We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most unwelcoming hotel I have been too so far.....” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Singapore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mandarin Oriental, Singapore to your Saves list
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Raffles Ave, Marina Square, Singapore 039797, Singapore (Marina Bay)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
Bicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The most unwelcoming hotel I have been too so far.....”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We booked a five day stay at the hotel primarily due to its location, initially for the Formula 1, but due to its central location allowing easy access to the sights of Singapore after. Upon arrival we were barely greeted by the reception staff, who showed us the location of the lift, handed us our room key card and left us to find the room ourselves. The room was clean but dated. The staff in the 'Cafe' were very friendly and helpful which was the only positive part of our stay. On our first morning the fire alarm went off, followed a few days later by a repeat at 1am. Wifi is charged at $32.00 dollars a day ! and although we were provided with a schedule for the Formula 1 weekend by the hotel it failed to mention that we would be unable to use the pool area on the Sunday due to the fact that they had rented it out to Lamborghini who were holding an event which hotel guests were not invited too.... despite the fact we had paid to use the hotel facilities. Not a place we will be returning too.

Room Tip: Book a deluxe or above room and make sure Wifi is included, apparently it is on some packages but th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,446
    727
    211
    66
    41
See reviews for
560
1,470
219
803
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (751)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Checked in and given smoking room on smoking floor, even though I asked for non smoking. Lovely view from the 21st floor, but listened to the clanking of workers as they removed the temporary seats from the formula one. A fire alarm woke me at 1 am on night one and the TV turned itself on to lovely music at 5 am on night two. Normally I'd rank a place with one star after an experience like this ... But, the hotel and staff were really lovely. The food and restaurants were superb. The pool and pool bar were perfect. I think I just had a bit of bad luck.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stayed here for the recent Singapore Grand Prix, and considering how busy it was i thought the Hotel coped exceptionally well. The welcome and service is very good.I had a large room overlooking the track which was furnished to a high spec(although bathroom just showing its age a little) Room service was swift and excellent. My only gripes would be paying for internet and access to the hotel. Because it is actually "inside" the track it quite difficult to arrive back late at night. (access is via the underground car park or via the next door shopping mall.) Also from outside the hotel you can only take a luxury taxi for a flat fee of 55 dollars

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

W e stayed here last year and had a room on club level. our room overlooked the harbour and the view was spectacular. Customer service was flawless we were treated as if we were the only guests in the hotel. Club level lounge food selection just amazing as was breakfast in the main restaurant, a huge variety of food. I cannot say enough about this hotel we were very impressed and if ever get back to Singapore this is where we will be staying.

Room Tip: It is worth the extra for club level with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

The hotel staff were lovely, very helpful and accommodating. The room itself was nice, spectacular views across the harbour to the marina bay sands. Only disappointment is being charged $26 a day for wifi, in a hotel where the rooms are around $500 a night, it seems like a petty charge. Apart from that, an enjoyable enough stay, though probably not somewhere I'd stay again with so many beautiful hotels to choose from

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

this was our 2nd stay in 3 years and we were greeted like old friends, the location, looking out at Marina bay and the Marina Bay Sands Hotel is very convenient . We took a club room, so breakfasts, snacks and cocktails, as well as free wifi are included. the buffet in the world cafe is comprehensive and the staff attentive. concierge services were always polite and well informed

Room Tip: club rooms give a great view and the club lounge was very comfortable and friendly
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Incredible service levels. I was greeted by name every time I entered or left the hotel.

Layout of the hotel is easy to manage & get around. Pool side service was very attentive even though for 3 days i was the only one there. Pool was a bit windy being off the bay.

Enjoyed the Wellness Spa and had a massage. very relaxing

Had a twin bedded room - was still a larger room, the bedding was very comfortable and the linens were top of the line.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Singapore

Address: 5 Raffles Ave, Marina Square, Singapore 039797, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Marina Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#7 Business Hotel in Singapore
#8 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#10 Family Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 527
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore is one of the world's foremost luxury hotels. It is the only hotel in the city that has been awarded 'Five Star' status for both accommodation and spa in the prestigious Forbes Travel Guide for three consecutive years (2012, 2013 and 2014). This award-winning property has a prime location, close to the financial hub with easy access to luxury boutiques and entertainment venues; and minutes away from Suntec Singapore International Convention & Exhibition Centre, Sands Expo and Convention Center, Suntec City, Millenia Walk and Esplanade - Theatres on the Bay. The hotel features an impressive atrium lobby with 527 rooms and suites. There is a premium Oriental Club Lounge, an indulgent and intimate spa, extensive meeting and banqueting facilities, five renowned restaurants and a lounge overlooking spectacular Marina Bay. Mandarin Oriental, Singapore has recently been voted one of "T+L 500 World's Best Hotels 2014" by Travel + Leisure USA and recognised as one of the top 25 hotels in South East Asia in the Conde Nast Traveler 2013 Readers' Choice Award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Mandarin Oriental, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore Hotel Singapore
Mandarin Singapore
Oriental Hotel Singapore
Oriental Singapore
Singapore Mandarin Oriental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.