We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“7 star service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Singapore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mandarin Oriental, Singapore to your Saves list
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Raffles Ave, Marina Square, Singapore 039797, Singapore (Marina Bay)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“7 star service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

My wife and I travelled to Singapore with her brother and his wife and my wife's mother and her husband. The 6 of us were taken to the Club Lounge on the 19th floor to check in as we were staying in the Club Rooms. We were greeted by Leslie and Stella in the lounge and immediately the outstanding service started. Refreshing drinks were provided and we were checked in whilst our luggage was delivered to the rooms. Immediately this brought back memories of another superb hotel we stayed in at Epernay, Fance, The Royal Champagne.
From 5.30 to 7.30 pm drinks and canapes are served in the Club Lounge and the food and drinks are excellent. They constantly replenish your beverages which include French Champagne and cocktails. The Singapore Slings are superb and one can never have enough of the fine French product or the Singapore speciality.
The breakfast in the Lounge is also superb. They will cook whatever you wish for and it is such a wonderful way to start the day with one or several glasses of champagne. The also provided a section of the club for us as there were siz of us and nothing was too much trouble for the staff.
We needed a wheel chair for my mother in law as she can't walk very far and we were provided with one for as long as we needed it every day we were there.
All the staff are so polite and go out of their way to greet you and get you whatever you want.
The rooms are beautiful and the views across Marina Bay are stunning.
We have stayed at several places around the world in Club Rooms and enjoyed the facilities even though it costs a bit more but it is thoroughly worth it for the service and luxury. The difference with this hotel is that they go out of their way to do that little bit more.
I wanted to go over to Bintan Island to play golf for the day and spoke to the conceirge and everything was organised for me without any issues. The taxi was waiting for me when I got downstairs to go and when I returned my clubs were taken from me as I got out of the taxi and immediately taken to my room. Superb service.
Leslie and her team are wonderful examples of what excellent customer service is all about.
If you come to Singapore, think about staying here and spend that little bit extra and stay in the Club Rooms and enjoy the Club Lounge facilities. It is well worth it.
We are staing another night in Singapore on our way back to Australia and are staying at the Swissotel Stamford for a night in their Club facilities. I wonder how they will fare against the benchmark that is the Mandarin Oriental?
Until the next review.
Steve from Melbourne

Room Tip: Stay in the Club Rooms to enjoy the facilities of the Club Rooms and Lounge and ask for the rooms wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,446
    726
    211
    66
    41
See reviews for
560
1,469
219
802
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (750)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chengdu
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

It's an excellent hotel with sweet service. I like the hotel itself architecture and building desgin. In-room facility is also pretty good. Transportation is also convenient. 酒店外面的夜景也超美,离Mer-Lion Park非常近,走路5分钟就可以到。周围有商场,shopping很方便。但是吃饭都很贵。

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Such a fantastic hotel in every respect. Beautiful rooms, caring attentive staff and lovely food. After having stayed here we will never stay anywhere else in Singapore. Granted this is not a cheap hotel but a luxurious worth every cent hotel. You really do get what you pay for here. Staff were always on hand attending to our needs - before we asked. We ate in both Melt and Cherry Garden and the food was delicious in both. I must make mention of Melt's Assistant Manager Alex Wong and our waiter Giruba - who both went out of their way to make my birthday special. We also had breakfast in Melt and loved the buffet - with great omelettes made by Cindy. As it was so hot we also enjoyed the pool and once again were well looked after from the moment we arrived at the pool deck. Surprisingly the night we had dinner in the Cherry Garden restaurant we were one of a handful of diners - but the food and service was incredible. If you like Cantonese then this is the place.

The location of the hotel is perfect for exploring the marina area and is a nice walk to the new Gardens by the Bay. Treat yourself to this hotel - you won't be disappointed

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

the deco is rather old and conservative. not really what i fancy, but it was my friend's choice. did not receive that warm hospitality that you get from the oriental bangkok. the view, however, was spectacular! you can see the flyer, gardens, marina bay sands, helix all in one window frame.

the highlight of it all, i'd say, is the breakfast. this place sure knows how to make good egg benedict. the staff at breakfast weren't so friendly at first. but speak to them nicely and they certainly went beyond expectation.

the location is very convenient as it located next to marina square and the mrt. although it is quite a fair walk to the merlion, it is still reachable by foot.

the entrance of the hotel at night is rather dark, so don't be surprised if your taxi misses the entrance.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I have heard and read people says about these...but, as I myself do open the door of this hotel... and, saw the window on my room framing the Singapore Marina Panoramic beautifully...I was absolutly have to say..."WOW" (higher level, is better I think...) so, if you want to say 'WOW' too, do come at this hotel... More of it, you can enjoy Marina by walk and around Singapore easily from this hotel...

Room Tip: higher level, better horizon to Marina Bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Mandarin Oriental is an excellent hotel in the middle of Singapore. We stayed here for Three night and we are very happy with the service and ambiance. It is also very near to Suntec City and Marina shopping center.

The Melt Cafe serves great food too. We will definitely recommend this Hotel to friends and family.

Room Tip: Rooms with the bay view is beautiful, but smaller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We have stayed every year for at Mandarin Oriental in Singapore every visit for at least the last five and the highest standards of care and attention to patrons needs are consistently high and never fail to impress us. All the staff are polite conscientious and always happy to please. The food is brilliant, the rooms clean and the swimming pool is to die for. We can’t envisage staying anywhere else and this is in a great country with probably one of the highest standards in the world. Let’s hope won’t be too long before we return.
Pete R. & Chrissy. Exeter UK.

Room Tip: Any room - they're all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Singapore

Address: 5 Raffles Ave, Marina Square, Singapore 039797, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Marina Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#7 Business Hotel in Singapore
#8 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#10 Family Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 527
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore is one of the world's foremost luxury hotels. It is the only hotel in the city that has been awarded 'Five Star' status for both accommodation and spa in the prestigious Forbes Travel Guide for three consecutive years (2012, 2013 and 2014). This award-winning property has a prime location, close to the financial hub with easy access to luxury boutiques and entertainment venues; and minutes away from Suntec Singapore International Convention & Exhibition Centre, Sands Expo and Convention Center, Suntec City, Millenia Walk and Esplanade - Theatres on the Bay. The hotel features an impressive atrium lobby with 527 rooms and suites. There is a premium Oriental Club Lounge, an indulgent and intimate spa, extensive meeting and banqueting facilities, five renowned restaurants and a lounge overlooking spectacular Marina Bay. Mandarin Oriental, Singapore has recently been voted one of "T+L 500 World's Best Hotels 2014" by Travel + Leisure USA and recognised as one of the top 25 hotels in South East Asia in the Conde Nast Traveler 2013 Readers' Choice Award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Mandarin Oriental, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and Travelocity so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore Hotel Singapore
Mandarin Singapore
Oriental Hotel Singapore
Oriental Singapore
Singapore Mandarin Oriental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.