We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Luxury Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Singapore

Save Saved
You added Mandarin Oriental, Singapore to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Raffles Ave, Marina Square, Singapore 039797, Singapore   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 292 hotels in Singapore
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good Luxury Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

A Good hotel but very expensive hotel to stay. All the amenities are luxurious.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,909 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,043
    599
    184
    50
    33
See reviews for
455
1243
197
641
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (627)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Netanya, Israel
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

I stayed for five nights at the Mandarin Oriental last week while in Singapore for a trade show. It was my first stay in this hotel and I was completely blown away by how good it is.

The hotel is in a good location - its in the Marina area and is very close to a bunch of shopping malls and other hotels. One of the malls is directly accessible from the Mandarin Oriental's premises. Its very close to the Sand's Casino, about a 5 minute cab ride. Its also only a 5-10 minute cab ride from Clark Quay, a bit longer to Orchard Road. Generally Singapore is pretty small, so you can cab it pretty much anywhere. I didn't try the MRT this trip so I'm not sure how convenient it is to this hotel.

The rooms are spacious and very attractive. I had a king size bed with a city view. The bathroom is huge and had a separate shower and bath, and two sinks. The bed way one of the more comfortable beds I have slept in. The room is equipped with a large flat screen tv, a proper sound system that you can plug your ipod or PC into, you also have a cable that will allow you to connect your laptop to the TV, and there is also a DVD player. The room was spotlessly clean and in great shape.

The Hotel building is not brand new, but it is in excellent shape. The lobby is a bit unusual since there is not much place to sit around, but other than that its very pleasant. The Hotel has a huge atrium, i think its 20 floors. There are a bunch of restaurants and bars, I only used the cafe which is the breakfast area and the bar. Both were very nice places to sit, but the service was the standout. The staff make a real effort to learn your name and to understand your personal needs and preferences. At breakfast every morning I was greeted by name and a friendly conversation that carried on from the previous day. Quite impressive when you consider the size of the place. Breakfast itself was expensive ($50) but delicious. Huge selection of Western and Eastern foods, plus fresh pastries, juice bar, etc. etc.

Other hotel facilities include a reasonably equipped gym and a very nice pool area. There is also a spa, although I didn't use its services.

The package I was on included wifi internet, but I'm pretty certain its usually not included.

This is a true 5 star hotel with 5 star service, so its not among the cheaper hotels in Singapore, but I felt at $250 (SGD) per night it offered fantastic value for money.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iMumbai India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

I stayed with my family for 3 nights the service from the minute we got off our taxi was pleasureable.Each staff member greeted us by name with a warm smile and continued to do so until our departure.The hotel was very well located facing the Marina and the F1 race track and walking distance to Suntec via the marina square shopping complex which is linked to the hotel where there were inumerable restaurants and a wide variety of cuisines to choose from.Each room had a balcony which was a rare find in city hotel.The bathroom was spacious and toiletries very good. breakfast ws excellent with a good mix of oriental , western and asian cuisine .Five restaurants including a stakehouse and a very nice fitness centre and spa. MRT is not very close about 15kms away

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bombay, India
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

I stayed at the Mandarin for 3 nights.

What I liked:
1) Large rooms with long pane windows overlooking the harbour.
2) My room gave me an excellent view of the Singapore Flyer and the strobe lights reflected in the sea
3) Very good conference facilities
4) A choice of restaurants and bars within walking distance
5) Stylish lobby and facade

What could have been better:
1) The gift shop
2) The selection of vegetarian food.

All in all a great propertt albeit a bit pricy.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010 via mobile

Travelling on ( or at least) near to our anniversary saw us in Singapore we had the fortune to stay at the mandarin oriental. This is without doubt an ultra five hotel. The service is impecable. Funny enough the mandarin is a wor experience for those training in high class silver service and everything is checked and double check with your pleasure at the front. We were more than grateful for our complimentary upgrade to suite. 

The pool area is fab. Througout your tenure you are treated with ice  cold smoothies and frozen delights on the house as you slurp away at your Singapore slings. Being an ex british colony probably describes the feverish actions of your hosts to assemble parasols when the short lived turmulptous afternoon thunderstorms race by. You needn't move - you're warm, you're dry and relaxed knowing when the momentary downpour passes your hosts will remove the offending shade and you can get on relaxing and tanning unoffended. 

We were lucky enough to enjoy three nights while stefan thiel and cynthia otterbach played smooth classics in the bar and made a perfect holiday better still. By the way cynthia knows everybody from the new Orleans crowd so catch her after the performance and oil her with martinis to hear her life story. It is interesting trust me :)

Top tip free flow bar in the hotel buffet is worth it. The food quality is excellent and at 24S$ for free flow after two drinks your quids in. 

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

Having stayed at the Mandarin a while ago, I just felt I need to write a review on what a fantastic trip I had. Visiting en route to Australia, we decided to stay in the Oriental for 4-nights there and 4-nights on the way back.

The hotel is very large and has a huge atrium that goes down into the shopping centre underneath.

The rooms are extremely spacious with all the mod-cons and great tv's, and views overlooking the harbour are just stunning. Great for thunder-storm spotting, was just fantastic!

The staff could not be more helpful. Really they are so nice. They'll do anything you ask and made the trip that extra bit special with such great service.

The hotel has a pool outside with a nice pool bar. The pool has underwater sound and is nice when swimming... you just don't wan't to come up!

Really do stay at this hotel. Even if it's for a night. It's really really really great and I'll defiantly be going back on my next visit to Singapore.

Visit the Island of Sentosa and see the water display. That's fantastic too!!

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

We undestand the hotel had gone through some renovation in 2005 but still it still has the "aged' feeling, particularly the bathroom, with typical marble slabs that used to be popular in the 70's to 80's. Also didn't like the glass vase which was stained with water marks but no water in it, though it has fresh orchid and pebbles; would expect a hotel chain like MO to do a better job than that.

Staff are generally courteous but not overly friendly. The LCD TV was good and the sound impact great even for action movies. Having forked out S$410 per night without breakfast, the hotel stay alone is not worth the value. I am a big fan of MO Jakarta, thus when comparing to its Indonesia counterpart, MO Singapore has been a let down.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Singapore

Address: 5 Raffles Ave, Marina Square, Singapore 039797, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Singapore
#8 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Singapore
#8 Business Hotel in Singapore
#10 Family Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Singapore 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore is one of the world's foremost luxury hotels. It is the only hotel in the city that has been awarded 'Five Star' status for both accommodation and spa in the prestigious Forbes Travel Guide for three consecutive years (2012, 2013 and 2014). This award-winning property has a prime location, close to the financial hub with easy access to luxury boutiques and entertainment venues; and minutes away from Suntec Singapore International Convention & Exhibition Centre, Sands Expo and Convention Center, Suntec City, Millenia Walk and Esplanade - Theatres on the Bay. The hotel features an impressive atrium lobby with 527 rooms and suites. There is a premium Oriental Club Lounge, an indulgent and intimate spa, extensive meeting and banqueting facilities, five renowned restaurants and a lounge overlooking spectacular Marina Bay. Mandarin Oriental, Singapore has recently been voted one of "T+L 500 World's Best Hotels 2014" by Travel + Leisure USA and recognised as one of the top 25 hotels in South East Asia in the Conde Nast Traveler 2013 Readers' Choice Award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and getaroom.com so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore Hotel Singapore
Mandarin Singapore
Oriental Hotel Singapore
Oriental Singapore
Singapore Mandarin Oriental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.