We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Singapore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mandarin Oriental, Singapore to your Saves list
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Raffles Ave, Marina Square, Singapore 039797, Singapore   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This was our first time in Singapore and this hotel was perfect in every way, location is great for all the tourist attractions and all within walking distance. The room was really nice with fantastic views, the staff are all lovely especially at the pool area.The manager and the staff at Dolce Vita restaurant were lovely and service impeccable. We ate at Cherry Garden which was really nice. Its a shame that the UK have no idea about customer service when you compare it with the MA, all in its a great hotel with amazing staff and woulld go back in a flash :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,227
    665
    201
    59
    38
See reviews for
499
1,343
210
725
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (685)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The hotel has magnificent views, and the "afternoon tea" is an experience not to miss. The breakfast is probably the best I have ever experienced. It has every thing from any kind of cooked eggs, fish, pancakes, waffles, all kind of breads, meats, you name it, it is there. The service also was outstanding. If you are looking for a first class hotel in Singapore, look no further. I was very pleased with my stay.

Room Tip: The higher floors have wonderful views of the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

The hotel is excellent. I do Very recommend!.
My husband and I stayed in the club room. Very spacious room with panoramic windows, very comfortable and large bed, pillow menu, hairdryer, air conditioning, TV, audio system for listening to CDs, bath, shower, Ironing board and iron, Internet.
The breakfast buffet at Mandarin Oriental is just luxury and the best of the best!
If you live in a club room, you can choose where to eat.
The Club Lounge offers delicious breakfast, lunch and dinner with champagne Moet Chandon.

Spa, fitness, a large pool overlooking the harbour and city.

Service is excellent, staff is very friendly!

Very, very, very recommend!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Arrived as the Chinese New Year celebrations came to an end so the hotel was full to capacity.
Nevertheless the staff's attention to detail was first class and we were well catered for during our stay. The hotel is not that easy to find or access but once there, it was like entering another world. Our suite of rooms were plush and spotlessly clean. The power shower was most welcome after a day in Singapore's tropical heat. We didn't manage to get the harbour view room which we thought we had booked, instead we had a corner suite of rooms looking over the city and towards Changi. If you enjoy a breakfast then this hotel is a must! Over 160 items were available to try and to enjoy from Western cuisine including English, American, French and Itanian, Chinese, Indian and Malay/Singaporean.There is no limit to what and how much to eat. We just enjoyed eating different foods. A useful shopping Mall is located just a few yards from the hotel entrance.
The hotel bars are reassuringly expensive but the attention to detail is superb.

Room Tip: A harbour view room is a delight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

As the owner of a travel agency, I like to check out hotels of all levels when I visit different cities around the world. This was my first time in a Mandarin Oriental hotel. My stay at this hotel was an excellent experience. From the time I checked in until the time I checked out I was treated very well.

The hotel is in an excellent location, a short walking distance from the new museum, shopping plaza and the Sands Hotel complex as well as to the main attractions of Singapore in the opposite direction.

When I went to the pool to relax for an hour or so before an appointment, I was greeted instantly and was given a cold glass of water, a fresh towel and a wet cloth. This type of service was consistent throughout my stay.

One of the things that really lets me know if a hotel is willing to go the extra mile for its clients is with regard to late check out. Some hotels act as if they are doing me a huge favor to allow me to stay for an hour after the official check-out time. The front desk was very polite in letting me know that I could indeed stay an hour or two beyond the normal check-out time.

I would highly recommend this hotel to tripadvisor readers and my clients alike.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Its location is good, there is a shopping mall nearby. It is easy to find dining places n shops. We can pass City Link Mall and Marina Square to arrive the hotel. But the entrance to the hotel is not so obvious if you are in Marina Square. It is next to the restrooms and you need to walk downstairs. I think the hotel management should think of better ways to improve this. Some old people walk very slowly as they go out n back to the hotel. That's why I found the entrance is not grand. If you take taxi all the times, you don't find this problem. But we find it is inconvenient since we go out by MRT. Luckily we are still young. No problem to walk up and down.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The hotel is is not the newest hotel, but it still has a modern feel and it is very very comfortable. The bed was fabulous, the bathroom beautiful with a great power shower. The Harbour view room is worth the extra money, as the view is truly stunning.

We enjoyed the swimming pool and its view over Singapore 's Marina Bay. The pool service was superbe and kept serving little treats, cold towels and water. Wonderful!

Don't save the breakfast. It is the most extensive buffet I have ever seen in any hotel, with many many Asian as well as European dishes. An incredible choice!

The service is truly excellent and we were treated like royalty. We would return any time.

Room Tip: Harbour view rooms are spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Singapore

Address: 5 Raffles Ave, Marina Square, Singapore 039797, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#9 Business Hotel in Singapore
#10 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#15 Family Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 527
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore is one of the world's foremost luxury hotels. It is the only hotel in the city that has been awarded 'Five Star' status for both accommodation and spa in the prestigious Forbes Travel Guide for three consecutive years (2012, 2013 and 2014). This award-winning property has a prime location, close to the financial hub with easy access to luxury boutiques and entertainment venues; and minutes away from Suntec Singapore International Convention & Exhibition Centre, Sands Expo and Convention Center, Suntec City, Millenia Walk and Esplanade - Theatres on the Bay. The hotel features an impressive atrium lobby with 527 rooms and suites. There is a premium Oriental Club Lounge, an indulgent and intimate spa, extensive meeting and banqueting facilities, five renowned restaurants and a lounge overlooking spectacular Marina Bay. Mandarin Oriental, Singapore has recently been voted one of "T+L 500 World's Best Hotels 2014" by Travel + Leisure USA and recognised as one of the top 25 hotels in South East Asia in the Conde Nast Traveler 2013 Readers' Choice Award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore Hotel Singapore
Mandarin Singapore
Oriental Hotel Singapore
Oriental Singapore
Singapore Mandarin Oriental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.