We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding service and facilities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Singapore

Save Saved
You added Mandarin Oriental, Singapore to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Raffles Ave, Marina Square, Singapore 039797, Singapore   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 292 hotels in Singapore
Oxford, England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Outstanding service and facilities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This hotel ranks as one of the best I have ever stayed in.The service was superb -not merely efficient and friendly but highly intelligent and sensitive. We had chosen this hotel to be able to enjoy a brief trip to Singapore while seeing colleagues and lecturing. It was important to be able to have quiet working space and to make the maximum use of time. When we arrived we were dismayed to see we were coinciding with a very large banking conference taking over the hotel.However we need not have worried as we were taken immediately by the staff to the executive club floor and looked after with sustained personal attention and courtesy. Our room was extremely well appointed and spacious and the executive club facilities -breakfast, tea and cocktails were very good indeed. The speedy handling of any and every request was impressive as was the staff friendliness and charm. Whoever trains the staff should be congratulated : everyone we encountered seemed to take a genuine pride in helping the customer.
The restaurants and bars were outstandingly good especially the Cherry Garden. The pool was very big and had lovely pool side sitting areas. I would not want to stay anywhere else in Singapore and would like to thank the staff for making the trip so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Try the Executive Club rooms if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,953 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,067
    611
    188
    52
    35
See reviews for
469
1256
200
650
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (640)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

always if I had the chance for a stop over in Singapore - the Mandarin Oriental it's a must. the courteous service, the ambiente inimitable. it's a unique experience, and always as it should be or even better than last stay. that's the reason why it's worthwhile to make a break there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phan Thiet, Vietnam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Having been to Singapore a few times and stayed in varying locations - this was perfect. great hotel, and very attentive service, . I must say the best breakfast I have experienced anywhere. On the other hand, the food was simply outstanding! Be sure to call ahead for a reservation....this place is in high demand.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Booked it for my post birthday celeBration and it met my expectations. Best bed ever slept on (wanna have the same in my room!!!). Room was cleaned while we were in the pool. Breakfast was fantastic with different stations based on your preference..loved the fresh juice but didnt like the coffee that was initially served (not that hot).

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Harbour view room with lovely view and hubby enjoyed the working desk. It was nice enough but felt very corporate and didn't feel particularly luxurious to us. The bed had a big ridge in the middle so wasn't great. Air con was no where near powerful enough though an engineer did alter it to be colder after a couple of hot nights. It's a dark hotel and although they staff were friendly it just wasn't memorable and we would try the Fullerton Bay next time as we prefered the look of it and it's location. That said we did enjoy our stay here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The 3 nights that we spent here were not long enough. Absolutely brilliant hotel. Excellent location, facilities and food, but above all the staff were superb. So attentive and willing to go the extra mile. From chocolates and wine in our room to champagne with breakfast, we were treated like royalty (it probably helped that we were on our honeymoon). I have stayed at the Mandarin on previous occasions though and they are always first class.

Can't wait to go back to Singapore and spend some more time at the Mandarin Oriental. It is without doubt one of my favourite hotels.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Great hotel, and very attentive service, and I must say the best breakfast I have experienced anywhere, do not lay in and miss it! If staying here take a short taxi ride to Satay Street, a great sensory experience. Fat man's Satay stall is as good as any.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Singapore

Address: 5 Raffles Ave, Marina Square, Singapore 039797, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#7 Business Hotel in Singapore
#9 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Singapore
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Singapore
#11 Family Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Singapore 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore is one of the world's foremost luxury hotels. It is the only hotel in the city that has been awarded 'Five Star' status for both accommodation and spa in the prestigious Forbes Travel Guide for three consecutive years (2012, 2013 and 2014). This award-winning property has a prime location, close to the financial hub with easy access to luxury boutiques and entertainment venues; and minutes away from Suntec Singapore International Convention & Exhibition Centre, Sands Expo and Convention Center, Suntec City, Millenia Walk and Esplanade - Theatres on the Bay. The hotel features an impressive atrium lobby with 527 rooms and suites. There is a premium Oriental Club Lounge, an indulgent and intimate spa, extensive meeting and banqueting facilities, five renowned restaurants and a lounge overlooking spectacular Marina Bay. Mandarin Oriental, Singapore has recently been voted one of "T+L 500 World's Best Hotels 2014" by Travel + Leisure USA and recognised as one of the top 25 hotels in South East Asia in the Conde Nast Traveler 2013 Readers' Choice Award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore Hotel Singapore
Mandarin Singapore
Oriental Hotel Singapore
Oriental Singapore
Singapore Mandarin Oriental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.