We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swissotel The Stamford

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Swissotel The Stamford to your Saves list
Swissotel The Stamford
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Stamford Road, Singapore 178882, Singapore   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Seasonal Saver- 20% off!
Ranked #44 of 302 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Perth
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Close to perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

The Stamford has been around for some time but now I understand the excellent reviews. While the hotel itself may be showing its age it is well maintained, the staff are exceptional and the place seems to run like clock work!

We arrived to a busy reception but within 20 minutes had been ushered to our room and a roll away bed for our daughter had been delivered and seamlessly deployed complete with additional towels/robes etc. The rooms are generously sized with plenty of room for the roll away, a king size bed and a desk. All the rooms have balconies – if you enjoy the feel of the breeze in your face 150M in the air!

Staff from the porters (who greet you by name), the seamless check-in, concierge who seem able to book/arrange just about anything without blinking an eyelid, through to the ladies cleaning the room – all fantastic!

We didn’t sample breakfast in the hotel instead sampling the many nearby restaurants and cafes. Had high tea in the lobby bar and that was nice and moderately priced. If you want to treat yourself pre-book a Sunday brunch at Equinox complete with free flow Moet and cocktails – the food is excellent too plus you get the fantastic views from the 70th floor. Not cheap but well worth the treat if your budget can stretch and again the staff are fantastic!

The only (very small) negative for me was the tired pool area – the pools (one deep one shallow) are shared with the adjoining hotel so can get pretty busy and aren’t very big. Okay for a splash but no comparison to the more modern resort pools available in Sentosa etc. Also had issues connecting to the (rather expensive) internet and would suggest you find some free wireless access elsewhere or buy a local sim card and use your phone instead – call and internet rates are very cheap.

Room Tip: we paid for the more expensive harbour view but if you're planning a visit to MBS or the Flyer i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PriscillaOsman, Manager at Swissotel The Stamford, responded to this review, December 28, 2011
Dear dazza66,

Thank you for choosing Swissôtel The Stamford, Singapore as your preferred venue of accommodation. We are honoured and privileged to have you reside with us during your sojourn in the lion city.

We are grateful for your valuable compliments and are delighted that you have had an enjoyable stay with us. We constantly strive to provide the highest standards of personalised service to our guests.

It leaves us now to look forward to welcoming you back to Swissôtel The Stamford in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,096
    1,720
    583
    203
    106
See reviews for
1,226
1,314
334
1,205
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,038)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Stayed on 2 occasions whilst travelling on our Honeymoon - both times fanastic welcome on the driveway from the attendants and a fast checkin. Both times got a late checkout of 4pm(rather than 12pm) and free bottles of wine in the room.

Hotel is clean, and in a fantastic location right in the middle of the raffles shopping centre. Hotel is quite busy with airline crews,but they have their own seperate checkin area near the lifts, and are very unobtrusive to staying here, not a big deal as some of the other reviews make out.

Room Tip: It's a very tall building - so request a higher level if the view is important - also as such if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PriscillaOsman, Manager at Swissotel The Stamford, responded to this review, December 28, 2011
Dear Bristraveler,

Warmest greetings from Swissôtel The Stamford, Singapore!

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are pleased that your stay was a success.

It leaves us now to look forward to welcoming you back to Swissôtel The Stamford, many more times in the not too distant future and we will continue to deliver the highest standard of renowned Swiss hospitality that you have now come to associate with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Sorry, I wanted to like this hotel, but the fact that the internet cuts in and out constantly means that I can't respond to business emails in the evening, so I refuse to stay here again. I can't wait to check out and go to the Marina Bay Sands, where I know the internet connection is reliable and fast. I would consider Swissotel if they make a stronger commitment to respecting the business traveler's internet requirements and invest in the necessary infrastructure. It's 2012 people, we should not have to spend 30 minutes a night 5 nights a week getting IT at the hotel to fix the internet for us, only to have it crap out again after 30 minutes. For $128/wk for internet, I demand much better. Sorry guys...

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PriscillaOsman, Manager at Swissotel The Stamford, responded to this review, December 26, 2011
Dear Daniel H,

Greetings from Swissôtel The Stamford, Singapore.

Thank you for taking the time to highlight your concerns about the internet connection disruptions during your stay with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you experienced. Your comments have since been shared with the Management.

