We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty close to perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Singapore

Save Saved
You added Mandarin Oriental, Singapore to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Raffles Ave, Marina Square, Singapore 039797, Singapore   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Daily Dining / Spa Credit
Ranked #7 of 292 hotels in Singapore
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Pretty close to perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights while in town for the Singapore Marathon. This hotel is just the epitome of old-school, impeccable service that you hope to find from a brand like Mandarin Oriental. Polite, efficient check-in. Graciously followed through on a request for a high floor room with a view of the city. Room was large, spotlessly clean and beautifully appointed. Location is superb, close to the city and near MRT stations (marathon course went right in front of the hotel and finish line was 300m away - - - also a great location for F1). Food was fantastic albeit pretty pricey (at lunch one day, servers saw that we were disappointed that we had come at the very end of the buffet, so after we instead ordered from the a la carte menu, they brought us a big plate of sushi, dessert and other food from the buffet anyway). Pool is amazing and the view is stunning. All the staff were very helpful.

Only complaint is that they should have an in-room coffee/espresso machine - - - at this price point and for this brand (especially when catering to business travelers), having instant coffee is not just appropriate.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,902 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,041
    597
    181
    50
    33
See reviews for
455
1238
197
639
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (624)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

I'm not going to wax lyrical about the great service, an amazing atrium, the well appointed rooms, the outstanding club floor, the remodelled pool area or even the outstanding Cantonese cuisine. No I'm just going to tell you if you want one of the best views in this city ask for a high floor and you will see it all. Marina bay, the Padang the Merlion, that silly hotel with the shrubs and pond on the roof and the coast. Outstanding.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

as part of our honeymoon. We were beautifully welcomed and upgraded to a very nice room with harbor view. We only stayed one night but had an excellent time. The hotel is beautiful and the staff helpful and friendly. We had a drink at the bar and were served complimentary strawberries and chocolates as a honeymoon treat. The breakfast buffet is amazing. Lovely stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

I rated this hotel excellent in all regard, however I was extremely displeased with my experience at the restaurant. Upon entered the restaurant the first thing the staff asked me was if I was staying at the hotel, there was no greeting or comfort of any sort. On the other hand, all Caucasian guests were greeted with a lot of esteem, and was never asked if they are staying at the hotel. When my friend, who is also non-Caucasian, came down from his room to join me at the restaurant, he experience the same displeasure. We then noticed this concept repeat again and again with other customers, as we were seated close to the entrance. I understand the infatuation with Caucasians in wired in some peoples brain, but guest from all across the world should be treated with respect, and not have to go through an episode of racism or judgement.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

This hotel is wonderful! It is beautiful and maintained very well. The rooms are nicely appointed and have all of the amenities you would want. Bathroom was great with big shower and separate soaking tub. The location is great. There is a mall right next door and just across the street is a bus stop where the hop on hop off bus can be picked up. It is walking distance to the Singapore Flyer as well Marina Bay towers and shops. The staff at the Mandarin Oriental were amazing. We had access to the Oriental Club and had breakfast and sometimes afternoon tea there. Loved it. Great place to get away from the masses and enjoy the views and some food. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I come to Singapore for work and leisure twice a year. The service is impeccable each and every time...the staff are always helpful and friendly. Location is perfect as it's close to our Singapore office. The breakfast had a wide variety and was great. Overall, highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We were expecting quality, but the Harbour property amazed us. Gorgeous public spaces; glass elevators gave 18 story view. Third floor contains beautiful installation piece of giant pottery. And the service was impeccable, beginning with personal escort to our rooms. We had asked for harbor view, and upon entering room, through the wall to wall glass on the North side, gave unobstructed 150 degree panorama of one of the worlds prettiest marina sights. Fabulous. And then there's the three rooms of food displayed and available on the breakfast buffet! Wow. What a memorable hotel stay

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Singapore

Address: 5 Raffles Ave, Marina Square, Singapore 039797, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#7 Business Hotel in Singapore
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Singapore
#7 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#9 Family Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Singapore 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore is one of the world's foremost luxury hotels. It is the only hotel in the city that has been awarded 'Five Star' status for both accommodation and spa in the prestigious Forbes Travel Guide for three consecutive years (2012, 2013 and 2014). This award-winning property has a prime location, close to the financial hub with easy access to luxury boutiques and entertainment venues; and minutes away from Suntec Singapore International Convention & Exhibition Centre, Sands Expo and Convention Center, Suntec City, Millenia Walk and Esplanade - Theatres on the Bay. The hotel features an impressive atrium lobby with 527 rooms and suites. There is a premium Oriental Club Lounge, an indulgent and intimate spa, extensive meeting and banqueting facilities, five renowned restaurants and a lounge overlooking spectacular Marina Bay. Mandarin Oriental, Singapore has recently been voted one of "T+L 500 World's Best Hotels 2014" by Travel + Leisure USA and recognised as one of the top 25 hotels in South East Asia in the Conde Nast Traveler 2013 Readers' Choice Award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore Hotel Singapore
Mandarin Singapore
Oriental Hotel Singapore
Oriental Singapore
Singapore Mandarin Oriental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.