We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Singapore

Save Saved
You added Mandarin Oriental, Singapore to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Raffles Ave, Marina Square, Singapore 039797, Singapore   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Wifi
Ranked #12 of 293 Hotels in Singapore
Horsham, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Simply the best.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Anyone that has any major gripe about this wonderful hotel is just a whinger as it , I consider, faultless. After the usual early arrival at Changi after our flight from Paris, my wife and I were welcomed then escorted to the Melt Restaurant area for a most sumptuous breakfast, which was free as really, we were actually checking in for that day and breakfast usually starts the next day-do you get my drift? Anyhow, after being introduced to the lovely lady on table allocation at breakfast, she remembered our names for our entire stay of 3 nights and that we preferred to sit out in the garden area to eat. Now that is service!
The rooms are superb and the bed was so conducive to sleep- fabulous.Every room has a great view, ours being of the harbour and the Marina Sands building.
We especially loved the pool area and were once again pampered like royalty by the friendly staff. I know that I am biased because we both love our Singapore stop-overs when returning from O.S as it's a great city and a great way to avoid jet-lag too. This was by far the best hotel we have ever stayed in and what's best?- the price was very reasonable considering we had breakfast for free! The same standard hotel in Sydney, New York etc would be about twice the cost and you have to pay for your brekkie. Congratulations to everyone who helped make our stay so great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,014 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,108
    624
    191
    54
    37
See reviews for
477
1278
200
673
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (650)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Top notch hotel, great service, great ambiance and great location right next to Marina Square mall. There is a Morton's steak inside but you can get great food at the array of restaurants located in the Marina Square mall that is connected to the hotel.The atrium in the hotel was great and very unique. The room is extremely comfortable and the bathrooms are large with full marble.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The Mandarin Oriental is how 5 star hotels should be, great service, serene surrounds, well maintained and lots of options. Check in was a breeze, did not even wait at reception they took us straight to the room. Amazing view of the city and Marina Bay Sands, you have the whole of Singapore at your feet. Breakfast buffet was a work of art, amazing choice and impeccable service. The only downside, was the doorman / concierge where not as friendly as most in Asia and did not always greet you. Apart from that we chose well and would absolutely recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damascus, Syria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

inspite of the very long trip from Damascus to Singapore , and exactly to Mandarin Oriental hotel, it was worth visiting . The hotel is amazing .very luxurious , excellent service , very exciting decorations all over the hotel . creative ideas , I like the elevator in the middle of a pool ,and the very huge tree in the 4th floor it was a very relaxing romantic breakfast among that green huge plants , the mall which is very next to the hotel is also a creative idea.
every thing in Singapore is interesting organized and beautiful , I advise u all to visit The National Orchid garden , and or course one Fullerton , where is the lion , the symbol of Singapore .
I spent a week in Singapore , Mandarin Oriental , and I really wish to revisit it in a very long vacation

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Before I stayed there my impression was that the Mandarin Oriental in Singapore was way too corporate for my tastes. But I was knocked out by their amazing service. Nothing is too much trouble. Our room was upgraded when they realised that we were travelling with our two children. Extra dragonfruit delivered within double quick time - twice! (that's kids for you). But when the doormen great you by name (even though you are only staying a night or two), you are either notorious guests or this is a pretty special hotel. I choose to believe the latter.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I spent 2 nights at the Mandarin this week and having previously stayed at the Mandarin in HK it was exactly what I expected, even to the room decor! The hotel is well located and has superb views if you book one of the higher Marina view rooms. The staff are exceptional and the service similarly outstanding. I had a discounted room rate and so found the room rate reasonable for a quality hotel. I was there on a business trip and also booked a meeting room which was excellent. The breakfasts have received rave reviews and I similarly enjoyed it. However, given a price of $54 I would have expected nothing less than a world leading breakfast! I did enquire about a continental breakfast and was told that that was not an option, which seems unfortunate if you are short of time and thus don't have the opportunity to get value for the price paid. I also had to use the business centre and was charged $3 per page to scan and email a document, which seemed somewhat excessive!

Overall, a great hotel and I would certainly stay there again. As noted by other reviewers it does lack a "wow" factor - but then that's probably not why you would stay at the Mandarin!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We didn't start the stay on a very good note - we had an issue with our room, had to wait for the staff to investigate, then wait some more for them to arrange a new room (of course, the wait always seems longer when you have kids in tow). The hotel itself is starting to look a little dated, and the rooms are great but not anything out of this world, but like most reviewers have mentioned, the service is very impressive. They are friendly and personable and at the same time very professional. They went beyond our expectations in service recovery for the room issue, and the service in the club lounge was commendable. The champagne breakfasts at the club lounge are well worth upgrading your room for!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Singapore

Address: 5 Raffles Ave, Marina Square, Singapore 039797, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#9 Business Hotel in Singapore
#11 Family Hotel in Singapore
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Singapore
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Singapore
#12 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Singapore 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore is one of the world's foremost luxury hotels. It is the only hotel in the city that has been awarded 'Five Star' status for both accommodation and spa in the prestigious Forbes Travel Guide for three consecutive years (2012, 2013 and 2014). This award-winning property has a prime location, close to the financial hub with easy access to luxury boutiques and entertainment venues; and minutes away from Suntec Singapore International Convention & Exhibition Centre, Sands Expo and Convention Center, Suntec City, Millenia Walk and Esplanade - Theatres on the Bay. The hotel features an impressive atrium lobby with 527 rooms and suites. There is a premium Oriental Club Lounge, an indulgent and intimate spa, extensive meeting and banqueting facilities, five renowned restaurants and a lounge overlooking spectacular Marina Bay. Mandarin Oriental, Singapore has recently been voted one of "T+L 500 World's Best Hotels 2014" by Travel + Leisure USA and recognised as one of the top 25 hotels in South East Asia in the Conde Nast Traveler 2013 Readers' Choice Award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Mandarin Oriental, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore Hotel Singapore
Mandarin Singapore
Oriental Hotel Singapore
Oriental Singapore
Singapore Mandarin Oriental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.