We hope that you would give us another chance to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

The Stamford is a big hotel which is popular with business travelers. So how did a family with 2 young children get on?
Fist of all entering the lobby we greeted by the staff asking how they could help us. This is a nice touch - there are plenty of staff floating around the lobby helping people who are either arriving or go out somewhere and need assistance.
The check in very quick and friendly - up to our room in a few minutes. Why do other hotels take so long to check you in? Especially when they have most of your details?
Asked for a room on a high floor - great views of the Marina area from the 58th floor! The room was clean, light and comfortable. The only problem we had was with the bathroom. The shower (over the bath) has a small glass door which does nothing much to stop water going all over the bathroom floor. This must be a problem in all rooms, as we came back for one more night after staying a few days on Sentosa. One good feature in the rooms (which other hotels could learn from) was the electrical sockets. By the desk the sockets accept all plugs from around the world. No need for adaptors. They also have a couple of 120w plugs for American tourists.
The hotel is in a great central location with malls and MRT underground. We didn't book breakfasts at the hotel as there are plenty of cheap choices downstairs in the mall.
Next time in Singapore we would happily stay here again, especially as most hotels in Singapore don't accept bookings for a family of four.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

upon arrival at the hotel, at about 6pm, we were checked into the wrong type of room. we were downgraded literally. we booked a harbor view room. after we brought this matter up with the Duty Manager, we had to wait for over an hour for the new room.

after a bad start, things got worst; chip tea mugs, moldy bathroom and no hot water until the 10am the following day. had two cold showers, made more complaints, finally it was fixed. we did receive a credit for the no hot water issue. over the next few days, the chip tea mug returned to the room. I couldn't be bothered to complaint anymore.

we stayed on the Executive Floor, with breakfast in the morning and pre-dinner drinks in the evening; which was all excellent.

service was a bit hit and miss.

the hotel is just under the City Hall station which is very convenient to travel around.

we visited the New Asia Bar during day time; the atmosphere is more like a night-club. we didn't bother to try any of the restaurant in-house.

overall, it was an expensive hotel but it got the best uninterrupted view. it is an old hotel too. smallish bathroom, no walk-in shower stall but they have Nespresso machine which is awesome!

Room Tip: get on the highest floor for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dnipropetrovsk, Ukraine
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

The hotel is great. We had a room on 23 floor. Harbor view. Magnificent!
Staff is very nice. All questions are solved very quickly.
Breakfast is amazing.
Location is ideal for sightseeing. For shopping Orchard road is little bit better. Nevertheless there is mall in the building.

Room Tip: Ask for harbor view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

I stay here almost weekly wih the airline I work for.
We get put in dirty old smelly rooms.
Faulty dripping showers, no hot water, blocked sinks and broken taps. Broken balcony doors broken air conditioning dusty rooms stained carpets and sheets.
I hope the hotel read this and realise word of mouth outside the crews that come can have a impact on other future bookings.
Because we stay there every time we come to work why shouldn't we have a nice room like any other guest.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PriscillaOsman, Manager at Swissotel The Stamford, responded to this review, December 24, 2011
Dear Fly241,

Greetings from Swissôtel The Stamford, Singapore.

Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know your thoughts. Crews are our guests too & we apologise if you feel otherwise. Your needs are our utmost priority and we take immense pride in anticipating and exceeding all of them. We will not rest on our laurels and will continue to upgrade our guestrooms & furnishings to deliver the highest standard.

Once again, we apologise for your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swissotel The Stamford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel The Stamford

Address: 2 Stamford Road, Singapore 178882, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#27 Family Hotel in Singapore
#27 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#41 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#41 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel The Stamford 5*
Number of rooms: 1261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Singapore, Swissôtel The Stamford is a deluxe hotel that boasts a prime Singapore location amid the diversions of the Raffles City shopping complex and just 20 minutes away from Singapore Changi International Airport. One of Southeast Asia's tallest hotel, Swissôtel The Stamford offers a luxurious range of 1,261 guestrooms and suites with a wealth of amenities and panoramic views of Singapore and Malaysia. It also boasts an impressive array of 16 restaurants and bars including the Equinox Complex, Singapore's most exciting dining and entertainment complex. The hotel also houses the 70,000sqft Raffles City Convention Centre which comprises 27 meeting venues with technologically advanced business facilities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Swissotel The Stamford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel The Stamford Singapore
Swissotel The Stamford Hotel Singapore
Swissotel Stamford Singapore
Swissotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swissotel The Stamford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.