However, for what could have been a nightmare of inconvenience, the hotel handled it all extremely well and there was very little inconvenience for me as a "regular" (i.e., not affiliated with the film festival) guest. Very well-done!

So overall, very high marks. Its not the Conrad or the Four Seasons or the Ritz, but its a very comfortable, very well-run option nonetheless, and the location is superb. I'll most likely be back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanBrian, Director of Quality at Swissotel The Stamford, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

We take pleasure to know that you had a very comfortable stay and enjoyed the room and the hotel's central location.

Indeed, the Indian International Film Academy Awards was upon us and we are very proud to have been a integral part of this prestigious event. The team will be very encouraged to know that you were not inconvenienced while staying with us during that time.

At the same time, we note your feedback on the sofa.

We look forward to welcome you back to Swissotel the Stamford.

Best regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Quebec
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Recently spent three nights at the Stamford hotel. Totally enjoyed it. We hesitated between this hotel and a couple more in the area but we were really pleased with our choice. The location of the hotel cannot be greater, it is located above a shopping area which also has a supermarket and has easy access to MRT station. But, the very best thing about the hotel is the view. Wow, if you enjoy city views, I would strongly recommend getting a room with a harbour view. The view is great both day and night and the balcony allows you to enjoy it even more. We reserved a room on the executive floor - which was well worth the extra cost. Executive rooms include breakfast (quite the feast) as well a cocktail hour(s) at night which (depending on your appetite) could very well serve as a meal.

The service was perfect - absolultely nothing to complain about. In fact I had made a mistake with my reservation and the manager waived the extra fee that would have resulted from my error.

I would not hesitate to go back to the Swissotel Stamford.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Swissotel The Stamford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel The Stamford

Address: 2 Stamford Road, Singapore 178882, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#20 Family Hotel in Singapore
#26 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#32 Business Hotel in Singapore
#33 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Swissotel The Stamford 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Singapore, Swissôtel The Stamford is a deluxe hotel that boasts a prime Singapore location amid the diversions of the Raffles City shopping complex and just 20 minutes away from Singapore Changi International Airport. One of Southeast Asia's tallest hotel, Swissôtel The Stamford offers a luxurious range of 1,261 guestrooms and suites with a wealth of amenities and panoramic views of Singapore and Malaysia. It also boasts an impressive array of 16 restaurants and bars including the Equinox Complex, Singapore's most exciting dining and entertainment complex. The hotel also houses the 70,000sqft Raffles City Convention Centre which comprises 27 meeting venues with technologically advanced business facilities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Swissotel The Stamford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel The Stamford Singapore
Swissotel The Stamford Hotel Singapore
Swissotel Stamford Singapore
Swissotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swissotel The Stamford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.